THE ARCHIVISTS' BULLDOG
Vol. 8, No. 27 August 29, 1994
STATE AND LOCAL RECORDS REFERENCE REPORT, JULY 1994
by Kevin Swanson
Efforts are being made to publicize state and local reference by looking at viable, broad, and low cost ways of advertising our services to the greatest audience. Since a growing proportion of our reference contacts and work/revenue come from court related business, an effort was made to contact legal entities.
The Maryland Bar Association Bulletin (circulation 17,000), SAILOR (Maryland's new library network, soon to be available throughout the state), and the circuit courts were explored as possible outlets to disseminate information concerning our services. The Bar Association Bulletin audience is clearly the legal community, and SAILOR will reach the general public, including the genealogical community. The circuit courts often are the first line of contact with people seeking copies of legal documents. State and local records with assistance from other staff is trying to develop computer-based customer accounts and to prepare press releases that describe our services. And, materials are being created to develop reliable and consistent contacts at the courts throughout the state to streamline research and turn-around time for reference staff and customers.
In addition to exploring user-communities, we have identified record series for acquisition that give the Archives greater access to those records regularly researched and copied. For example, the Archives will soon acquire indexes for the equity papers series of the Baltimore City Circuit Court and Circuit Court No. 2.
LIBRARY REPORT, July 1994
by Shashi Thapar
Since September 1993, Keith Morrison, a volunteer, has helped process state, county, and municipal publications. His work included sorting, accessioning, keyboarding, and shelving. His assistance was invaluable in processing government publications. In fact he handled over 9,000 items in the past year. I wish he could continue, but he wants to pursue an internship in preservation to meet a course requirement for a master's degree in library science. Instead of leaving the Archives he is moving to the conservation lab for an internship there. I wish him good luck with his new project and thank him for his help to all of us.
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS REPORT, June 1994
by Nancy Bramucci
Additions to Special Collections included the following:
MSA SC 4327: Maryland State Firemen's Association Collection. 1939-1992. Maryland State Firemen's Association: proceedings 1939-1992. Published. Gift, Maryland State Firemen's Association
MSA SC 4328: Howard Collection. 1784-1787 . Joseph H. Howard, "John Dickey (d. 1817) and His Store Account Book" (transcription). Typescript. Gift, Joseph H. Howard
MSA SC 4330: Carroll Democrat Collection. 1887. Newspaper, Carroll Democrat(Westminster, Carroll County: Philip W. Avirett) The Carroll Democrat began publication February 10, 1887 [v. 1, no. 1]. It was published weekly. It was also published as the Carroll County Democrat. The newspaper was continued by the Carroll County Democrat (Westminster: 1887). Original. Loan, original, Carroll County Historical Society
MSA SC 4331: Susan Duvall Collection. 1830 ca. - 1946. Pamphlets: Daniel M. Green, A Brief History of Prince George's County in the Perspective of Three Centuries Commemorating its 20th Anniversary 1946; A Brief History of the Parish of St. Thomas, Prince George's County, 1922; Frederick Sasscer, Occasional Addresses, 1925; Claude G. McKee, Handbook on the Culture of Maryland Tobacco (Upper Marlboro: Maryland Tobacco Improvement Foundation, Inc.); Official Program - Baltimore - Southern Maryland Truck Line (Robert Crain Highway) Upper Marlboro, MD September 30th, 1922; account book, anonymous doctor, used as a scrapbook, 1830s; newspaper, Baltimore Weekly Sun 27 July 1861. Original. Gift, Bill Rigoli, in memory of Susan D. Duvall
MSA SC 4332: Beauregard Collection. 1846. Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine vol. LX July-December 1846 American edition - vol. XXIII (New York: Leonard Scott & Co., 1846). Original. Gift, Roland Peter Beauregard
MSA SC 4333: Littleton Maclin Collection. 1841-1874?. Letter, Henry H. Maclin to his brother Littleton Maclin, 1 November 1841; letter, R. E. Hobbs to his cousin, Littleton Maclin, 31 October 1846; invitation, Governor [James Black Groome] and Mrs. John C. Groome to Littleton Maclin, 1 April [1874?]. Littleton Maclin was elected to the Maryland Senate in 1865 (election voided) and the Maryland House of Delegates in 1874. Original. Gift, Mary Roby Trotter
MSA SC 4334: Delos Smith Collection. 1921 ca.. Photographs, Carroll Mansion, State House, Shaw House, Pinkney House, Carroll the Barrister House, Bordley Randall House, Ogle Hall, Acton, 26 West Street, Paca House, Ridout House, Chase-Lloyd House, Hammond Harwood House, Dorsey House, Lloyd Dulany House, 139 Market Street, and Brice House. Photographs. Gift, Historic Annapolis Foundation
MSA SC 4335: Annapolis Tercentenary Parade Collection. 1949. Graphics, Annapolis Tercentenary Parade, taken at upper end of Main Street, Annapolis, July 1949. Photographs, negatives. Gift, Sharie Valerio
MSA SC 4336: Berkley Collection. 1994. Name index, Henry J. Berkley, First Century of the County of Calvert 1623-1734 compiled by the Calvert County Historical Society, Inc., 1994. Typescript. Gift, Calvert County Historical Society, Inc.
MSA SC 4337: Ridgely Gaither Jr. Collection. 1994. Tribute, Lt. Gen. Ridgely Gaither, Jr. (1903-1992). Original. Gift, Society of the Cincinnati of Maryland MSA SC 4338: Hughes Collection. 1894. Elihu S. Riley, ed., Celebration of the Two Hundredth Anniversary of the Removal of the Capital of Maryland from St. Mary's to Annapolis, March 5, 1894 (Annapolis: King Bros., 1894). Original. Gift, the Honorable Harry Hughes
MSA SC 4339: Quander Collection. 1984. Quander Historical Society, The Quanders United Tricentennial Celebration 1684-1984 June 22-24, 1984; newspaper articles, Quander family and its reunion. Original, copies. Gift, Quander Historical Society
MSA SC 4340: Joseph L. Fischer Annapolis Tercentenary Collection. 1949. Graphics, floats in the Annapolis Tercentenary Parade as they passed by upper Main Street, Annapolis, July 1949. Photographs, negatives. Gift, Joseph L. Fischer
Special note should be made of photographs recently added to MSA SC 2140, The Annapolis I Remember Collection. The images were taken in the early 1930s by Howard Hayman, Sr. before and during the laying of new utilities on Main Street and Calvert Street. Most of the images are precisely dated. These are among the few high quality images we have for the city in this time period and they clearly illustrate many building facades on Main Street between Green Street and Conduit Street. Also of particular interest are scenes on Calvert Street including the old county jail, the Star Theater, and numerous businesses catering to the African American community. There are also scenes of part of Calvert Street that was later razed to make way for Rowe Boulevard and the Goldstein Building. Xeroxes of these photographs will be added to the MSA SC 2140 finding aid in the search room.
Nancy and Elizabeth, with proofreading assistance from Mrs. Filby, completed editorial work on the Allegany, Charles, and Garrett county chapters of the newspaper guide.
Elaine compiled research on Thurgood Marshall for the Thurgood Marshall Statue Commission on which the State Archivist is serving. She also did research on the furnishings and interior finishes of the House of Delegates' Lounge and the Speaker's Office.
On June 2 Mame hung a new exhibit in the Great Hall of the Legislative Services Building. Entitled Bringing Back the Bay, the show considers numerous themes explored in the book of the same title to be published in October by The Johns Hopkins University Press. Both exhibit and book feature photographs taken by Marion E. Warren and text extracted from oral history interviews conducted by Mame. Thanks to excellent PR work by Mimi, the exhibit has been mentioned in several articles in the Capital and is listed every week in the Sunpaper and Capital weekend sections.
On June 6 Mame attended the monthly meeting of the Annapolis History Consortium where Al Lukenbach spoke about the archaeological dig at Greenbury Point. Hearing his lecture made the small exhibit on the subject currently on display in the search room all the more fascinating.
On June 13 Elizabeth Ellis returned to join the Special Collections staff for a ten-week internship to edit the Maryland Newspaper Project Guide to Maryland newspapers. Elizabeth recently graduated from the University of North Carolina with a master's degree in library science.
PHOTOLAB REPORT, June and July 1994
by Teresa Fountain
This report will cover activities with microfilm, photography, and photocopying.
In the microfilm area 198 reels were processed in June and 144 in July, 414 reels were inspected in June and 262 in July, 2826 reels were duplicated in June and 2544 in July, and 8513 images were filmed in June and 3072 in July.
The photography operation produced 280 negatives in June and 162 in July, 1170 slides in June and 64 in July, and 355 prints in June and 249 in July. 14,390 copies were produced on the cannon and xerox copiers in June and 15,623 in July.
by Pat Melville
ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY COURT (Land Records) IB 2, p. 120 [MSA C97-10] contains the following receipt for a "long standing" debt [found by Rouse Todd]:
Received of Thomas Holms the sum of ten shillings on Account of a Lot by the house of Mr. Loyd which is in full of all accounts from the Beginning of the world to this day. Lane Todd, September 19, 1713.
THE ARCHIVISTS' BULLDOG
Vol. 8, No. 28
September 12, 1994
EDUCATION AND OUTREACH MONTHLY REPORT, JULY 1994
by Doug McElrath and Rocky Rockefeller
The focus of the month's activity was the NEH-sponsored "Teaching With Original Sources" institute which ran throughout July. The twelve teachers who attended represented public and private schools from the fourth grade level to college. Several teachers were veterans, while others were just starting their careers. They came from Baltimore City and Annapolis, plus Harford, Montgomery, Howard, Prince George's, and Calvert counties. The institute taught about the history surrounding the Archives' "Documents for the Classroom" packets, showed the relationship between the use of original sources and modern teaching techniques, and allowed time to plan for use of the materials in the classroom.
The participants began their program with a research assignment related to the Archives' biographical work on nineteenth century African-Americans. With the help of the college interns and the search room staff, the teachers learned to use the search room, finding aids, request slips, and original records. With their new skills, several teachers conducted research of their own during the lunch breaks. This search room exercise led to a better appreciation by the teachers of the work that goes into the documents packets. It also encouraged the teachers to think of the packets as a way to bring the Archives to their classroom, rather than their students to the search room.
Under the direction of Ed, Chip Adomanis, Rocky, and Doug, the teachers used several packets, including the new "Close Encounters of the First Kind," which focuses on Anglo-Indian relations in the colonial Chesapeake region. They explored the packets "Daily Life" and "Hesitant Revolutionaries" during their study of the colonial period. Drs. Lois Carr and Jean Russo visited the teachers to share their special expertise in these matters. Field trips included historic St. Mary's City and the Native American museum at Jefferson Patterson Park. While experiencing the life style of early Native Americans, one teacher set a record for using the atl-atl, a spear-throwing lever!
The teachers also studied African-American voting rights and the 1870 celebration of the ratification of the XV Amendment. They toured the Baltimore City parade route and visited the Metropolitan Methodist Church, an historical structure that now houses the Baltimore Urban League. The interns conducted the tour on this trip because their research discovered structures in Baltimore related to the city's African-American heritage. Dr. Leslie Rowland gave a fascinating lecture on Maryland's unique experience during Reconstruction. She, like the other scholars, joined the teachers for a casual lunch which provided for an informal and relaxed setting for the teachers to ask questions.
The last packet was about the Donald Gaines Murray case, the study of which included a trip to the Mitchell Courthouse where the teachers reenacted the trial and participated as students in a classroom exercise. One of the teachers particularly enjoyed her role as Judge Dunne, who was quite a character. Denton Watson, a former NAACP publicity director and an expert on the organization's history, visited the institute and led a discussion about the NAACP then and now. Chip provided a great deal of guidance for the teachers in putting these educational materials in the framework of school systems' teaching and instructional policies. A panel of teachers who have used the document packets in their own classes shared some of their experiences with the summer participants. All the teachers filed complete lesson plans based on the document packets. The plans are part of Special Collection 2221, as well as Doug "Cecil B. de" McElrath's video tapes of the institute.
The institute really did not end in July. Many of the teachers will work with the Archives to spread the word about these materials to their fellow teachers. Ed and Rocky will conduct follow-up programs, as school systems become as interested as individual teachers. The program received interstate attention as well. Mike Sherbon of the Pennsylvania State Archives visited one day, and the Virginia Historical Society called to get advice for their educational programs. The NEH grant provides for a second year program, so there will be an institute next July as well.
In between preparing or executing institute plans, Rocky also helped out on the internship program, which was very well managed by Maria DeLongoria. Doug hosted a group of twenty-five Charles County teachers one Monday, and half-a-dozen Cub Scouts another. One Saturday, Connie gave a tour to the editor of the Archives Science Bulletin, published by the People's University of the Republic in Beijing Doug also helped orient a group from Archeology in Annapolis who did research in the search room.
PUBLICATIONS REPORT, JULY 1994
by Greg Stiverson
The sales of publications and merchandise through the mail and in the lobby totalled $5,338.70 during July 1994. Advance sales of the 199495 edition of the Maryland Manual generated another $4,018. Publication sales were up 33.0 percent over the same month in 1993, when lobby and mail sales totalled $3,439. During July 1994, lobby sales accounted for 89.7 percent of publications sold, compared to 64.5 percent in July 1993. Over $1,000 of the additional lobby sales were due to purchases by teachers attending an institute at the Maryland Historical Society who paid a visit to the State Archives.
Marie Morganelli, hired for the summer to assist with the publications program, worked on year-end inventory during the month and got all of the filing for publications up-to-date.
During July, Greg was the speaker at meetings of the Parole Rotary Club, the Annapolis Rotary Club, and the Lions. He talked to each group about the move of the capital from St. Mary's City to Annapolis in 1694-95. He also gave an orientation and tour to teachers in the Maryland Historical Society's summer institute and, on another day presented a half-day lecture to the teachers on Maryland's role in the creation and adoption of the U.S. Constitution and Bill of Rights. Greg attended meetings during the month as the Archives' representative on the Governor's Gettysburg Memorial Planning Committee and the Annapolis 300 Committee.
by Pat Melville
[The following article appeared in Antique Week, December 18, 1989, as a reprint from the Delphi Times, May 19, 1893. Phyllis Moore, a historian/genealogist from Delphi, IN, provided the information. Pat Anderson supplied a copy of the clipping.]
In the early part of the winter of 1824 two young men clad in the homespun suits of that date, with their mothers and sisters made their appearance in Pulaski County (Ind.). Each selected a 150-acre tract of land lying on the banks of the Tippecanoe river near Winamac. They were James MEISLEY and Robert WALLACE. Each erected a log cabin and each married each other's sisters. In a year two babes were born, but the wives died and the two widowers in time sought consolation by marrying their mothers-in-law. Two more babes were rocked in the cradle, but the fathers were widowers again.
For the third time they bore the matrimonial yoke by marrying their mothers-in-law's cousins. Again their family cares were increased, and two more little ones rolled over the hewed log floors. Their wives died and the widowers married their mothers-in-law's sisters, and in a year two bright little ones clasped their little hands, and again two widowers solaced each other in their grief.
Again they married, this time widows and a further increase was made to their families. Their wives died, and in the meantime their daughters by the first wives had grown up to womanhood and married and their daughters were blooming into the matrimonial market.
But Jim and Bob did not give up their matrimonial intentions and they married again. In 1888 James Meisley died and Wallace, once more a widower, married Meisley's second daughter, and one child was the result of the union. Wallace's wife died in 1892, and the courts are called upon to decide what is the relationship of the children of both families to each other. Mr. Wallace says he believes if the right girl comes along he will marry again, although he is 96 years old.
THE ARCHIVISTS' BULLDOG
Vol. 8, No. 29
September 19, 1994
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS REPORT, July 1994
by Nancy Bramucci
Additions to Special Collections include the following:
MSA SC 4341: Gibb Collection. . Electronic file, supplement to Skordas' Early Settlers of Maryland. Diskettes. Gift, Carson Gibb.
MSA SC 4342: Maryland State Law Library Collection. 1914. Map, Maryland Geological Survey, [Baltimore]. Original. Gift, Maryland State Law Library.
MSA SC 4343: Valcovic Collection. var. dates. Materials relating to World War II. Original. Gift, Beverly Valcovic.
MSA SC 4344: Hagerstown Roundhouse Museum Photograph Collection. var. dates. Photographs, trains, railroad workers, union meetings, Western Maryland railway musical band, scenes in Hagerstown and Hancock. Collection includes stock certificate for Western Maryland Railway. Photographs, 4x5 negatives. Loan, Hagerstown Roundhouse Museum.
MSA SC 4345: Shipley Family Photograph Collection. n.d. Photographs, "Fairview," Shipley family home in Harmans, Anne Arundel County, c. 1900; Harmans baseball team, c. 1914; interior, Shipley family tent at Wesley Grove Camp Meeting, c. 1905; tintype, Luther Welsh, c. 1870 as a 5-year-old in a dress. Photographs.
MSA SC 4346: USCT Site Collection. 1870. Electronic file, site descriptions, property of members of US Colored Troops (USCT) and parade leaders of 1870 parade. To be used with MSA SC 4347. Electronic file. Gift, Maryland State Archives.
MSA SC 4347: USCT Site Identification Collection. 1870. Electronic file, site identification numbers of property of members of US Colored Troops and parade leaders of 1870 parade. To be used with MSA SC 4346. Gift, Maryland State Archives.
MSA SC 4348: Andrews Collection. 1994. Photographs, Jerusalem Mills. Photographs. Gift, Anthony Andrews.
MSA SC 4349: Allan Collection. 1994. Stanley N. Allan, FAIA. For the Glory of Washington: A Chronicle of Events Leading to the Creation of a System-Wide Architectural Concept for the Design of the Washington Metro Stations December 1965-November 1967 (Chicago: Harry Weese Associates, 1994). Published volume. Gift, Stanley Allan.
MSA SC 4350: Queen Anne's Record the Centreville Observer Collection. 1936. Newspaper, Queen Anne's Record the Centreville Observer (Centreville, Queen Anne's County: [Queen Anne's Record and Observer Pub. Co.]). Original, microfilm. Deposit, originals, Enoch Pratt Free Library. Microfilmed by the Maryland State Archives courtesy of the Enoch Pratt Free Library.
MSA SC 4351: Johnson Photographic Collection. 1910 ca. - 1950. Photographs, streetcars and electric railway cars in Baltimore, Frederick, Hagerstown, and Towson. Photographs. Gift, Bob Johnson.
MSA SC 4352: Maryland Court of Appeals Photographic Collection. 1930. Photograph, Carroll T. Bond, Hammond Urner, William H. Adkins, T. Scott Offutt, W. Mitchell Digges, D. Lindley Sloan, John R. Pattison, F. Neale Parke. Photograph. Gift, Maryland State Archives.
Mame spent much of the month of July at Whitmore Printing participating in quality control checks as Bringing Back the Bay went on press. This included several midnight and 3 a.m. sessions after which she concluded that she's too old for such activities. The book is now available in the lobby.
Nancy and Elizabeth, assisted by Mrs. Vera Filby, completed editorial work on Harford, Howard, Somserset, and Wicomico counties of the Newspaper Guide. Mrs. Filby processed the Valcovic Collection [MSA SC 4343].
On July 20 Mame and Marion Warren were featured on local news on channel 13 in a promotional piece about the book, Bringing Back the Bay.
On July 30 Mame was the honored guest at Taylor Funeral Home's open house. The event included a speech by Mayor Hopkins in which he predicted that Taylor's would be the last place anyone would ever lay eyes on him. Mame made no such promise. Instead, she signed copies of her book, Then Again . . . Annapolis 1900-1965, which were given away to visitors.
SPECCOL ACTIVITY REPORT, July 1994
The Colonial Encounters in the Chesapeake exhibit was in the Calvert Marine Museum for two months and at the end of July was installed in the Martin Luther King, Jr. Library in Washington, D.C. by Rob, Wilder and Mimi.
The following press releases were sent out: the appointments of Elaine, Hanna and Kris, to local newspapers and each of their home town newspapers; the summer interns, to each of their local papers; the teachers attending the Teachers' Institute in July, to their local papers; the installation of the exhibit Bringing Back the Bay in the Legislative Services Building; and the September Genealogy Workshop. The response to the Workshop has been so excellent that we have scheduled a second one on October 22.
Elaine conducted an inventory of the Artistic Properties collection, which enabled her to become familiar with the variety of items owned by the state, and the many locations in which they are housed throughout the Annapolis complex and beyond.
LIBRARY REPORT, August 1994
by Shashi Thapar
American Clan Gregor Society. Yearbook of the American Clan Gregor Society: 1993 Annual Gathering, vol. 78 1994. 0450 G REF C-2-2
Beaman, Alden G. Rhode Island Genealogical Register, vol. 7, no. 4, April 1985, 1985. 0686 R1 6-1-5
Boyer, Carol Constance Y. Boyer Family in Maryland-Ohio-Indiana, revised, 1994(1985). 0450 B REF C-3-4
Chase, John Carroll. Seven Generations of the Descendants of Aquila and Thomas Chase, 1993. 0450 C REF C-1-4
Cole, Susan. Preservation Guide 1: Family Papers, 1983. 0686 L1 6-2-2 Cressman, Robert J. A Magnificent Fight: Mariners in the Battle for Wake Island, 1992. 1780 15-3-5
Darden, Alverta E. Darden/ Anderson Family Reunion at Quiet Waters Park, Annapolis, Maryland, August 21, 1994, 1994. 0450 D REF C-3-6
Donnelly, Maureen A. Preservation Guide 7: Silver, 1994. 0686 L1 6-2-2
Goetzmann, William H. Army Exploration in the American West, 1803-1863, 1965. 1740 14-3-5
Leiby, Arthur D. Archives of the Episcopal Church Diocese of Easton Diocesan Archives, 1991. 1510 12-3-1
Library of Congress. Annual Report of the Librarian of Congress 1992, 1994. 0795 7-3-3
Michigan State Historical Records Advisory Board. Strategies to Preserve Michigan's Historical Records, 1994. 0686 M3 6-3-4
Mount Vernon Ladies' Association. Annual Report 1993, 1994. 0686 V2 7-4-3
National Historical Publications and Records Commission. The American Record: A Progress Report FYs 1992 and 1993, 1993. 0829 7-3-6
Neagles, James C. U.S. Military Records: A Guide to Federal and State Sources, 1994. 0404 REF A-1-2
Schick, Kathy D. Making Silent Stones Speak: Human Evolution and the Dawn of Technology, 1994. 1800 A6 15-3-3
Seattle Public Library, Magazines, Newspapers and Government Publications Department. New Local Documents, July 1994, 1994. 0686 W1 7-1-4
Seattle Public Library, Magazines, Newspapers and Government Publications Department. New Local Documents, September 1994, 1994. 0686 W1 7-1-4
St. Mary's Parish, Annapolis. Centenary, 1853-1953, 1953. 1530 12-2-4
State Historical Records Advisory Board. Palmetto Reflections: A Plan for South Carolina's Documentary Heritage, 1994. 0686 S1 6-1-5
Sullivan, Charles R., Jr. Sullivans of Maryland: History of an American Family, 1841-1993, 1994. 0450 S REF C-1-6
Thorp, Jennifer D. The Acland Journal: Lady Harriet Acland and the American War, 1994. 1055 A 9-2-3
U.S. Department of the Navy. Landing in the Solomons, 7-8 August 1942, by Leonard Ware, 1994. 1780 15-3-6
U.S. Department of the Navy. Battle of Guadalcanal, 11-15 November 1942, 1994. 1780 15-3-6
U.S. Department of the Navy. Battle of Cape Esperance, 11 October 1942 and Santa Cruz Islands, 26 October 1942, by Henry Poor, 1994. 1780 15-3-6
U.S. Department of the Navy. Battle of Sava Island, 9 August 1942 and the Easern Solomons, 23-25 August 1942, by Winston Lewis, 1994. 1780 15-3-6
Wallis, Lucille A. Samuel Wallis of Kent County, Maryland: Some of His Descendants and Allied Families, Book 1, part 1, 1992. 0450 W REF B-1-2
Wallis, Lucille A. Samuel Wallis of Kent County, Maryland: Some of His Descendants and Allied Families, Book 2, part 1, 1992. 0450 W REF B-1-2
Wallis, Lucille A. Samuel Wallis of Kent County, Maryland: Some of His Descendants and Allied Families, Book 2, part 2, 1992. 0450 W REF B-1-2
Wallis, Lucille A. Samuel Wallis of Kent County, Maryland: Some of His Descendants and Allied Families, Book 2, part 3, 1992. 0450 W REF B-1-2
Wallis, Lucille A. Samuel Wallis of Kent County, Maryland: Some of His Descendants and Allied Families, Book 3, part 1, 1992. 0450 W REF B-1-2
Wallis, Lucille A. Samuel Wallis of Kent County, Maryland: Some of His Descendants and Allied Families, Book 4, part 1, 1992. 0450 W REF B-1-2
Wallis, Lucille A. Samuel Wallis of Kent County, Maryland: Some of His Descendants and Allied Families, Book 4, part 2, 1992. 0450 W REF B-1-2
West, Elmer D. Some Descendants of Anthony West of Accomack, Virginia, 1980. 0450 W REF B-1-2
West Virginia State Archives. State Publications Checklist, Jan. - Jun. 1994, 1994. 0686 W2 7-1-4
REFERENCE REPORT, August 1994
by Pat Melville
Research topics in August included several institutional histories, i.e. Rosewood Center, Towson State University, Civilian Conservation Corps in Maryland, St. Augustine Roman Catholic Church in Elkridge, and Second Presbyterian Church in Baltimore. Legal and political studies involved constitutions, local governments in Maryland, and role of women in 20th century Maryland politics. Locally oriented subjects concerned Spa Creek, black schools in Anne Arundel County, Annapolis, Anne Arundel County courthouse, and Almstead Estates. Regional topics centered around Western Maryland and summer communities in Southern Maryland.
Biographical studies included Billie Holliday, David K. Bruce, and John Reister, Sr. and his relationship to Reisterstown. Military topics consisted of military activities along the Patuxent River during the Revolution and War of 1812, 7th Infantry Regiment Color Troops, Deal Island and Somerset County in World War II, and Bahamian labor camps in 1944. A study of the French and Indian War and Richard Parris of South Carolina combined military and biographical research.
Labor studies included convicts and servant labor, 1730-1775, and indentured runaway servants. Weather related topics concerned conditions in February 1994 in Maryland and a tornado in Glen Burnie in 1961. Other studies consisted of landfills and companies that sell guns.
The Archives through its Documents for the Classroom initiative is successfully introducing original source materials in schools throughout Maryland. The degree of success can by measured in many ways. In the search room one day a young man, albeit from outside Maryland, declared our card indexes "cool."
Total circulation in the search room in August rose a moderate 3.2 percent, 10,410 compared to 10,091 in August 1993. The greatest increase occurred in library usage, up 20.4 percent, 1276 compared to 1060. Film circulation went up 9 percent, 6483 compared to 5946. Record usage, on the other hand, declined 14.1 percent, 2651 compared to 3085. The busiest day of the week was Tuesday, with an average circulation of 541. The slowest day was Wednesday, with an average of 383.
The total number of researchers in August increased 7.6 percent, 1563 compared to 1453 in 1993. Returning patrons climbed 8.5 percent, 1083 compared to 998. New researchers rose 5.5 percent, 480 compared to 455.
On an even greater scale, copying activity also increased. Photoduplication orders rose 22.9 percent, $2696.56 compared to $2194.65 in August 1993. Reader printer sales went up 11.3 percent, $505.75 compared to $454.50.
The mail program showed an overall 13.3 decline in August, 972 pieces of mail compared to 1121. Research letters fell 24.8 percent, 79 compared to 105. Staff mail dropped 24.7 percent, 399 compared to 530. Letters with citations declined 4.7 percent, 61 compared to 64. Administrative mail went down 1.4 percent, 205 compared to 208. Turn around letters rose slightly by 2.7 percent, 228 compared to 222. Phone reference in August bounded upward by 54.6 percent, 997 calls compared to 645 in 1993. The daily average was 43 calls, compared to 29 a year ago. On two occasions 58 contacts were handled in one day.
THE ARCHIVISTS' BULLDOG
Vol. 8, No. 30
September 26, 1994
PROCESSING REPORT, August 1994
by Pat Melville
Volunteer Barbara O'Brien completed a processing project begun two years. Her involvement with the Carroll County Farm Museum, formerly the county almshouse, and her studies at UMBC led Barbara to a study of the history of the almshouse.
Included within CARROLL COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS (Miscellaneous Papers) 1840-1949 [MSA T394] were documents concerning the almshouse, or the county home as it was called in the 20th century. We agreed on a plan whereby she segregated pertinent records into more descriptive series some of which pertain to indigent persons outside the almshouse or highlight significant matters.
Four series were created from the papers pulled from T394. CARROLL COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS (Almshouse Papers) 1840-1931 [MSA C2133] contains mostly bills from the operation of the almshouse. They encompass food, clothing, furniture, building supplies, coffins, maintenance and repairs, farm supplies and equipment, medicine, medical and legal services, dry goods, fuel, shoe repair, tobacco, threshing, housewares, and quarrying stone. Other papers include proposals and deeds for land acquisition in 1842, a building contract and bills for materials in 1853, recommendations for stewards, bonds of stewards, and reports about missing patients.
CARROLL COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS (Pension Papers) 1837-1931 [MSA C2131] contains petitions and bills concerning persons receiving from the county what we now call welfare payments. (Hospital Referrals) 1838-1926 [MSA C2132] contains lists of and invoices for indigent county residents referred to state medical and juvenile institutions. The files include vaccination and public health reports.
CARROLL COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS (Miscellaneous Papers) 1837-1927 [MSA C2130] contains mostly bills for coffins to bury paupers. Others papers consist of lists of taxpayers, lists of prisoners in the county jail, reports concerning convicts sentenced to work on the streets and alleys of Westminster, policy statement on furnishing tobacco to prisoners, bill illustrating Taylor's Steam Engine, inquests, letters including proposals to build and supply materials for the courthouse and jail in 1837, and copies of legislative acts establishing the county and its governing bodies.
Many thanks to Barbara, and others from the Farm Museum who periodically helped her, for making more accessible a substantial quantity (31 CSE) of Carroll County records.
EDUCATIONAL AND OUTREACH REPORT, August 1994
by Doug McElrath and R.J. Rockefeller
August brought closure to most programs but saw others begin. The internship program ended in the middle of the month. The last days were spent hurriedly scrambling to make sure all the data was in the computer, that biographical sketches were complete, and that all the materials needed for the future grant application were in order. The interns did take field trips to Baltimore, seeking out the buildings they had been studying in the records all summer. They found a few very significant sites still standing. We will soon report the summer findings to the Maryland Historical Trust who sponsored much of the internship program. Efforts are planned to make their findings more accessible to staff and patrons.
Did you notice Rocky was out of your hair for much of August? He spent two weeks running a mini-institute for teachers in Harford County. The county social studies department sponsored the program held at Bel Air Elementary School. The sessions covered the art, science, and meaning of history and, of course, the use of Document Packets for the Classroom. The group particularly focused on how the packets fit into Maryland educational policies. One issue covered dealt with the interpretation of historical events, for example, the Bush River Declaration. By reading the original document, one discovers that it is not a declaration that anticipates the Declaration of Independence, nor is it evidence of greater radicalism on the periphery than in Annapolis. Both theories have considerable currency in Maryland historical circles. The use of original document can make people rethink what they thought they knew about the past.
Rocky also visited the University of Maryland to introduce the materials to teaching assistants at the college level. Teachers from Anne Arundel County, Baltimore County, and Thorton Friends School visited to discuss the use of the packets.
The Archives hosted several evening meetings of the Kunte Kinte/Alex Haley Foundation Committee. A bus group of 30 genealogists led by Diane Stenzel of the Baltimore County Genealogical Society came on August 22 for a special Monday search room opening. Our thanks to all that helped with that occasion.
Doug's outreach activities included orientation and general tours for members of the Duvall Family (these descendants of one of Maryland's historic families include Phebe's husband, Brice "Stat Master" Jacobsen), the O'Malley Senior Center Genealogy Club, and the Baltimore County Genealogical Society group that came for the special search room opening. Doug visited the Historical Society of Frederick County to return collections we had filmed and to inspect their new manuscript vault and research room. A major concern in August was the final production of the action plan of the state-wide preservation planning project which will appear in September.
THE ARCHIVISTS' BULLDOG
Vol. 8, No. 31
October 3, 1994
STATE AND LOCAL RECORDS REPORT, August 1994
Kevin Swanson, et al.
August provided very little excitement in the world of transfers. Equity and civil Papers came from the Anne Arundel County Circuit Court, and the transfer of more modern records from the Anne Arundel County Register of Wills was completed. The film which came in was chiefly land records, but the activity was slower than usual, and seven counties were not heard from at all.
The refilming of Baltimore County Land Records continues, with 136 reels arriving in August. Pages which are now missing from the volumes are being identified, and the Photo Lab is trying to fill these gaps with pages copied from the older films in our collection.
Changes have been made in the Plats of the Week program. Plats that are over the standard size of 18ž x 24ž are now being scanned and a reduced copy used for filming. We also changed our reduction ratio to 16X in order to accommodate counties such as Kent and Anne Arundel which were not able to produce quality copies with the 21X reduction. Thanks to Leanda, Oscar, and the Photolab staff, these changes are being quickly integrated into the weekly program with positive results.
In response to a request from TRW, 2200 subdivision and condominium plats from Anne Arundel county were processed and filmed. This project required an appraisal of the collection during which we identified several plats missing from our holdings. The court staff was very accommodating in providing us with these original plats, as well as the originals of all plats from Plat Books 141-167 and E56-E71 for permanent deposit at the Archives. In the process of completing this order, we divided the database into subdivision and condominium series and improved our database references, and consequently our access, to these plats.
Aperture cards of the complete collection of Wicomico County plats have been made from our updated plat database. These cards have now been delivered to Salisbury, and a bound guide to the plats is scheduled for completion in the next few weeks.
Work continues steadily on Allegany County plats with the conservation lab undertaking surface cleaning and preservation work on many of the badly damaged plats. Geographical Services' new employee, Dawn Steeley, is working in conjunction with the conservation lab, updating the plat database and preparing the plats for repair, scanning, and filming. A monthly summary report is prepared by the conservation lab and forwarded to the court in Cumberland.
Road trips were taken to both Calvert and Kent counties to review quality of the aperture card subscription service. The Garrett County Circuit Court has approached us about processing their land record film. During August, the preliminary stages necessary to begin processing were undertaken.
STATE AND LOCAL RECORDS REFERENCE REPORT, August 1994
Overall, the August total of 998 reference requests represents a 6.6% increase over the August 1993 total of 936. These requests resulted in a reference circulation of 1535 records, a total that represents a 23.1% increase over the August 1993 figure of 1247. This is a new record for State and Local Records. Not only were more reference requests received than in any previous month, but more records were circulated in response to each individual reference request in August 1994 (1.54) than had been the case in August 1993 (1.33).
On an even brighter note, we received 67 more vital records requests in August 1994 (293) than in August 1993 (226). This represents a significant 29.6% increase in vital records requests. Circulation of vital records also increased by a healthy 34.1% (496 in August 94 compared to 370 in August 93). Circulation of district court records increased by a more modest 7.6% (380 in August 94 compared to 353 in August 93). This increase occurred in spite of the ongoing microfilming of district court criminal dockets.
The unexpected increase in reference demand for district court records was accompanied by an expected increase involving records of the circuit courts and other agencies. This category of reference activity increased by 25.8% (659 in August 94 compared to 524 in August 93).
Overall, the judiciary continues as the largest single user of the Archives' reference services with the courts accounting for 29.6% of all requests received in August 1994 (295 of 998), a decrease of 2.6% compared to August 1993's 32.2% (301 of 936).
The percentage of total requests received by phone increased in August, accounting for 29.6% of total requests (295 of 998) compared to 27% in August 1993 (253 of 936). The number of requests faxed to the Archives more than doubled from 36 received in August 1993 to 79 in August 1994. Fax requests represent 7.9% of the August 1994 total while accounting for only 3.8% of the August 1993 total. 66 fewer requests were generated from the search room (142) than had been the case in August 1993 (208). Search room requests accounted for 14.2% of August 1994 reference activity as compared to 22.2% in August 1993. This is in keeping with the trend in recent months. I still expect phone/fax requests (374) eventually to overtake the number of requests received through the mail (480) and through in-person visits (142). In August 1994 phone/fax requests accounted for 37.5% of total requests, with the mail accounting for 48.1%.
Revenue from all of this reference activity was up 28.1%, $6733 compared to $5254. The number of copies produced increased by 38.5% (4159 compared to 3003). This increase in our copy services helps to account in part for the substantial increase in revenue. I expect future increases in the number of copies produced will be more modest.
by Nancy Bramucci
Additions to Special Collections include the following:
MSA SC 4354: African American Subject Collection. var. dates. Electronic file, descriptive research file on subjects relating to African Americans in Baltimore City. To be used with MSA SC 4353. Electronic file. Gift, Maryland State Archives.
MSA SC 4355: African American Organization Identification Collection. var. dates. Electronic file, assignment database for organization identification numbers. To be used with MSA SC 4356. Electronic file. Gift, Maryland State Archives.
MSA SC 4356: African American Organization Collection. var. dates. Electronic file, descriptive research file relating to African American organizations in Baltimore City. To be used with MSA SC 4355. Electronic file. Gift, Maryland State Archives.
MSA SC 4358: Blathwayt Collection. 1970. Jeannette D. Black, The Blathwayt Atlas: A Collection of Forty-Eight Manuscript and Printed Maps of the Seventeenth Century Relating to the British Overseas Empire in the Era, Brought Together about 1683 for the Use of the Lords of Trade and Plantations By William Blathwayt, Secretary vol. 1: The Maps (Providence: Brown University Press, 1970). Facsimile edition. Purchased, Maryland State Archives.
MSA SC 4359: Rudolph A. Torovsky Home Movie Collection. 1929-1977. Film, 8 mm and 16 mm, scenes on Chesapeake Bay, Annapolis Yacht Club races, skipjack races, dedication of Ritchie Highway, Bay Ridge, Annapolis, Beverly Beach, Oak Grove, hurricane Hazel, and Ocean City. See ledger at 33/03/01/01 for further description. Film. Gift, Mary Ann Crabbs.
MSA SC 4360: St. Mary's Beacon Collection. 1852-1863. Newspaper, St. Mary's Beacon (Leonard Town, St. Mary's County: George S. King). For indexes, see: St. Mary's County Memorial Library, Index of the St. Mary's Beacon 1852-1885 4 vols. (Lexington Park: St. Mary's County Memorial Library, 1993-1994). Microfilm. Microfilmed by the Maryland State Archives courtesy of the St. Mary's County Historical Society.
MSA SC 4361: Herald Collection. 1973-1979. Newspaper, Herald (Sykesville, Carroll County: [s. n.]). Microfilm. Deposit, master negative, Enoch Pratt Free Library.
MSA SC 4362: South Carroll Herald Collection. 1979-1983. Newspaper, South Carroll Herald (Westminster, Carroll County: Landmark Community Newspapers of Md.). Microfilm. Deposit, master negative, Enoch Pratt Free Library.
MSA SC 4363: Montgomery Independent-Standard Collection. 1946-1947. Newspaper, Montgomery Independent-Standard (Rockville, Montgomery County: J. W. & R. C. Musser). Microfilm. Deposit, master negative, Enoch Pratt Free Library.
MSA SC 4364: Anne Arundel Times and Anne Arundel County Star (Glen Burnie Times edition) Collection. 1969. Newspaper, Anne Arundel Times and Anne Arundel County Star (Glen Burnie Times edition)(Glen Burnie, Anne Arundel County: Anne Arundel Times, Inc). Microfilm. Deposit, master negative, Enoch Pratt Free Library.
MSA SC 4365: Anne Arundel Times (Glen Burnie edition) Collection. 1969. Newspaper, Anne Arundel Times (Glen Burnie Times edition) (Glen Burnie, Anne Arundel County: Elmer M. Jackson, Jr.). Microfilm. Deposit, master negative, Enoch Pratt Free Library.
MSA SC 4366: Anne Arundel Times and South County Sentinel (Annapolis edition) Collection. Newspaper, Anne Arundel Times and South County Sentinel (Annapolis edition). Microfilm. Deposit, master negative, Enoch Pratt Free Library.
MSA SC 4367: Lindauer Collection. var. dates. Copy negatives, family photographs including Maggio's Annapolis Produce Store on Main Street and home at Bay Ridge. Copy negatives. Copied by the Maryland State Archives courtesy of Anthony Lindauer.
MSA SC 4368: NEH Teacher's Institute Collection. 1994. Photographs, NEH Teacher's Institute, Maryland State Archives, July 1994. Photographs. Gift, Maryland State Archives.
MSA SC 4369: Trott Collection. 1928-1934. Polk's Annapolis (Maryland) Directory 1928-1929 Including West Annapolis, Eastport, and Germantown... (New York: R.L. Polk & Co.); Annapolis telephone book, 1934. Original. Deposit, Les Trott.
MSA SC 4370: Commercial Chronicle and Daily Marylander Collection. 1829. Newspaper, Commercial Chronicle and Daily Marylander (Baltimore: S. C. Leakin) Archives' collection includes issue for January 24, 1829 [MSA SC 2085-52-8]. Original. Gift, Sarah D. Griffen, Clyde Griffen, and Margaret Thibault [MSA SC 2085].
Additional to Special Collections Film including the following:
MSA SC 2948 Pilot Collection, 1934-1969.
MSA SC 2954 Anne Arundel County Star Collection, 1959-1968.
MSA SC 2966 Calvert Journal Collection, 1902-1957.
MSA SC 3374 Montgomery Independent Collection, 1934-1946.
MSA SC 3395 Daily Banner Collection, 1923-1953.
MSA SC 3426 Calvert Journal Gazette Collection, 1958-1978.
MSA SC 3474 Maryland Independent Collection, 1874-1974.
MSA SC 3658 Sykesville Herald Collection, 1952-1973.
MSA SC 3673 Anne Arundel Times and South County Sentinel Collection (Glen Burnie Edi tion), 1970-1973.
MSA SC 3798 Anne Arundel Star Collection, 1951-1959.
MSA SC 3849 Glen Burnie Times and Anne Arundel County Star Collection, 1968-1969.
MSA SC 4361 Herald Collection, 1973-1979.
MSA SC 4362 South Carroll Herald Collection, 1979-1983.
MSA SC 4363 Montgomery Independent-Standard Collection, 1946-1947.
MSA SC 4364 Anne Arundel Times and Anne Arundel County Star (Glen Burnie Times edition) Collection, 1969.
MSA SC 4365 Anne Arundel Times (Glen Burnie edition) Collection, 1969-1970.
MSA SC 4366 Anne Arundel Times and South County Sentinel (Annapolis edition) Collection, 1970-1971.
Throughout July and August, Mame worked on an exhibit entitled Annapolis Now and Then that will hang in the newly refurbished Marriott Waterfront Hotel in Annapolis. The exhibit is being produced by Marion Warren, but Mame provided the captions and made sure that every image has an accession number clearly displayed. A title panel will explain that copies of the photographs may be obtained by contacting the Archives. The exhibit opens October 2nd. Nancy, Elizabeth, and Mrs. Filby continued to edit the Maryland Newspaper Guide, completing Caroline, Calvert, Queen Anne's, St. Mary's, and Talbot counties as well as several editorial passes through the Baltimore City chapter.
Nancy and Elizabeth also accessioned 210 reels of newspaper master negative film on deposit from the Enoch Pratt Free Library.
Carrie Herschman joined the special collections staff for a one-month internship working in the Maryland Newspaper Project. In addition to proofreading, Carrie also completed an inventory of the circulating special collections film.
Nancy and Chris Haley served on the Artist Selection Committee of the Kunte Kinte-Alex Haley Foundation. The committee selected three potential sculptors for the proposed memorial to Alex Haley at the Annapolis City Dock.
On August 1 Mame attended the monthly meeting of the Annapolis History Consortium where Donna Hole, historic preservationist for the City of Annapolis, spoke about the City's ongoing survey of buildings in the historic district. She pointed out that her office in the Department of Planning and Zoning has little used research files that are available to the public.
On August 30 Mame and Marion Warren were filmed at several locations on the Eastern Shore and interviewed here at the Archives for a short documentary about them and their work that will be broadcast by the U. S. Information Agency in foreign countries. They are looking forward to being household names in Thailand.
THE ARCHIVISTS' BULLDOG
Vol. 8, No. 32
October 17, 1994
NAMES IN THE NEWS
by Doug McElrath
Lois Carr Wins Major Prize in History
The Economic History Association has just announced that Robert Cole's World: Agriculture and Society in Early Maryland by Lois Carr, Lorena Walsh, and Russell R. Menard has won the first Alice Hanson Jones Prize. This newly-established prize is awarded to outstanding publications in the field of economic history of North America and is named in honor of a scholar who pioneered the use of probate inventories located here at the Archives and elsewhere. Our records also figure prominently in Robert Cole's World. Congratulations to Lois and her colleagues for this honor!
REFERENCE REPORT, September 1994
by Pat Melville
The big research topic in September was the Civil War specifically the Second Regiment of the U. S. Maryland Volunteers, U. S. Colored Troops from Prince George's County, and Baltimore City during the war. One patron was looking at the conflict in general. Another military subject concerned Annapolis forts during the War of 1812.
Local topics included Providence, Crownsville, Centreville, theatre in Annapolis, and Cecil County. The role of government figured in studies of public health in Maryland, environmental laws for 1959 to 1977, and workmen's compensation laws. Primary and general elections generate interests in campaign reports from the previous campaigns of candidates. This year the Archives has also responded to questions about women elected governor of Maryland [there have been none], Republicans elected governor of Maryland [there have been a few], and governors from the Washington suburbs area [the last one elected was Oden Bowie, 1869-1872].
Religious topics included Catholics in the Revolutionary and early National periods and the Archdiocese of Baltimore. Other subjects involved voter registration, history of the Anne Arundel County Register of Wills' office, desegregation in higher education, 17th century Maryland, and the Mason-Dixon Line.
Total circulation of records in the search room declined 16 percent in September, 8679 compared to 10,326 in September 1993. The largest drop occurred with original records, down 39.6 percent, 2327 compared to 3851. Film usage decreased slightly by 4.1 percent, 5355 compared to 5582. Library circulation increased 11.6 percent, 997 compared to 893. The busiest day of the week was Wednesday with an average circulation of 415. The slowest day was Tuesday with an average of 342.
The number of researchers in September remained stable in comparison to last year. The total figure rose a mere .6 percent, 1278 compared to 1271. Returning researchers increased 1 percent, 884 compared to 875. New patrons fell a meager .5 percent, 394 compared to 396. On Tuesday, September 27, ninety-one people came into the search room; this included thirty-nine new patrons.
Copy orders increased in September. Photoduplication orders rose 3.5 percent, $2513.20 compared to $2427.75. Reader printer income increased 12.9 percent, $409.50 compared to $362.75.
The mail program registered a 10 percent decline in activity, 870 pieces of mail compared to 967 in September 1993. Research letters dropped 38.6 percent, 51 compared to 83. Staff mail fell 21.8 percent, 258 compared to 330. Turn around letters decreased 14.1 percent, 219 compared to 255. Letters with citations remained unchanged, 73 both years. Administrative mail increased 14 percent, 260 compared to 228. Phone reference continued to grow at a rapid rate. Total calls in September rose to 981, compared to 637 last year. This represents a 54 percent increase. The average number of calls per day was 47, compared to 29 last year. For the third time the record of 63 calls in a day was reached on the 16th.
THE ARCHIVISTS' BULLDOG
Vol. 8, No. 33
October 24, 1994
HALL OF RECORDS COMMISSION MEETING
11 OCTOBER 1994
The meeting began with a presentation of the Archives' Annual Report, the fundamental statement of the Archives' mission and achievements. Chris Allan designed the report around the ASAP concept of Access, Service, Assessment, and Preservation. The Commission voted its thanks to Chris and adopted the report. Its main message is that the Archives receives only about half the money it needs each year from General Fund allocations, being left to find the remainder through Special Funds, grants, and fund raising. The Archives continues its efforts to meet the demand for more service to the public and government, with fewer resources.
Fiscal year 1994 saw the deposit of more records at the Archives than ever before. The accelerated rate of acquisitions since 1987 has strained our paper records storage capacity. More emphasis will be placed on microfilm and digital alternatives while additional space is arranged. An important acquisition which presents both a challenge and an opportunity is the records of the Maryland Deposit Insurance Fund (MDIF). These crucial documents deal with failed savings and loan institutions and the real estate they controlled. Fortunately, a Special Funds allocation will allow staff of the MDIF to join the Archives staff to assist in the management of these materials. The MDIF maintains a warehouse outside Baltimore which will partially alleviate the Archives' space pressures by providing a facility to safely store less frequently used records and prepare the MDIF records for filming or scanning.
The Fiscal Year 1996 budget proposal for the Commission on Artistic Property includes restoration of its curator. It is anticipated that the Peabody Art Collection will soon become the responsibility of the state and the Artistic Property Commission will coordinate the care of the collection with the institutions where the works are currently displayed or stored. Mrs Sarah Gummersall has generously added an intriguing painting to our holdings here. This seventeenth century portrait, which has been attributed to the master Peter Lely, may depict Anne Wolseley, niece of Anne Calvert whose remains are thought to be in one of the lead coffins unearthed at St. Mary's City. The painting once hung in Annapolis and was once owned by the Key, Ross, and Pendleton families.
Another acquisition is an invaluable collection of photographs and memorabilia documenting the career of Governor Schaefer. This private collection supplements his official records. The governor's office has collaborated with the Archives all along to provide excellent control and management over the governor's files. Computers play a large part in that management system. Computers also play a significant role in the Administrative Office of the Courts' plans for digitalization of court records. Ed served on an advisory committee that studied the various technologies involving interaction between digital image files and microfilm. Images can be read from film to disc or printed from disc to film or paper. Such technology has important implications for the future of archival storage.
The Archives has taken steps to improve its conventional preservation capacity by adding a professional conservator to its staff. The Archives welcomes Hanna Szczepanowska. Among her first duties was the renovation of the conservation lab. She is also working with State and Local Records on a model program for the preservation of and access to a diverse collection of plats from Allegany County. The program includes paper conservation, microfilming, digital imaging, cataloguing, and special handling of oversized materials. With such programs in place, the Archives can begin to offer its conservation services to other agencies and to the public. Workshops on collection management and preservation will be held around the state. Doug and Hanna will cooperate with other institutions to hold these self-supporting training and information sessions. Such activities are in accordance with the recommendations of the recent state-wide preservation study which published its findings in a booklet entitled Treasures of the Past. Doug worked with Scott Bennett and other people from Johns Hopkins to explore the preservation needs of the state and determine proper steps to promote the care of our state's documentary resources.
The Archives released the latest edition of the Maryland Manual in September. Although there has been some question about the timing of its release, this edition is as important as any produced to date. With this manual, officials attempting a smooth transition from the present administration to the next will be able to understand the strengths and weaknesses of our current system. Without this edition, the historical record of government provided by the Manual, unbroken back to the nineteenth century, would be lost to future researchers. Fortunately, the special allotments required to support the 1994 edition have been replaced by regular budget allocations for next year. The Commission recognized the value of the Manual and the related publication The Organization of State Government and voted its thanks to the Manual staff, led by Diane Frese.
Soon, much of the biographical and other information in the Manual will be available "on line" through the Archives' bulletin board on INTERNET and SAILOR. The state library network connection should be up and running later this year. This is the first year a digital version of our government guides will be available on-line. Another proposed change in the Manual is to issue a state version every other year, as at present, and to publish a guide to county governments in the intervening years.
The search room is now equipped with new reader printers, as will be State and Local Records. The machines are financed through a combination of state funds, private donations, and the service fees charged for copies. Ed thanked the Comptroller's and Treasurer's offices for their help and advice in securing the much-needed printers.
Ed mentioned that he serves on the Governor's Commission on the Thurgood Marshall Memorial Statue and chairs the committee assigned to study the feasibility of placing a memorial on Lawyers' Mall. Another committee is studying sites on the State House grounds. Design proposals will be accepted during an open competition. A memorial in Annapolis is particularly appropriate because Marshall argued the 1936 Murray case before the Court of Appeals here. His arguments for desegregation were later incorporated into his 1954 Brown Supreme Court case. The road to Brown thus led through Annapolis. Comptroller Goldstein mentioned that Donald Gaines Murray was his classmate at the University of Maryland Law School.
The Archives is also involved with the Annapolis 300 celebrations and Greg serves as our liaison to the committee. The Federalist took part in the September 17 parade and drew a great deal of attention. Such horse-drawn vessels were the original "floats." The opening of the first legislature to be held here will be celebrated with a ceremony in the General Assembly in February. In the first of several Annapolis 300 pamphlets on local history, Ed will address the movement of the capital to this town. Other authors will write about archeology at the Providence sites and Annapolis' early history.
Announcements included the successful completion of the 1994 NEH sponsored teachers' institute, the conclusion of a successful and cooperatively sponsored intern research program, the installation of new heating and electrical systems in the building, and the deposit of over $100,000 in the State Archives Fund. Recent publications related to the Archives include Ed's foreword to Slavery to Salvation, a reprint of a rare manuscript by an African-American minister involved in abolition. A new document packet, Close Encounters, studies the interaction of Europeans and Native Americans in colonial Chesapeake, reflecting some of the themes seen in the traveling exhibit "Colonial Encounters." Judge Murphy and Ed collaborated on an article on Maryland and the Constitution. The Archives announced it membership in the Maryland Coalition for History and Culture which will coordinate humanities activities and funding efforts throughout the state.
The Commission bid farewell to Senator Jack Lapides who has served since 1979. As a token of our appreciation, Senator Lapides received a copy of Marion and Mame Warren's new book, Bringing Back the Bay. The Commission also recognized the good services of General Orwin Talbott, who retires from his position as chairman of the Friends of the Archives, by presenting him with a copy of the book. After the Commission agreed to gather again in January, Senator Lapides' last duty was to move for adjournment.
STATE AND LOCAL RECORDS
RECORDS REPORT, September 1994
by Kevin Swanson et al.
The Archives has long sought to acquire record series of permanent value that, because of heavy use by both the public and private sectors, need conservation attention. In September we acquired a major collection of this type when the civil and equity indexes for the Baltimore City Circuit courts were transferred to the Archives. The equity records are in such demand that we fielded requests for research and copies as the indexes were unloaded from the truck.
The Archives is now the sole source for access to equity cases of the Baltimore City Circuit Court and Circuit Court No. 2 prior to 1983, and to civil cases from the old Superior Court, Court of Common Pleas, and City Court prior to 1983. These indexes have been used daily since they arrived. In order to increase general access and preserve the original books, microfilming of the equity indexes began within one week of their arrival.
In addition, transfers arrived from several of the district courts, and land records coming from Charles and Howard counties added another 800 volumes to our shelves.
The refilming projects for land records are continuing. In Charles County, where the goal is to create new 16mm film of all land records from 1851-1993, the first 600 volumes have been completed.
Baltimore County's refilming has been complicated and delayed by the problems of pages which are misplaced or missing from the volumes which are currently in use in the courthouse.
An additional project now nearing completion is the reduction from 35mm to 16mm film of the state charter records, 1908-1977. This has been done at the request of the Department of Assessments and Taxation, and delivery has been completed on the first third of this order.
Preliminary work began on the processing of Maryland Deposit Insurance Fund (MDIF) records. Kris spent several days at the MDIF warehouse in Linthicum, conducting appraisal and helping to process the records. This processing will continue to be conducted by MDIF employees at the warehouse before the records are sent to the Archives. Because of the activity these records are expected to generate, keyboarders will be hired to enter a detailed inventory of each document into a database file.
In response to a request from the Montgomery County Department of Transportation, 335 road plats were filmed and an index created for the agency's use. Efforts to provide increased access to state highway plats, an interest expressed by many counties, are also being discussed.
The Allegany County plats project continues at a steady pace, with Dawn and the conservation lab giving each plat the individual attention it requires prior to scanning and filming. In October, appraisal and retroactive database entry will begin on Dorchester County plats in an attempt to update our database and to provide the court with a complete set of aperture cards to their collections.
September also marked the completion of the first phase of the project to deliver aperture cards of the entire Wicomico County plat collection to the court in Salisbury. In the near future, the Archives will be providing a guide to the collection and will begin working on phase two of the project, the survey plats.
Site visits were made to the Talbot and Queen Anne's county circuit courts to review microfilming procedures and standards. As a result of these visits, court personnel have revised their procedures to improve access and usability of the land record film.
Lastly, the Archives received an order from the Montgomery County Circuit Court for three sets of aperture cards of their plat collection. This amounts to nearly 80,000 aperture cards. During September, plans were made to facilitate processing this order. The photolab began duplicating the 129 reels of film that comprise the MO plat collection and Betsy began figuring out how best to print database information onto thousands and thousands of aperture cards. Delivery of at least one set of 26,000 cards is expected by the end of October.
STATE AND LOCAL RECORDS
REFERENCE REPORT, September 1994
by Kevin Swanson
The September total of 830 reference requests represents a 10% decrease from the September 1993 total of 922. At the same time the number of records circulated increased by 4.6%, from 1184 last September to 1238 in 1994. Once again more records were circulated in response to each individual reference request in September 1994 (1.5) than had been the case in September 1993 (1.3).
We received 50 fewer vital records requests in September 1994 (221) than in September 1993 (271). This represents an 18.5% decrease in vital records requests. Circulation of vital records also decreased by a more modest 5.8% (404 in September 94 compared to 429 in September 93). Circulation of district court records increased by an impressive 27.8% (299 in September 94 compared to 234 in September 93). The unexpected increase in reference demand for district court records was accompanied by a small but expected increase involving records of the circuit courts and other agencies. This category of reference activity increased by 2.7% (535 in September 94 compared to 521 in September 93). Overall, the judiciary continues as the largest single user of the Archives' reference services with the courts accounting for 25.7% of all requests received in September 1994 (213 of 830), a decrease of 5.8% compared to September 1993's 31.5% (290 of 922).
The percentage of total requests received by phone increased in September, accounting for 31.4% of total requests (261 of 830) compared to 20.3% in September 1993 (187 of 922). The number of requests faxed to the Archives unexpectedly declined from 109 received in September 1993 to 39 in September 1994. A partial explanation of this phenomenon lay in the fact that individual fax requests involve circulating more records than had been the case previously. In September 1993, 109 fax requests resulted in the circulation of 109 records; 1 record per request. In September 1994, 39 fax requests resulted in the circulation of 71 records; 1.8 records per request. Overall, fax requests represent 4.7% of the September 1994 total while accounting for 11.8% of the September 1993 total. Only 5 fewer requests were generated from the search room (156) than had been the case in September 1993 (161). Search room requests accounted for 18.8% of September 1994 reference activity as compared to 17.5% in September 1993, an increase of 1.3%. This goes against the trend in recent months. I still expect phone/fax requests (300) eventually to overtake the number of requests received through the mail (374) and through in-person visits (156). In September 1994 phone/fax requests accounted for 36.1% of total requests, with the mail accounting for 45.1%.
Revenue from all of this reference activity was up only .6%, $5036 compared to $5007. The number of copies produced increased by 9.2% (2844 compared to 2604). This modest increase in our copy services helps to account in part for the tiny increase in revenue.
THE ARCHIVISTS' BULLDOG
Vol. 8, No. 34
October 31, 1994
by Mimi Calver
At the invitation of Mrs. Leonie Gately, Director for Maryland for Stratford Hall Plantation, Ed was the speaker at the October 15 meeting of the Board of Directors of Stratford Hall. He was asked to speak on recent archaeology and historical research on the history of Maryland. Using the title of The Forgotten Mothers of Maryland, Ed talked about the importance of looking at history in new ways. In talking about the people who, in the past, have not been given their due, he traced the connection between St. Cecelia, the patron saint of the blind and of music and after whom Cecil Calvert was named, and the founding of Maryland. He also talked about the importance of three women in the early history of Maryland: Cecil Calvert's wife, Anne Arundell; his mother, Anne Mynne; and his sister-in-law, Anne Wolseley. The theme of the talk was looking at the early history of Maryland from a new perspective and interpreting images from the past in a different light, including the state motto and the symbolism in the Great Seal.
There were about 75 people at the meeting and they seemed very appreciative of his speech; someone suggested that he give another talk on the "Forgotten Brothers of Stratford Hall", which was the home of the only two brothers who signed the Declaration of Independence, Richard Henry Lee and Francis Lightfoot Harry Lee. It is also the birthplace of Robert E. Lee. Ed and his wife, Sallie, were treated to a tour of the house from the cellar to the attic by Charles Phillips, who is the consulting architect for Stratford Hall and the Hammond-Harwood House in Annapolis.
Ed published a review of Harriet Beecher Stowe, A Life by Joan D. Hedrick in the Fall 1994 issue of the Maryland Historical Magazine, which is a special issue on Civil Rights and Race Relations in Maryland. A theme of the review is Mrs. Beecher's struggle, as a woman, against the obstacles she encountered in a male dominated world. He also discusses the way in which the novel became a part of the popular culture through, first, the stage and then motion pictures. In the late 1850s, the stage version played well even in the south, including a very successful run in Baltimore, through the trivialization and softening of the message. Ed also points out the irony of Samuel Green, the freed slave from Dorchester County who was imprisoned in Baltimore for owning a copy of the book at the same time that the stage version was playing to packed houses.
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS REPORT
Additions to Special Collections include the following:
MSA SC 4371: Good News Collection. 1869-1873. Newspaper, Good News (Weekly edition) (Baltimore: Rev. H. L. Singleton) The Good News (Weekly edition) was published as the "organ of the Young Mens Christian Society." Archives' collection includes issues for December 17, 1869, August 1873, and June 1873. Original.
MSA SC 4372: Southern Society Collection. 1868. Newspaper, Southern Society (Baltimore: Eugene L. Didler, Wm. J. M'Clellan, Porter Morse) Title history based on March 7, 1868 [v. 1, no. 23]. Archives' collection includes that issue. Original.
MSA SC 4373: Presbyterian Observer Collection. 1884. Newspaper, Presbyterian Observer (Baltimore: Presbyterian Observer Pub. Co.) Title history based on December 25, 1884 [v. 12, no. 49]. Archives' collection includes that issue. Original.
MSA SC 4374: Child's Paper Collection. 1853. Periodical, Child's Paper (New York; Boston; Philadelphia; Baltimore; Cincinnati; New Orleans: American Tract Society) Title history based on October 1854 [v. 3, no. 10]. Archives' collection includes that issue. Original.
MSA SC 4375: Baltimore Press Collection. 1932. Newspaper, Baltimore Press (Baltimore: Baltimore Press Club) The Baltimore Press began publication April 28, 1932 [v. 1, no. 1]. Title history based on that issue. The newspaper made its debut during the 20th anniversary celebration of the Baltimore Press Club. Archives' collection contains copy of issue for April 28, 1932. Positive photostat.
MSA SC 4376: Gilman News Collection. 1918. Newspaper, Gilman News Roland Park [i.e. Baltimore]: Gilman Country School Publications) The Gilman News was published weekly, "containing news of interest to the Gilman Country School and its friends." Title history based on October 8, 1918. Original. Deposit, original, Maryland Historical Society.
MSA SC 4377: Sharptown Herald Collection. 1903. Newspaper, Sharptown News (Sharptown, Wicomico County: Herald Publishing Co.) The Sharptown News published weekly, on Saturday. Title history based on March 7, 1903 [v. 1, no. 24]. Original. Deposit, original, Maryland Historical Society.
MSA SC 4378: Northwest County News Collection. 1973. Newspaper, Northwest County News (Reisterstown, Baltimore County: NCN Publications) The Northwest County News was published every other Wednesday for Reisterstown, Glyndon, Owings Mills, and Garrison. Title history based on March 14, 1973 [v. 2, no. 5]. Original.
MSA SC 4379: Baltimore Pathfinder Collection. 1854. Newspaper, Baltimore Pathfinder (Baltimore: J. Newton & Co.) The Baltimore Pathfinder began publication in 1852. It was published daily. Title history based on July [?], 1853 [v. 2, no. 3]. It was also published as the Baltimore Pathfinder, Traveller's Guide and Business Register. Original. Deposit, Maryland Historical Society.
MSA SC 4380: New Prince George's Post Collection. 1982. Newspaper, New Prince George's Post (Hyattsville, Prince George's County: The New Prince George's Post, Inc.) The New Prince George's Post began publication May 20, 1976 [v. 44, no. 8] and ceased July 28, 1983 [v. 51, no. 23]. It was published weekly. It was also published as the Prince George's Post. The newspaper continues the Prince Georges Post (College Park: 1932) and was continued by the Prince George's Post (Hyattsville: 1983). Original.
MSA SC 4381: Carrolltonian Collection. 1888-1889. Newspaper, Carrolltonian (Westminster, Carroll County: J.E. Nicholson) The Carrolltonian began publication in 1886[?] and ceased in 1893[?]. It was published weekly. Title history based on June 2, 1887 [v. 2, no. 16]. Original. Deposit, originals, Maryland Historical Society.
MSA SC 4382: Saturday Herald Collection. 1826-1827. Newspaper, Saturday Herald (Baltimore: R. J. Marchett) The Saturday Herald began publication June 12, 1824[?] and ceased May 20, 1826[?]. It was published weekly. Title history based on July 17, 1824 [v. 1, no. 8]. The newspaper continues the Saturday Evening Herald (Baltimore: 1824) and was continued by the Baltimore Saturday Herald (Baltimore: 1826). Original. Deposit, originals, Maryland Historical Society.
MSA SC 4383: William Donald Schaefer Photographic and Memorabilia Collection. 1955 ca. - 1994. Photographic albums, approximately 500, personal and political photographs covering the career of William Donald Schaefer, including political campaigns, ceremonies, state events, travel abroad, press clippings, and other memorabilia. Photographs, originals. Gift, the Honorable William Donald Schaefer.
MSA SC 4384: Delaware Archives Photograph Collection. 1930s-1960. Photographs, bridge collapse at Savage, MD; architectural views of Resurrection Manor, SM; Compton, Myrtle Grove; construction of Chesapeake Bay Bridge; Pocomoke highway scene. Photographs. Gift, Delaware Bureau of Archives and Records Management.
MSA SC 4385: Zimmerman Collection. 1907. Map, Maryland Geological Survey, Map of Maryland. 1 sheet. Original. Gift, Ken and Elaine Zimmerman.
MSA SC 4386: Joseph M. Coale Collection of Baltimore County Maps. 1850. Map, J. S. Sidney, Map of the City and County of Baltimore, Maryland, From Original Surveys. Includes inset of Baltimore and vignettes of the Washington Monument, the Exchange, Green Mount Cemetery, Odd Fellows Hall, Court House, View of Jones Falls, plus one unlabeled image. See also Edward C. Papenfuse and Joseph M. Coale, Hammond Harwood House Atlas of Historical Maps of Maryland 1608-1908, fig. 90. Original. Deposit, Joseph M. Coale.
Additions to Special Collections microfilm include
MSA SC 4068: Maryland Veterans Commission Collection, M11292-M11307, Interments. After a long and detailed search headed by Jane McWilliams, the Commission on Artistic Property acquired a seventeenth century oil portrait, believed to depict a direct relation of Anne Wolseley Calvert, the woman entombed in the lead coffin at St. Mary's City. The portrait, attributed to the School of Sir Peter Lely (1618-1680), resided in Annapolis during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, before passing through the possession of various family members throughout the country and abroad. Eventually, its ownership was traced to a descendant in California who generously donated the portrait to the Commission. Besides providing a physical link to Anne Wolseley, this portrait represents a long and fascinating history of ownership through some of Maryland's most prominent families.
Nancy continued editing the Baltimore City chapter of the upcoming newspaper guide. Mrs. Filby began refoldering and reboxing the papers of General George Handy [MSA SC 179]. Elaine, with help from the archival assistants, processed the William Donald Schaefer Photographic and Memorabilia Collection [MSA SC 4283]. Mame's volunteers worked on processing new collections and adding new item level databases.
Audubon Magazine featured a six-page spread of photographs and quotations from Bringing Back the Bay in its September-October issue. The Maryland State Archives was credited as the source of the photographs. The Arundel Sun ran a feature about Marion and Mame Warren and their new book on September 22nd.
On September 12 Mame attended the monthly meeting of the Annapolis History Consortium at the Hammond-Harwood House. Director Steven Patrick offered a fascinating history of the house and its former occupants and discussed the various options that are being considered for its future. On September 19-21 Mame worked with her father and Rob MacAdam arranging and hanging the exhibit Annapolis Now and Then at the new Pusser's Landing restaurant in the Marriott Waterfront Hotel in downtown Annapolis. The exhibit features 130 photographs from various collections at the Archives. On September 22 Mame read The World Turned Upside Down by Ann Jensen to two fourth grade classes at Lakeside Elementary School near Gibson Island. The book was read to every fourth grader in Anne Arundel County as part of the commemoration of the 300th anniversary of the move of the state capital to Annapolis in 1694. Mame temporarily moved eight prints from the Bringing Back the Bay exhibit currently on display in the Legislative Services Building to the lobby of the Pascal Center at Anne Arundel Community College on September 21st and 22nd. The exhibit coincided with the first lecture in the Bringing Back the Bay series given by Mame and her father, Marion Warren. Fifty-two hearty souls braved gale-force winds and rain to attend the lecture and book signing. Another lecture took place on September 28 at Prince George's Community College.
Mame attended the semi-annual meeting of OHMAR (Oral History in the Mid Atlantic Region) at the National Archives' new Archives II facility in College Park. She enjoyed a brief reunion with former Archives' employees Rick Blondo, Diana Shenk, and Cindy Swanson. Rick, who now works at Archives II, offered a special glimpse of the still photographs and motion pictures departments.
On September 17 the Maryland Federalist took part in the Annapolis 300 parade, its first public appearance in more than three years. Rob, Mimi, Elaine, and Jane McWilliams were crew, and the ship was cheered by many of her old friends and former crew members along the parade route. After the parade, the Federalist parked down at the City Dock, near the Dove, where many people came to see her. On September 27 Mimi, Rob, and Wilder installed the Colonial Encounters in the Chesapeake exhibit in the Somerset County Library in Princess Anne in time for their Princess Anne Days in early October. The exhibit was the focus of this annual event, which included related exhibits from the library's collection, a wine and cheese reception, and a lecture by Margaret Burri.
On September 13 Elaine attended a one-day workshop on "The Care of a Small Historic Site" at the London Town Publik House. This workshop addressed a variety of conservation and preservation issues facing historic site administrators and featured lectures by conservators and preservation architects.
On September 19 Nancy visited the Enoch Pratt Free Library in search of elusive newspapers. On September 30 Nancy spoke to an introductory history class at UMBC concerning the Tull medical case history book [MSA SC 4070], showing how other primary sources and public documents can be used in relation to the collection.
by Lynne MacAdam and Betsy Steele
In 1992, card index #65, MARYLAND INDEXES (Assessment of 1783, Index), S 1437 was keyboarded. In December 1992 an editorial pass was begun on Anne Arundel County, comparing the database entries against the original tax assessment. Basic information keyboarded from the index cards was checked and information not included on the index cards was added to the database. During the summers of 1993 and 1994, Stephanie Thorson finished editorial work on 10 counties comparing originals against the database and updating the database entries.
The work completed to date on the Assessment of 1783 index is now available on the computer as 1783TAX. This index file is more accurate and comprehensive than the original index and should be used in place of the card index for the counties listed below. Please note that this file includes only those counties where editorial work is completed. At this point, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Calvert, Caroline, Cecil, Charles, Dorchester, Harford, Kent, and Montgomery counties are available. The index cards (indexes #65 and #66) will remain in the search room until all the databases are updated and indexed.
The photoduplication orders from 1986 - 1994 have been wordcrunched, listed as CIRC on the bookshelf, and are now available on work stations in the search room and photolab. Entries detail special collections, counties, municipalities, agencies, series, items, accession numbers, dates, names of persons mentioned in the citations or descriptions of the items, tracking numbers, photoduplication numbers, and circulation numbers where applicable. Information pertaining to the requestor has been eliminated due to the confidentiality of the data. This indexed file, which captures the research efforts of both staff and patrons, will prove to be very beneficial in that it includes many citations that do not appear elsewhere in the indexes of the Archives.
Both the photolab and the reference staff will now have the capability to inquire if an item has ever been previously requested. If the item had been requested before, the staff should note the date and tracking number of the original order on the request slip. The photolab staff will then be able to pull the film which contains the original order to provide a copy of the item for the patron, thus eliminating the need to refilm the item. In addition, patrons can search the database for family names or names of individuals.
In addition to the two new bookshelf items, Shashi has updated the State Publications finding aid on the computer. STATPUBS is now current through October 14.
REPORT ON PRESERVATION
by Doug McElrath & Hanna Szczepanowska
Since Hanna's arrival as our new Preservation Officer in June, the Conservation Lab has been an extremely active place. She has been working closely with Andie King to institute important changes that have made our Lab a leader among state facilities for paper conservation. This report summarizes some recent news on the preservation/conservation front.
Among the more obvious physical changes was the removal of the old laminator and chemical tank. Several years ago we decided to discontinue the cellulose acetate lamination process. The removal of the lamination equipment allows much more versatility in configuring the Lab for current projects. Rob MacAdam has been very helpful in constructing lab furniture that permits this flexibility. In place of the large chemical tank, one now sees a de-ionized water system that improves our aqueous treatments in the sinks. Another important new piece of equipment is a Fisher microscope that permits Hanna to analyze micro-elements such as fungi.
Among the new procedures that enhance our ability to function has been a database tracking system for work orders, a new fee schedule for paying customers, and the establishment of a system of photo documentation to maintain a visual record of conditions before and after treatment. The Lab is working closely with State & Local Records, Special Collections, Photo Lab, and Imaging Department to coordinate activities. We are reestablishing a conservation internship program and are pleased to welcome Keith Morrison from Catholic University Library School who is working with us this autumn.
The project that is taking up most of the attention of Hanna, Andie, and Keith is the Allegany County Plats Project. This collection of over 2000 plats is in poor condition and must be treated in the Lab prior to being scanned for eventual microfilming. The Lab prepares condition assessments, does surface cleaning (many of the plats are coated with coal dust), mends where necessary, and encapsulates or folders each plat. The techniques developed in this project should become the model for processing collections of oversize materials.
Some of the other major projects underway in the Lab include fumigation of materials from Charles County that had fungal infestation, investigation of freeze drying for disinfection, and the study of appropriate temperature and humidity monitoring devices. The staff of the Lab has completed conservation projects involving a panorama-style photograph and several other individual items. Hanna also worked with Rocky Rockefeller on the preservation section of the annual report, and recently she prepared condition reports on the Peter Force Collection. A major concern in the past two weeks has been the safe storage of a collection of newspapers in the warehouse. Hanna and Nancy Bramucci have examined the situation and have developed recommendations.
Andie has been spending recent Saturdays in Alexandria at the Florentine Bindery taking a class on book binding techniques. She reports that she is ready to tackle the major binding problems in our collection!
Both Hanna and Doug have been active in letting others know about us. Hanna has met with Betty Seifert, the chief conservator at the state's new artifact conservation facility at Jefferson Patterson Park Museum. She also has been in contact with conservation training institutions to arrange for internships. In September, Hanna attended the IIC (International Institute for Conservation) Congress in Ottawa where she let fellow conservators know about our existence and attended presentations by members of the profession.
Doug has focused on the completion of the state-wide preservation planning project action plan which is now in print and ready for distribution. He spoke on September 16 to the Calvert County Historical Society on preservation priorities in planning a new county archives and met recently with the staff of the University of Maryland to discuss possible conservation and microfilming projects. He currently is working with Hanna to design two preservation workshops that we will hold in March and April of 1995.
THE ARCHIVISTS' BULLDOG
Vol. 8, No. 35
November 7, 1994
by Mimi Calver
On Saturday, October 22, Ed gave a talk at Hood College to the meeting of the Civil War Heritage Commission and the planning team for the National Museum of Civil War. He revealed one exciting result of this past summer's internship program research into sites in Baltimore relating to African-American history.
The centerpiece of this research was the discovery of the site of the Douglass Institute which was the premier institution established after the Civil War to promote education of blacks in Baltimore. The Institute also provided a meeting place for several African American organizations, including the Oddfellows and the Grand Army of the Republic. The building, now located at 210 East Lexington Street, had been overlooked by historic preservationists for a couple of reasons. After the Douglass Institute was dissolved, the Abells bought the building and gave it a new facade which indicated that the building had been built in 1890. This building, now called the Van Sant Building, also underwent a change of address in 1887 when all buildings in Baltimore were renumbered, so there is a lot of confusion about locations.
The Douglass Institute, aside from its important role in the education of black Baltimoreans, also figured in Baltimore history in other important ways. When Frederick Douglass returned to Baltimore for the first time, in 1865, it was for the opening of this institute. He also came back on May 19, 1870 for the celebration of the ratification of the XV Amendment to the Constitution which gave African American men the right to vote. At this event, as at the earlier event in 1865, Douglass gave an extraordinarily moving speech. After the parade, a ball was held at the Institute.
As exciting as this discovery doug is, Ed, Rocky, and Doug were able to delve even deeper into the history of the building, using records here at the Archives, especially the equity papers. They found that the building was originally built as a private school, later called Newton University. When they looked at the Sasche graphic of Newton University from 1864, they were delighted to find that the caption said that the building was a hospital for Union soldiers during the Civil War. This led to more research with the Surgeon General's records at the National Archives. As Ed's talk was to a group which was discussing the establishment of a museum of Civil War Medicine, this discovery was especially timely and fortuitous. Ed made the point in his talk that these discoveries could not have been made without the kinds of records we have at the Archives, especially the equity cases relating to the dissolution of Newton University and the Douglass Institute.
On Saturday, October 22, the second Genealogy Workshop was held here and, like the one in September, it was over sold. Pat Anderson and Bob Barnes again volunteered their time and talents to give the participants, who came from Maryland and Virginia, a good overview of the how to trace their ancestors. In response to comments from participants in the last workshop, we added an optional session at the end with Doug specifically on the records here at the Archives which included a tour of the search room. Staff will be interested in a comment from two of the participants, an English couple: "Of all the places we've been, and we have been to a lot, the Hall of Records is the best. The staff is always 'spot on' and very, very helpful."
These two workshops have raised almost $3,000 for the Archives and we are very grateful to Bob and Pat for their wonderful support.
LIBRARY REPORT, September 1994
by Shashi Thapar
Church Record for Anne Arundel Circuit of the Methodist Protestant Church, 1830-1894, 1994. 0430 REF A-2-5
Annapolis Historic District Commission. Building Towards the Fourth Century: Annapolis Historic District Design Manual, 1994. 1093 10-1-2
Anne Arundel County Public Library. 1994 Directory of Community Services, 1994. 1062 10-4-4
DeLeonardis, Lisa. Lakewood Drain Project: An Archaeological Investigation of Cultural Resources Associated with Harford Run Drain at American Can Company, Caton, Baltimore, MD, 1994. 1050 A3 8-2-3
Dilts, James D. Great Road: The Building of the Baltimore and Ohio, the Nation's First Railroad, 1828-1853, 1993. 1050 R2 9-1-3
Earp, Charles Albert. James Earp Family of Maryland, 1994. 0450 E REF C-2-1
Forbes, Edwin. Thirty Years After: An Artist's Memoir of the Civil War, 1993. 1750 15-1-6
Gannett, Henry. Gazetteer of Maryland and Delaware, 1994. 0902 7-4-4
Hardy, Beatriz Betancourt. Papists in a Protestant Age: The Catholic Gentry and Community in Colonial Maryland, 1689-1776, 1993. 1530 12-2-4
Heckewelder, Rev. John. History, Manners, and Customs of the Indian Nations Who Once Inhabited Pennsylvania & Neighbouring States, 1990 (1876). 1800 I2 15-4-2
Hobson, Fred. Mencken: A Life, 1994. 1055 M 9-4-2
Keller, Roger. Roster of Civil War Soldiers from Washington County, Maryland, 1993. 1081 10-2-5
Laney, Martha Frasher. Otho French Family Genealogy, 1993. 0450 F REF C-2-2
Lee, Jean B. Price of Nationhood: The American Revolution in Charles County, 1994. 1068 10-3-2
Marshalek, Jean Ray. Marshalek and Allied Families: Family History, 1994. 0450 M REF C-2-6
Martin, Patricia Rice. Rice Family: Bedford County, Pennsylvania, Cumberland Valley Township and Allegany County, Maryland, Bedford Valley, 1994. 0450 R REF C-1-4
Maryland State Archives. Maryland Manual 1994-1995, 1994. 1390 REF D-1-5
Maryland State Archives. Organization of Maryland State Government, 1994. 0604 REF D-1-5
National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in State of Maryland. Adventurers, Cavaliers, Patriots: Ancestors Remembered, 1994. 0460 2-4-6
Ringgold, Raymond H. Land Records of Delmont, Severn, Anne Arundel County, Maryland, 1704-1924, 1994. 1062 REF A-4-1
Robillard, Walter G. Clark on Surveying and Boundaries, 1994 Cumulative Supplement, 1994. 1800 C5
Searight, Thomas B. Old Pike: A History of the National Road with Incidents, Accidents, and Anecdotes Thereon, 1990 (1894). 1800 T3 16-4-3
Simpson, Alan. Mastering WordPerfect 5.1 & 5.1+ for DOS, 1994. 0380 Diane
Slaughter, Thomas P. Bloody Dawn: The Christiana Riot and Racial Violence in the Antebellum North, 1991. 1900 P1 16-3-3
Steffen, Charles G. From Gentlemen to Townsmen: The Gentry of Baltimore County, Maryland, 1660-1776, 1993. 1063 10-4-5
Warren, Marion and Mame. Bringing Back the Bay: The Chesapeake in the Photographs of Marion E. Warren & the Voices of Its People, 1994. 0908 8-4-3, REF A-3-3
EDUCATION AND OUTREACH REPORT, September/October 1994
by Doug McElrath and Rocky Rockefeller
Autumn is the season when historical, genealogical and educational organizations restart their programs after a summer hiatus, so the Education and Outreach staff has been žon the roadž a lot recently.
Two counties, Calvert and Prince George's, are beginning the planning process for constructing new repositories to hold historical collections. Doug spoke to the Calvert County Historical Society in Prince Frederick on September 16 and attended a meeting of the Prince George's Tri-Centennial Committee in Upper Marlboro on September 26 to express our interest in these projects and offer advice, particularly in the area of preservation. Doug also met with the Archives Committee of the John Carroll School in Bel Air on October 25 to outline basic steps and sources of information for establishing a school archives. Doug has been participating in the effort by the Museum Assistance Program of DHCD to expand its grant program. He attended a meeting on October 3 at the Carroll House in Annapolis where a legislative strategy was discussed. This program supports archival projects in institutions across the state.
Chris Haley, Mimi Calver, and Doug were all on hand to assist during the two Genealogy Workshops held on September 24 and October 22. Our volunteer instructors, Robert Barnes and Pat Anderson, attracted a capacity crowd for both events, and we received generally good feedback from those in attendance. On October 12 and October 20, Doug spoke to the Howard County and St. Mary's County Genealogical Societies on resources for genealogy at the Archives. On October 26, a local history class from Essex Community College whose primary interest was genealogy toured the Archives, and Doug attended a meeting of the Genealogy Committee of the Maryland Historical Society on October 11.
Educational outreach activities included hosting a teacher in-service workshop on Brown v. Board of Education, Topeka in the conference room on September 19 where Ed Papenfuse made a presentation based on the Murray document packet and on our NEH teacher's institute. Doug later led a tour of the building for some of the teachers. On September 29, 60 fourth graders from the Key School visited the Archives for a presentation by Doug that featured colonial documents. As a group exercise the entire class filled-in the blanks on a 17th-century indenture form which resulted in each student being žindenturedž to the teacher for seven years!
Rocky was the headliner for two sessions at the Maryland Council for Social Studies conference in Parole on October 21. His presentations on The Maryland State Archives, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and You and Teaching with Original Sources were important vehicles for promoting our Documents for the Classroom program. Bonnie Russo from Merganthaler Vocational School in Baltimore helped with the first presentation by talking about her real-life experience with the document packets with her students. Both Rocky and Doug staffed a table where teachers could examine and purchase document packets. The guest speaker was Dr. Donald Ritchie, Oral Historian of the U.S. Senate, who spoke about the changes he has seen in textbooks over the last twenty years, particularly their inclusiveness of race, gender, and class issues. Linda Adamson, a graduate from one of our teachers' institutes, recieved an award for excellence in teaching.
Rocky worked with other teachers both here at the Archives and in their schools. He visited a graduate from last summer's institute in Calvert County where Dawn Sheetz had set up an in-service program for all the high school teachers to learn about the Documents for the Classroom program. Efforts to work with Chip Adomanis and the Annapolis 300 program continue as we do research to prepare a document packet on the movement of the capital to Annapolis.
The internship program has been continued from the summer to the school year. Three college interns are working with Rocky and Ed to expand upon the summer discoveries. Emily Murphy, as summer intern from St. John's College, came back this fall as a volunteer. Charles Mallonee is working on his master's degree in education at Johns Hopkins and is receiving credit for minorities studies for his work here. Catherine Atnip is a senior at UMBC, where she is receiving history credit for her many hours here. Our program combines educational and professional experience as they conduct research and learn about archival functions. We hope to expand the internship program as more students become involved with our baseline activities as well as research projects.
Rocky joined Kevin at several Geographic Information Systems meetings. Kevin recently reported on those events, but everyone should be aware that our involvement with GIS activities fits in with our concerns for preservation of electronic records as well as our own research operations.
The Education Department provided assistance for the bicentennial commemoration of the Whiskey Rebellion by doing a little research and providing exhibit quality reproductions of related documents. Staff was asked to assist in a re-evaluation of a textbook on Maryland history.
In the area of professional activities, Doug is serving on the Program Committee for the MARAC (Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference) meeting to be held April 20 - 22, 1995 in Baltimore. The Committee met at the Baltimore Museum of Industry on September 7 and at the MARAC Meeting in Richmond on October 27. At the Richmond meeting, Doug and Kevin saw a number of Archives alumni including Ben Primer, Eileen Parris, Betsy Parkin Pittman, Diana Shenk, Gregg Kimball, Sarah Heron Turner, Mary Lacy, and Karen Stuart. The theme of the meeting was, The Changing Archival Environment: Through Women's Eyes. Both Cindy Swanson and Susan McElrath were on the program. Doug attended sessions devoted to the issue of access to archival information on the Internet and the preservation and management of ephemeral information in archival repositories.
THE ARCHIVISTS' BULLDOG
Vol. 8, No. 36
November 21, 1994
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS MONTHLY REPORT
Additions to Special Collection include the following:
MSA SC 4387: Gummersall Collection. 1901-1959. Correspondence relating to conservation and provenance of portrait of Anne Wolseley, 1901-1959. Original. Gift, Sarah Gummersall.
MSA SC 4388: Doolittle Collection. 1768 [20th century]. Map, [Charles Mason and Jeremiah Dixon], A Plan of the Boundary Lines Between the Province of Maryland and the Three Lower Counties on Delaware with Parts of the Parallel of Latitude which is the Boundary Between the Provinces of Maryland and Pennsylvania. Includes signatures of Maryland-Pennsylvania Boundary Commission. Facsimile. Gift, Bessie Doolittle.
MSA SC 4389: Forensic Club Collection. 1760-1767 [20th c.]. Transcript, minutes, Forensic Club, Annapolis, 1760-1766. Includes newspaper clippings relating to history of Forensic Club. Materials from collection of George Forbes. Originals located in MSA SC 182. Collection also includes bound transcript, 1760-1767 from Archives' library. Original, copies. Gift, transcript, George Forbes [MSA SC 182]. Copied by the Maryland State Archives.
MSA SC 4390: Dodd Collection. 1878 . Atlas, G.M. Hopkins & Co., Atlas of Anne Arundel County, Maryland. Facsimile produced as a joint project of the Ann Arrundell County Historical Society and the Anne Arundel Genealogical Society. Facsimile. Gift, Rosemary Dodd.
MSA SC 4391: Peter Force Collection. 1754-1843. Materials purchased by the Library of Congress from the Peter Force Library and placed on deposit with the Archives. For access, see ADMIRALTY COURT (Minutes) 1754-1782 [MSA S117]; AUDITOR GENERAL (Journal) 1778-1785, 1791-1795, 1821-1828 [MSA S150]; INTENDANT OF THE REVENUE (Letterbook) 1782-1787 [MSA S166]; TREASURER OF THE WESTERN SHORE (Journal of Accounts) 1780-1783, 1788-1810, 1824-1843 [MSA S606]; ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY COURT (Notary Public Record) 1799-1802 [MSA C119]; and BALTIMORE COUNTY COMMITTEE OF OBSERVATION (Proceedings) 1774-1776 [MSA C401]. Original. Deposit, Library of Congress.
MSA SC 4392: Luckenbach Collection. 1929. 200 Years with the Maryland Gazette (Capital-Gazette Press, Inc.). Original. Gift, Donna Ware Luckenbach.
MSA SC 4393: Maryland Historical Trust Collection. 1888. Convertible Mortgage Loan, Dorchester and Delaware Railroad Co. Original. Deposit, Maryland Historical Trust.
MSA SC 4394: Pilot Collection. 1840. Newspaper, Pilot (Baltimore: Duff Green) The Pilot began publication April 2, 1840 [v. 1, no. 1] and ceased May 2, 1840 [v. 1, no. 20]. Microfilm. Deposit, master negative, Enoch Pratt Free Library.
MSA SC 4395: Voice of the People Collection. 1836. Newspaper, Voice of the People (Baltimore: Central Reform Committee) The Voice of the People began publication on April 7, 1836 [v. 1, no. 1]. It was published weekly. Archives' collection includes issue for April 7, 1836 (MSA SC 162-643). Original. Gift, J. Alexis Shriver [MSA SC 162].
MSA SC 4396: Historic Annapolis Collection. Final report, Annapolis and Anne Arundel County, Maryland: A Study of Urban Development in a Tobacco Economy, 1649-1776 Lorena Walsh, project director, NEH #RS20199-81-1955. Copy. Deposit, Historic Annapolis.
MSA SC 4398: First United Presbyterian Church Collection. 1826-1962. First United Presbyterian Church (now Montebello Presbyterian Church), Baltimore City: registers 1826-1959; session minutes 1829-1962; congregation minutes 1874-1921; trustees minutes 1874-1962; church charter documents 1828-1961; property records 1921-1959. Microfilm.
MSA SC 4399: Wardlaw Collection. n.d. Post card, Lover's Leap, Cumberland, MD. Postcard probably belonged to the Dunham family who moved to Rogers, Arkansas ca. 1900. Original. Gift, T. V. Hilt, executor, Bea Wardlaw estate.
MSA SC 4400: Vannort Collection. 1877. Atlas, Lake, Griffin & Stevenson, Atlas of Kent and Queen Anne's Counties, Maryland. Atlas formerly belonged to Col. William J. Cannort and was presented to the Land Records Office, Kent County Court House, August 8, 1929 by J. Raymond Simpers, Dr. Henry G. Simpers, and Frank V. Simpers, nephews of Colonel Vannort. Original. Gift, Kent County Court House.
MSA SC 4401: Reed Collection. var. dates. Genealogical chart, Cromwells of Maryland, Kentucky, and Clay Co. Indiana 1667-1900; poster, "St. Clement's Island - the Ark and the Dove, March 1634" by S. Sklarevski Meaden, 1984. Original, copy. Gift, Dorothy Jackson Reed.
MSA SC 4402: Executive Bible Collection. 1856. Bible, English Version of the Polygott Bible (Philadelphia: J. B. Lippincott & Co.). Bible used for swearing in of the governors of Maryland and other public officials. Original. Additions to Special Collections microfilm include the following:
MSA SC 2635: Christ Church, St. Michael's Parish Collection. Parish register 1979-1993; vestry minutes 1975-1985; annual reports 1976-1985.
MSA SC 3873: William E. and Mary M. Murphy Collection of Robert Mills Journals and Papers, 1787-1873. Additions to existing Special Collections include the following:
MSA SC 1181: St. John's College Collection. The Gadfly 1987-1989. 2 vols.
MSA SC 1875: Trostel Architectural Collection. 37 microfilm boxes of architectural plans and specifications.
MSA SC 3492: Edward Winslow Martin, The History of the Great Riots. Being a Full and Authentic Account of the Strikes and Riots on the Various Railroads of the United States and in the Mining Regions...., 1877.
The Commission on Artistic Property was presented with the results of two historic paint analyses conducted by Catherine Masek, for the interiors of the House of Delegates lounge/Speaker's offices, and the Old Senate Chamber. These results will prove very important for any future restorations or re-interpretations of these historic interiors in the State House. The Colonial Encounters in the Chesapeake exhibit was installed in the Somerset County Library in Princess Anne by Mimi, Rob and Wilder. It was the centerpiece of the Olde Princess Anne Days celebrations and the opening reception attracted over 100 people. The official opening of the Annapolis Now and Then exhibit at the Annapolis Marriott has already generated numerous orders for prints from the Archives. Accession numbers appear with every caption, so patrons may come in with little more than a number. Descriptions for the photographs can be obtained by searching on the accession number in the PHOTOS database.
Press releases on the new Maryland Manual and the 1995 NEH-funded summer Teachers' Institute were sent out. Mame and Marion Warren appeared on the Fox Morning News to promote Bringing Back the Bay on October 13. Articles appeared throughout the month in local newspapers relating to the lecture series sponsored by the Maryland Humanities Council. Several mentioned Mame's position as curator of photographs at the Archives.
Nancy continued editing the Baltimore City chapter of the newspaper guide. She also prepared the Robert Mills Papers [MSA SC 3873] and the records of Christ Church [MSA SC 2635] for microfilming. Mrs. Filby completed the refoldering and reboxing of the Waring Collection [MSA SC 391] and began processing the William J. Tuck Collection [MSA SC 747]. Tuck was a Prince George's County lawyer whose legal papers concerned the settlement of estates in Prince George's, Anne Arundel, Charles and Calvert counties, ca. 1830-1860.
Mame's volunteers made processed additions to several existing collections, including
MSA SC 2140 [The Annapolis I Remember Collection], and
MSA SC 2796 [Copy photographs from Warren Photography Collection]. Item level databases for these collections were also updated. They also began work on several boxes of negatives of Marion Warren's commercial negative files, particularly photographs taken for architects. These negatives include aerial photographs taken before, during, and after construction of many major building projects in the Baltimore, Washington, and Annapolis regions during the last forty years. Marion Warren has spent several hours working with the volunteers to select the most valuable negatives and help identify and date images.
On October 4 Mame spoke to the Annapolis History Consortium about her new book, Bringing Back the Bay. Later the same day, she attended the formal opening of Pusser's Landing restaurant and the Annapolis Now and Then exhibit at the Marriott Waterfront Hotel in Annapolis. On October 5 Mame spoke to a photography class from Dundalk Community College about the photo collections at the Archives. Between October 6 and 29 Mame and her gave several lectures throughout the state, most of them centering on Bringing Back the Bay. The sites included the Decoy Museum in Havre de Grace, Calvert Marine Museum in Solomons as part of the Patuxent River Appreciation Days celebration, Charles County Community College in LaPlata, Historical Society of Montgomery County in Rockville, local branch of Frostburg State University in Hagerstown, Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum in St. Michaels, and Chesapeake Appreciation Days at Sandy Point State Park for the first Chautauqua lecture series. On October 15 Barnes and Noble held a booksigning for Marion and Mame Warren at their Annapolis Harbor store. On October 30 they joined 25 other Maryland authors for the Book Bash, a fundraising event in support of adult literacy, at Borders Bookstore in Towson.
On October 20 Elaine attended a Grants Workshop at the Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts. The workshop, sponsored jointly by the Maryland Humanities Council, Division of Historical & Cultural Programs, and State Arts Council, featured speakers from each of those organizations who described the availability of grants for various projects and the process through which to apply. On October 28 Elaine attended a lecture at the Charles Carroll House on the restoration of gilded frames and oil painting conservation. This lecture was part of the weekend program, "Arts and Antiques in Annapolis, "which also featured cabinetmaker Will Tillman who had on hand an eighteenth-century desk which may prove to be closely related to the John Shaw Senate desks in the Artistic Property collection.
Persons using Bringing Back the Bay, The Chesapeake in the Photographs of Marion E. Warren and the Voices of Its People should note that all the photographs are restricted. Although their accession numbers appear in the back of the book, no orders for the pictures can be taken. Please refer any inquiries to Mame Warren or Marion Warren.
by Pat Melville
During October several persons came to the search room looking for sources to check facts to be included in the Annapolis 300 calendar. Other Annapolis related topics concerned colonial Annapolis and the Hillsmere Club House. Other parts of the state being studied included Charles County and slave populations in St. Mary's County.
Legal subjects involved age related drinking laws and state revenue stamps. Other researchers were compiling a list of Baltimore City judges of the various courts at the circuit court level and a list of the sheriffs of Prince George's County. Biographical studies included John Hall, an architect in Baltimore, and Glenn L. Martin and his role in aviation in Maryland.
Statewide topics centered around woman's suffrage, historic landscapes, newspapers from 1890 to 1930, main streets in Maryland, and the Civil War. Revolutionary subjects included Maryland in 1775, burning of the Peggy Stewart, and Battle of Camden. A colonial military study concerned Fort Frederick in the French and Indian War. Chesapeake Bay studies involved the decline of oystering and life in 1920.
Other topics included the U.S. War Department from 1784 to 1800, migratory patterns and urbanism, U.S. Naval Academy, and tree planting in the 1920s.
The total number of researchers in October remained unchanged, 1304 compared to 1300 in October 1993. New patrons increased 7 percent, 426 compared to 398. Returning researchers declined 2.7 percent, 878 compared to 902.
The quantity of records used by the researchers decreased by 15.6 percent, 8207 compared to 9726. Library usage dropped 39.8 percent, 947 compared to 1573. Circulation of original records declined 32.1 percent, 2347 compared to 3456. Use of microfilm on the other hand rose 4.6 percent, 4913 compared to 4697. Activity on weekdays remained fairly constant, ranging from an average circulation of 395 on Thursdays to 410 on Tuesdays. The Saturday average of 333 qualified it as the slowest day of the week.
Photoduplication orders through the search room increased 7.4 percent, $2280.45 compared to $2122.40 in October 1993. Reader printer income rose 28.8 percent, $391.14 compared to $303.75. The significance of this latter increase is hampered by the transition from the old to the new printers, including dependence on the honor system for patrons to pay for their copies until the debit card system was installed. The truly good news, of course, was the arrival of the new reader printers, heralded by staff, volunteers, and patrons alike.
The mail program registered a 1.4 percent decline in October, 872 pieces of mail compared to 884 in 1993. The individual categories of mail fluctuated much more widely. Research letters dropped 35.2 percent, 59 compared to 91. Staff mail decreased 21.5 percent, 277 compared to 353. Letters with citations rose 7.5 percent, 57 compared to 53. Turn around mail increased 12.7 percent, 231 compared to 205. Administrative mail climbed 36.3 percent, 248 compared to 182.
Phone calls during October jumped 36.1 percent, 891 compared to 655 last year. The average number of calls was 45 per day, compared to 33 in 1993. In the past several months the total calls in a single day would reach the record of 63 periodically, but never go over that number. In October that record was surpassed not once, but twice in the same week. On the 11th there were 72 calls, and 64 on the 14th.
THE ARCHIVISTS' BULLDOG
Vol. 8, No. 37
Newsletter of the Maryland State Archives
December 5, 1994
ARCHIVES II TOUR
by Heather C. Ravanbakhsh
On Monday, November 21 much of the Archives staff took a field trip to Archives II in College Park where Rick Blondo, a former State Archives staff member, gave us a tour. Rick works in the User Services Division. His job involves orienting new researchers and also, fortunately for us, conducting tours! Most of the State Archives staff was amazed at the scale of archival work taking place at Archives II. Rick started off by showing us his computer workstation which runs on Windows. From his computer he can use dBase, Lotus, WordPerfect, and access Internet. His Internet menu lists archives from all over the United States. He even has the Maryland State Archives on his menu, although our bulletin board is not yet available. Rickžs office is a new researcheržs first stop. After meeting with Rick, a new researcher meets with an archivist specializing in his or her research topic, and then the researcher goes on to use the records in one of the research rooms.
The Archives II Research Complex has seven research rooms, one for each of the seven departments moved to College Park. The research rooms themselves are very airy and spacious. Most have a glass wall on one side that lets in natural light and provides a view of the woods. Each room has a speed dial phone that will link the researcher to any Archives branch in the United States. The research rooms together can hold 390 researchers, and so far, Archives II has been getting 450 per week. Each room has specialized copying facilities for its own particular media. We saw a researcher copying a segment of movie film onto his camcorder (if you forget your video equipment, you can rent anything you need in the Motion Picture, Sound and Video Room), and we saw an enormous photocopying machine for copying maps. The machine can a copy a map up to 36 inches wide and of infinite length.
Rick enlisted a staff member of the Cartographic and Architectural Department, Dan Jansen, to give us a tour of the Cartographic stacks. Dan began his tour by telling us that over half of their reference requests come through the mail. Their Department was closed for four months while they moved, and received 4,000 research letters the week they opened for research again. The stacks tour was particularly informative. The mobile shelving is specially designed for maps and film, and the shelves move electrically. While we were impressed by the shelving and the sheer vastness of the stacks, what caught most peopležs attention were the retrieval carts. The carts for moving maps had curved shelves to set the maps on. The inward curve keeps the maps from sliding off the cart. Archives II also uses light, mobile ladder carts. Rick is going to send Pat information on the company who custom built these carts.
Rick also showed us a records processing area, one of the two enormous conservation labs, staff lounges with wonderful views of the woods, the Health Center, the Fitness Center, and an area not usually scheduled on tours, the Office of the Archivist of the United States. The office was empty because the Acting Archivist is working out of D.C. This gave us a chance to view the 22-seat conference room (where each seat has a microphone for teleconferencing) and to snoop into the office bathroom (which is triple the size of the phone reference center). No one went out on the balcony, however, because it was pouring rain.
The tour ended at noon and some of the staff headed back to Annapolis, while others tested the food in the Archives II cafeteria. The tour was informative and enlightening to all who went and gave us a new perspective on the Hall of Records building and our service to patrons.
by Pat Melville
The Baltimore Museum of Industry sells post cards in its gift shop, as one might expect. One card features three images - a crane, a plane, and a tug boat, reproduced from color photographs. The view on the post card of the 1906 steam tug boat, S.S. Baltimore, now moored at the Museumžs pier, was taken by Betty deKeyser. The post card has been posted for viewing on the bulletin board at circulation.
The Maryland Historical Societyžs Committee on Genealogy recently announced the winners of two prizes for the best Maryland-related genealogical works. The Norris Harris Prize for the best source book was awarded to Bob Barnes for his new edition of Guide to Research in Baltimore City and County (Westminster: Family Line Publications, 1993). This edition contains a chapter on Baltimore City funeral homes and their records and an appendix listing selected articles from the Bulldog.
LIBRARY REPORT, October 1994
by Shashi Thapar
History of the Abell Family of Baltimore, 1913. 1055 A 9-1-2
Abbey Publications, Inc. North American Permanent Papers, 1994. 0525 Doug
Alderson, William T. Mermaids, Mummies, and Mastodons: The Emergence of the American Museum, 1992. 1800 M9 15-4-5
Andrews, Matthew Page. Poems of James Ryder Randall, 1910. 1800 L2 15-4-3
Barrow, Healan. Olney: Echoes of the Past, 1993. 1075 10-2-1
Bearman, David. Electronic Evidence: Strategies for Managing Records in Contemporary Organizations, 1994. 0508 Kevin
Brown, Roger H. Redeeming the Republic: Federalists, Taxation, and the Origins of the Constitution, 1993. 1734 14-3-2
Coldham, Peter Wilson. Complete Book of Emigrants, 1751-1776. 1993. 0425 REF A-2-4
Conservation Center for Art and Historic Artifacts. Managing a Mold Invasion: Guidelines for Disaster Response, 1994. 0525 Lab
Elkington, Nancy E. RLG Archives Microfilming Manual, 1994. 0525 Chris
Getty, Joseph M. Carroll Record Histories of Northwestern Carroll County Communities, 1994. 1066 10-3-1
Greene, Nathanael. Papers of General Nathanael Greene, vol. 7. 1994. 1055 G 9-3-3
Hahn, George. Towson: A Pictorial History of a Maryland Town, 1977. 1063 10-4-5
Hedstrom, Margaret. Electronic Records Management Program Strategies, 1993. 0508 Kevin
Holly, David C. Chesapeake Steamboats: Vanished Fleet, 1994. 1050 S4 9-1-4
Horn, James. Adapting a New World: English Society in Seventeenth-Century Chesapeake, 1994. 0908 8-4-3
Jones, Carleton. Lost Baltimore: A Portfolio of Vanished Landmarks, 1993. 1103 11-1-2
Marck, John T. Maryland: The Seventh State, A History, 1994. 0900 7-4-2
Maryland State Archives. Maryland Manual, 1994-1995. 1994. 1390 11-4-4
Miller, Lillian B. In Pursuit of Fame: Rembrandt Peale, 1992. 1055 P 9-4-3
Newbold, David M., Jr. Notes on the Introduction of Equity Jurisdiction into Maryland, 1906. 1050 L2 8-1-5
Petulla, Joseph M. American Environmental History: The Exploitation and Conservation of Natural Resources, 1977. 1800 E6 15-3-5
Polk, R. L. Polkžs Laurel (Prince Georgežs County, Maryland) City Directory, 1962. 1076 10-3-2
Ritzenthaler, Mary Lynn. Preserving Archives and Manuscripts, 1993. 0525 Doug
Skirven, Percy G. First Parishes of the Province of Maryland, 1994. 1500 12-4-5
Snyder, George E. Beyond the Game Plan, 1974. 1050 P7 9-1-2
St. Maryžs County Memorial Library. Index to Microfilm Collection of the St. Maryžs Beacon, 1886-1890, 1994. 0419 2-4-1
Steiff, Frederick Philip. Government of a Great American City, 1935. 1102 11-1-2
Vrooman, David M. Daniel Willard and Progressive Management on the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, 1991. 1050 R2 9-1-3
Wilson, Everett B. Marylandžs Colonial Mansions and Other Early Houses, 1965. 1050 H4 8-1-4
Wolman, Abel. Water, Health and Society: Selected Papers, 1969. 1050 W6 9-1-4
by Mimi Calver
On October 31, Ed spoke to the Catholic Schools Convention on the subject of "Close Encounters of the First Kind."
On November 17, Ed spoke at the Maryland Society of Colonial Waržs St. Cecelia's Day dinner on the "Forgotten Mothers of Maryland." This group meets twice a year, on St. Ceceliažs Day, and on Maryland Day.. St. Cecelia's Day (which is actually November 22) is the day when the Ark and Dove sailed set forth from the Isle of Wight and Maryland Day, March 25, of course, is the day on which they landed on St. Clement's Island. In addition, George Calvert married on St. Ceceliažs Day and named his son Cecelius, so Edžs talk was about the very important part St. Cecelia plays in the early iconography of Maryland.
Ed felt that his talk was a success because no one threw beaten biscuits at him but he found out later that beaten biscuits have gotten so expensive the club canžt afford them anymore! But he was told that he was the first person in the history of the club to be given a second chance to speak. He last addressed the group 20 years ago on Maryland Day.
On November 20, Ed spoke to the Baltimore County Historical Society on computerized access to the Archives, the information highway and surfing the Internet. As part of his talk, he gave a demonstration on a portable laptop of accessing the Archivesž bulletin board via computer. Although there were some flaws in the demonstration, the audience appreciated the Archivesž efforts to make its indices available by computer.
He was invited to speak by Dr. Charles Scheve, and two members of the society have given collections to us. Mrs. Lillian Jenifer has donated letters from George Washington and Samuel Chase. John McGrain is an authority on mills and milling and we are microfilming his collection of research and photographs.. We are also indebted to Claire Richardson whose comments to Ed prompted inclusion of the new masthead on the Bulldog.
STATE AND LOCAL RECORDS REPORT, October 1994
by State and Local Records Staff
October 1994 was a month when the District Courts kept us busy. Small batches of 1980-1981 civil dockets came from Charles and Howard counties. Criminal dockets, 1985-1990, arrived from Prince Georgežs and Wicomico counties. The major contributor was District 3, which includes the Eastern Shore counties of Caroline, Cecil, Kent, Queen Annežs, and Talbot. For all of these courts, our holdings are now considerably more up to date. The Transer notebooks contain the specifics about each series of dockets.
Microfilm transfers were fairly routine. Land records continue to be the most numerous series, but these numbers now are greatly enlarged by the number of older volumes being refilmed in Charles and Baltimore counties. The Charles County Circuit Court is sending the original volumes to us as the filming is completed. This means that PCM 1000 to DGB 1599, 1984-1991, are now in our collection.
Several elements relating to the wider promotion of reference services were on hold pending review by the staff. We expect to move quickly to spread the word about the entire range of reference services available at the Archives. We anticipate a positive response on the part of the public and private sectors.
Aperture card production shifted into overdrive with the first third of Montgomery Countyžs large order. Nearly 28,000 cards were printed and delivered to the vendor for mounting. Projected completion and delivery of this first set of cards was the first part of November. The first phase of the Wicomico County project was also completed with 25,000 cards delivered to the court. The guide to these plats is forthcoming. We are currently waiting for feedback on phase two, which will include the filming of the countyžs survey plats.
The project to reduce Department of Assessments and Taxation charter record film drew closer to completion with the delivery of the sixth and seventh (of nine) shipments. After the photolab inspects this film, it will be duplicated and delivered to the agency.
Progress continues on Allegany County plats, with all of the unaccessioned plats entered into the database. These previously rolled and tattered plats are steadily being mended, conserved, and stored in appropriate map room locations. Issues of filming and scanning are being discussed, with plans to begin production in the near future. Unaccessioned plats from Dorchester County have also been entered into the database, and editorial changes made using accession sheets and the courtžs index to the plats. Currently, this index is being keyboarded into an item-level database which will be used as means of comparison with those plats in the Archivesž possession.
The conference room is again a bastion of activity, as six keyboarders have been hired to bring the Maryland Deposit Insurance Fund records under database control. Mariana Toves, Debbie Ross, Sheila Simms, Sandy Macauley, Jennifer Brienza, and Terry Ott are working diligently at their task. Working under the supervision of Kris Lucas and Doris Byrne this superior sextet are busily creating folder level descriptions for several cubic feet of records each day. More records from the fund are expected to arrive in the next few weeks.
STATE AND LOCAL RECORDS REFERENCE REPORT, October 1994
by Kevin Swanson
The October total of 830 reference requests represents an 11.9% increase over the October 1993 total of 742. This increase in requests resulted in an 18.4% increase in the number of records circulated from 993 last October to 1176 in 1994. Once again more records were circulated in response to each individual reference request in October 1994 (1.4) than had been the case in October 1993 (1.3).
We received 16 more vital records requests in October 1994 (221) than in October 1993 (205). This represents a 7.8% increase in vital records requests. Circulation of vital records also increased by an impressive 24.8% (408 in October 94 compared to 327 in October 93). Circulation of district court records increased by 17.2% (286 in October 94 compared to 244 in October 93). The increase in reference demand for district court records was accompanied by an increase involving records of the circuit courts and other agencies. This category increased by 14.2% (482 in October 94 compared to 422 in October 93).
Overall, the judiciary continues as the largest single user of the Archives' reference services. Although the number of reference requests received from the courts decreased by 3.2% (209 in October 94 compared to 216 in October 93) the judiciary still accounted for 25.2% of all requests received in October 1994 (209 of 830), a decrease of 2.4% compared to October 1993's 27.6% (205 of 742).
The percentage of total requests received by phone increased in October, accounting for 32.2% of total requests (267 of 830) compared to 25.7% in October 1993 (191 of 742). The number of requests faxed to the Archives increased from 48 received in October 1993 to 71 in October 1994. Overall, fax requests made up 8.6% of the October 1994 total while accounting for only 6.5% of the October 1993 total. 30 fewer requests were generated from the search room (122) than had been the case in October 1993 (152). Search room requests accounted for 14.7% of October 1994 reference activity as compared to 20.5% in October 1993, a decrease of 5.8%. This is good news. Clearly, more of our patrons are making use of phone/fax and mail reference services in lieu of in-person visits to the Archives. In October 1994 phone/fax requests accounted for 40.7% of total requests, with the mail accounting for 44.5%. Revenue from reference activity was up 34.3%, $5591 compared to $4164. The number of copies produced decreased by 18.6% (2581 compared to 3169).
THE ARCHIVISTS' BULLDOG
Vol. 8, No. 38
Newsletter of the Maryland State Archives
December 9, 1994
Ed and Chris were invited to the annual meeting of the Maryland Deposit Insurance Fund (MDIF) where they were thanked for the good work that Kevin Swanson and Kris Lucas, with the help of Lynne MacAdam and Betsy Steele, have done to inventory and prepare for transfer to the Archives MDIFžs large collection of permanent records.
On December 9, Ed attended the Advisory Board of The Johns Hopkins University Medical Archives where he talked about the future of archives in the world of the Internet. He cited the pioneering work by The Johns Hopkins University Medical Systems, including the Welch Medical Library, and the National Archives.
BALTIMORE CITY EQUITY INDEXES
by Ellen Alers and Don Williams
The Archives recently acquired and filmed two equity indexes - BALTIMORE CITY CIRCUIT COURT (Equity Docket, Index) 1853-1982 [MSA T2566 and CM1295] and BALTIMORE CITY CIRCUIT COURT NO. 2 (Equity Docket, Index) 1888-1982 [MSA T2567 and CM1296]. The index books were in constant use while in the courthouse and are relatively delicate because of this handling. In addition they are quite heavy due to their size and metal bindings. For these reasons circulation of the indexes is limited to the film copies.
In order to use the indexes effectively it is necessary to understand how they are organized. Each court followed a different system. The Baltimore City Circuit Court records use a modified Burr record index where the entries are divided into sub-alphabetical groups under each letter of the alphabet. For example, names beginning with P will appear under the headings Pri-Prn, Pres-Prez, etc. The more common surnames are listed separately, coming immediately after the subgroups in which they belong. These exceptions are noted in the page headings, for example, žPri-Prn except for Price.ž Under each subgroup or common name the entries arranged chronologically, covering the full span of years, 1853-1982.
The Baltimore City Circuit Court No. 2 indexes contain four sets of records that are divided according to date spans: 1888-1929, 1930-1954, 1954-1965, and 1965-1982. The records use a modified vowel index where the entries are arranged alphabetically by the first letter of the surname, then the first vowel, and finally the next letter after the first vowel. For example, names beginning with P will appear under the headings Pia, Pib, Pic, etc. The Pic subgroup will include names such as Pickle and Price. Common names are retained in the appropriate subgroup. Under each subgroup the entries are arranged chronologically.
Each index entry for both courts gives the name(s) of the parties, the year the case was instituted, the docket reference consisting of book and page numbers, and the case number that includes a letter designation. A letter appearing before the number indicates the case originated in the Circuit Court. A letter after the number shows the case originated in Circuit Court No. 2. If a case number cannot be determined from the index, the docket can be used to ascertain the information.
REFERENCE REPORT, November 1994
by Pat Melville
The results of the general election generated several requests for information, including the name of the youngest woman elected to the General Assembly, the history of absentee ballots in Maryland, and the last close race for governor. Prior to the election a researcher was investigating congressional districts and election results.
Local history topics involved Severna Park, Howard County, Riverdale, and the seal of the town of North Beach. Building and site studies included the old Hall of Records Building, Brewer Hill Cemetery, Sandy Point farmhouse, and William Paca House and Gardens. Military subjects concerned the mobilization of troops for World War I in Maryland, Union troops billeted at St. Johnžs College in Annapolis, and the Battle of Antietam.
Miscellaneous topics included screwpile lighthouses in the Chesapeake Bay, biography of Harriet Tubman, the Mason-Dixon Line, executions in Maryland, St. Paulžs Church in Baltimore City, and the coldest temperature recorded in Maryland.
Circulation in the search room declined slightly by 3.5 percent, 7609 records compared to 7883 in November 1993. The use of original material fell 17.7 percent, 1910 compared to 2321. The circulation of library books rose 18.3 percent, 933 compared to 789. Microfilm figures remained steady, 2766 reels compared to 4773. The busiest day of the week was Friday with an average circulation of 498. The slowest day was Wednesday with an average of 369.
The total number of researchers climbed dramatically, up 28.6 percent, 1097 compared to 853 last year. Returning patrons increased 29.3 percent, 789 compared to 610. New researchers rose 26.7 percent, 308 compared to 243. A comparison of the researcher and circulation statistics revealed a drop in the number of records being used by individual researchers. In November 1993 each patron was using an average of 9 records per visit. A year later that figure has decreased to 7.
With the installation of the third reader printer and the debit card system in early November, reader printer income shot up 209.6 percent, $1019.25 compared to $329.25 in 1993. Photoduplication orders in the search room rose 11.1 percent, $2255.70 compared to $2030.15.
Activity in the mail program fell off considerably in November, down 37.3 percent, 608 pieces of mail compared to 969 last year. Staff letters declined 54 percent, 166 compared to 357. Turnaround letters decreased 33.8 percent, 172 compared to 260. Letters with citations fell 27.6 percent, 55 compared to 76. Research letters decreased 16.3 percent, 77 compared to 92. Administrative mail went in the opposite direction, rising 64.3 percent, 138 compared to 84.
Phone calls in November climbed 35.8 percent, 857 compared to 631 in 1993. There were an average of 45 calls per day. The heaviest day was the 22nd with 59 calls. In the middle of the month a plan was devised to handle reference calls during the lunch hour, resulting in a more timely response to people who require copies of records or general information.
THE ARCHIVISTS' BULLDOG
Vol. 8, No. 39
Newsletter of the Maryland State Archives
December 19, 1994
by Mimi Calver
On December 13, Ed spoke to about 50 members of the Washington Map Society at the Library of Congress Geography and Map Division. The Society is an organization of private collectors and curators of map collections. The title of Ed's talk was Charting the Unknown and Mapping the Misunderstood: The Cartographic History of the Chesapeake Bay Watershed from the Earliest Recorded Encounters. Ed began his remarks by explaining how grateful he was to be invited to speak to the Society at the Library of Congress because he has such warm memories of working with the staff of the Geography and Map Division on the Hammond-Harwood House Atlas of Historical Maps of Maryland that he published in 1982 with Joe Coale. He also noted that the work that the Archives is doing with regard to its own spectacular Huntingfield Map Collection is derived from the model way in which the Geography and Map Division in managed.
EDUCATION AND OUTREACH REPORT November 1994
by Doug McElrath and Rocky Rockefeller
Doug's outreach activities in November included a meeting on November 3 with Bud Dutton of the Prince George's Tricentennial Committee to discuss resources at the Archives that may be helpful to the various research and publications projects that will be part of the tricentennial celebration in 1996. On November 7, Doug provided orientation for interested members of the Baltimore County genealogy group that came for our special search room opening. On November 28 he spoke to the Pikesville Lions Club on the need for greater awareness about the preservation of historic books and records.
Rocky worked on Maryland State Geographic Information Coordinating Committee, Geographical Information Systems (MSGIC GIS) activities with Kevin and Diane, passing along new electronic preservation regulations, contributing to surveys and GIS resource catalogues, and planning to participate in future conferences. Interns carried on the research work of the summer, learning more about the Douglass Institute building and Civil War hospitals in Baltimore. Rocky worked with Chip Adomanis on educational plans related to the Annapolis 300 celebrations, and helped with research related to that topic.
by Lynne MacAdam
Shashi has completed her annual update of the topic file index available on the search room computer. Carson Gibb has added over 500 more names to his SETTLERS index (see Bulldog, Vol. 8, No. 36 for description of SETTLERS). Both of these indexes are now available on the computers i the search room.
There is a new addition to the computer indexes. The Military Department maintains service records of all officers and enlisted persons who have served or are serving in the Maryland National Guard. MILITARY DEPARTMENT (Service Records, Maryland National Guard) 1888-1959 MSA S 1500 may contain enlistment papers, correspondence, physical examination reports, re-enlistment papers, training progress reports, photos, promotion records, assignments, and transfers. Most files seem to contain only 1-3 pieces of paper. Prior to implementation of the Dick Act of 1916 files were arranged alphabetically by enlistees' name. The Archives has two boxes of these files, identified as E1 and E2 in the index. Beginning in 1917 unique file numbers known as Bates numbers were assigned to records at the time of an individual's separation from the Guard. The Archives currently has 300 boxes of service records arranged by Bates number.
The series is indexed in MILITARY DEPARTMENT (Service Records, Maryland National Guard, Index) 1888-1959 MSA S 1499 and is available in WordCruncher as mdGUARD. Individuals are identified by name, Bates number, and date of birth. Entries also indicate the box number and its location.
STATE AND LOCAL RECORDS REPORT November 1994
by State and Local Records Staff
The conference room crew continued to progress with the keyboarding of Maryland Deposit Insurance Fund (MDIF) records, challenging one another to increase their totals each day. Thus far, they have inventoried 80 cubic feet. Reshelving of the oversized plats has become a new focus of Geographical Services as the long rolled plats are being systematically flattened and assigned a new location in B5. This task addresses issues of both preservation and space management, as shelves currently used for the rolled plats will slowly be made available for other plats.
Several Allegany County plats of consistent quality and size were sent to the photolab for filming. After evaluating these images, they will be mounted in aperture cards for the court. The oversized and extremely fragile plats will be sent to Crowley Micrographics for filming at varying reduction ratios determined by the differing sizes of plats.
The inventory of Wicomico County survey plats compiled by Ellen from plats found in the court's cabinets have been keyboarded into the subdivision database. In January, the county will begin to send us these plats for filming and mounting into aperture cards. The clerk's office is pleased to have the Guide to Wicomico County Subdivision Plats available for reference use in Salisbury.
November also saw the delivery of nearly 28,000 aperture cards to the Montgomery County Circuit Court. While this figure seems impressive, it should be noted that this is just a third of the order. The remaining two sets (totaling nearly 56,000) of aperture cards were printed and sent out for mounting.
United Microlabs, in conjunction with PFA, Inc., continued to deliver reduced charter record film from the Department of Assessments and Taxation. By the end of the month, this project had almost drawn to a close, with just one more shipment of reductions expected. Reaction to the results has been positive.
As part of a continuing effort to make our more heavily used record series more accessible to staff and the public, Ellen arranged for the filming of ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY CIRCUIT COURT (Equity Docket, Index) 1972-1977 [MSA CM 97]. With the completion of this filming project we now have a complete run of equity docket indexes from Anne Arundel County for 1852 to 1977. This should help expand our access to the heavily used series of (Equity Papers) 1851-1985 [MSA S70 and T71] and (Divorce Papers) 1913-1989 [MSA T1319].
Records transfers were fairly routine this month, generally adding to series already in our collection. We did receive a large number of volumes from the Prince George's County Circuit Court including (Equity Record) 1815-1928 [MSA T2591] and (Land Records) 1885-1900, 1966 [MSA T714].
STATE AND LOCAL RECORDS REFERENCE REPORT, November 1994
by Kevin Swanson
The November total of 781 reference requests represents a 4.5% decrease from the November 1993 total of 818. Surprisingly, this decrease in requests was accompanied by a 31.5% increase in the number of records circulated, from 1070 last November to 1407 in 1994. Once again, more records were circulated in response to each individual reference request this month (1.8) than had been the case a year ago (1.3).
We received 34 fewer vital records requests in November 1994 (196) than in November 1993 (230). This represents a 14.8% decrease in vital records requests. Circulation of vital records also decreased, but only by a modest 1.9% (354 in November 1994 compared to 361 in November 1993). Circulation of district court records again increased, this time by an impressive 38.2% (264 in November 1994 compared to 191 in November 1993). The increase in reference demand for district court records was accompanied by an increase involving records of the circuit courts and other agencies. This category of reference activity increased by 52.3% (789 in November 1994 compared to 518 in November 1993). Much of this increase can be attributed to the large number of autopsy reports requested by the Medical Examiner's Office in Baltimore as part of a study it is conducting. The judiciary continues as the largest single user of State and Local Records Program reference services. Although the number of reference requests received from the courts remained steady (183 in November 1994 compared to 182 in November 1993) the judiciary still accounted for 23.4% of all requests received in November 1994 (183 of 781), an increase of 1.2% compared to November 1993's 22.2% (182 of 818), and for 22.2% of total records circulation (313 of 1407).
The percentage of total requests received by phone again increased in November, accounting for 32.8% of total requests (256 of 781) compared to 30% in November 1993 (246 of 818). The number of requests faxed to the Archives increased from 20 received in November 1993 to 57 in November 1994. Overall, fax requests made up 7.3% of the November 1994 total while accounting for only 2.4% of the November 1993 total. Twenty nine fewer requests were generated from the search room (110) than had been the case in November 1993 (139). Search room requests accounted for 14.1% of November 1994 reference activity as compared to 17% in November 1993, a decrease of 2.9%.
Clearly, more of our patrons in both the public and private sectors are making use of phone/fax and mail reference services in lieu of in-person visits to the Archives. I expect phone/fax requests (313) eventually to overtake the number of requests received through the mail (358) and through in-person visits (110). In November 1994 phone/fax requests accounted for 40.1% of total requests, with the mail accounting for 45.8%.
Revenue from reference activity was down 3%, $6035 in November 1993 compared to $5854 in November 1994. The number of copies produced decreased by 7.8% (3343 in 1993 compared to 3082 in 1994).
Return to Bulldog homepage
Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!