Archives of Maryland
(Biographical Series)

Marshall E. Price (white)
MSA SC 3520-13744
Lynched in Harmony, Caroline County on July 2, 1895

Sources:


Newspaper Articles -

"A Schoolgirl Murdered." The Baltimore Sun, 27 March 1895.

"A Mysterious Crime." The Baltimore Sun, 28 March 1895.

"The Caroline Tragedy: Funeral of Miss Sallie Dean, the Schoolgirl victim." The Baltimore Sun, 29 March 1895.

"The Dean Murder." The Baltimore Sun, 30 March 1895.

"Horrible and Mysterious Murder." The Denton Journal, 30 March 1895.

"The Caroline Tragedy: Detectives and Others Busy Investigating the Dean Murder." The Baltimore Sun, 1 April 1895.

"Caroline County: The Dean Tragedy." The Baltimore Sun, 2 April 1895.

"The Caroline Tragedy: Marshall Price Charged with Miss Dean's Murder." The Baltimore Sun, 5 April 1895.

"A Rumored Confession." The Baltimore Sun, 6 April 1895.

"Who Killed Poor Sallie Dean?" The Denton Journal, 6 April 1895.

"Sallie Dean's Murder: The Body Exhumed on Sunday with an Autopsy Held." The Baltimore Sun, 8 April 1895.

"Sallie Dean's Murder: An Effort to Have Corkran Released - Result of the Autopsy." The Baltimore Sun, 9 April 1895.

"The Dean Murder: Grand Jury Investigation - Physicians Concur in Their Report." The Baltimore Sun, 10 April 1895.

"The Dean Tragedy: Release of Mr. Corkran - Indictment of Marshall E. Price." The Baltimore Sun, 11 April 1895.

"To Be Tried for Murder Most Foul." The Denton Journal, 20 April 1895.

"No Danger of Mob Violence." The Denton Journal, 20 April 1895.

"The Trial of Marshall E. Price." The Denton Journal, 27 April 1895.

"Murder of Miss Dean: Price, Who Is Charged with the Crime, Conveyed to Denton." The Baltimore Sun, 30 April 1895.

"Prince's Trial Begun." The Baltimore Sun, 1 May 1895.

"Fighting for His Life." The Baltimore Sun, 2 May 1895.

"Price Found Guilty." The Baltimore Sun, 3 May 1895.

"Price to Be Hanged." The Baltimore Sun, 4 May 1895.

"Guilty of Murdering Sallie Dean." The Denton Journal, 4 May 1895.

"Price Makes a Full Confession." The Denton Journal, 11 May 1895.

"Talk Abot 'Homicidal Mania.'" The Denton Journal, 18 May 1895.

"Concerning the Price Petition." The Denton Journal, 1 June 1895.

"The Sheriff Reads the Warrant." The Denton Journal, 8 June 1895.

"Efforts to Save Price's Neck." The Denton Journal, 22 June 1895.

"Judgment Against Price Stands." The Denton Journal, 29 June 1895.

"Price Lynched." The Baltimore Sun, 3 July 1895.

"The Price Lynching: Approved by a Great Many People in Caroline County." The Baltimore Sun, 4 July 1895.

"The Remains of Marshall E. Price Placed in the Grave." The Baltimore Sun, 5 July 1895.

"The Price Lynching: Mr. Taylor's Criticism of The Sheriff - Stat's Attorney Jump Explains." The Baltimore Sun, 6 July 1895.

"Sallie Dean's Murderer Lynched." The Denton Journal, 6 July 1895.

"Marshall Price Gets a Reprieve." The Denton Journal, 6 July 1895.

"The Lynching of Price." The Denton Journal, 6 July 1895.


Books -

Darling, William E.  The Murder of Sallie E. Dean.  Denton, MD:  Baker Printing Co., 1971.


Return to Introductory Page


This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright Wednesday, 29-May-2019 11:15:15 EDT Maryland State Archives