Moyer wins election as next mayor
                    Democrat's margin over McMillan is 700 in unofficial totals; First woman
                    to head city; 4 incumbents returned to city council, which will have 3

                    By Amanda J. Crawford
                           Sun Staff
                           Originally published November 7, 2001

                    In a nearly citywide victory, Democrat Ellen O. Moyer defeated
                    Republican Herbert H. McMillan to become the next mayor of Annapolis
                    and the first woman to head the historic city.

                    Last night's unofficial totals showed that Moyer defeated McMillan by
                    about 700 votes, winning every ward except two - downtown Ward 1
                    and McMillan's Ward 5.

                    Moyer, 65, who has served as Ward 8 council representative from
                    Eastport for 14 years, launched a well-financed and highly organized
                    campaign against the tough-shooting McMillan, who knocked incumbent
                    Mayor Dean L. Johnson out of the race in the Sept. 11 primary.

                    She will preside over the city's first majority-female council, with women
                    holding the posts in Wards 1, 2, 3 and 6.

                    Standing on stage last night overlooking a small banquet room packed
                    with several hundred supporters, Moyer thanked those who backed her,
                    saying she was in awe of people's willingness to help.

                    "What I learned in our campaign talking to people will guide me" during
                    the term, she said. "I'm pleased and so proud to be your leader."

                    Even before the last precinct reported, the crowd started cheering and
                    chanting "Moyer! Moyer!" The supporters spilled out of the warm room
                    at Carrol's Creek Restaurant in Eastport, talking on cellular phones,
                    shaking hands and hugging each other.

                    Those attending the gathering included state legislators, former mayors,
                    state officials and County Executive Janet S. Owens, who declared to a
                    cheering audience, "Women rule in Anne Arundel County!"

                    Moyer, a retired lobbyist for the Maryland State Teachers Association,
                    easily beat four challengers in the Democratic primary, including former
                    Mayor Alfred A. Hopkins.

                    McMillan, who conceded the election in a speech before friends, family
                    and supporters in his Hunt Meadow home, then went to Moyer's victory
                    party to congratulate her in person. He talked to her privately and left.

                    Before joining Moyer, McMillan spoke to the large crowd gathered at his
                    home in a voice hoarse from days of campaigning.

                    "We congratulate our opponent, and we look forward to the next four
                    years," McMillan told them. "We should not have any long faces tonight.
                    We have done our very best."

                    The 43-year-old Naval Academy graduate, professional airline pilot and
                    Navy Reserve commander promised to continue to "frame the debate"
                    during Moyer's term and left the door open for future political runs in the
                    city or beyond, saying "we will [win] next time."

                    Meanwhile, four incumbents were returned to their seats on the city
                    council, which will maintain its 7-2 Democratic majority, and include three
                    African-Americans, the most minority members at once on the council.

                    In Ward 1, voters re-elected eight-year Alderman Louise Hammond, a
                    Democrat. She defeated Isaac Opalinsky, 25, the state's first Green Party

                    Former city police officer George O. Kelley, a Democrat, defeated
                    incumbent Republican Alderman Joseph Sachs in Ward 4, which was
                    significantly altered by this summer's redistricting.

                    McMillan's Ward 5 seat will go to Republican David H. Cordle Sr., chief
                    investigator for the Anne Arundel County state's attorney's office. He
                    defeated independent Wilford Scott, an art historian who heads the city's
                    planning commission.

                    Ward 6 voters re-elected Alderman Cynthia Carter, a Democrat who
                    narrowly won the seat in a 1997 write-in campaign, despite a
                    two-pronged challenge from Republican Riccardo Paradiso and
                    independent Julie Stankivic.

                    Democrat Joshua Cohen, who at 28 will be the city's youngest official,
                    was elected to fill the seat vacated by Moyer, who had endorsed him as
                    her chosen successor. He defeated real estate agent Robert McWilliams,
                    a Republican who challenged Moyer four years ago.

                    The incumbents in Wards 2 and 7, Democrat Sheila M. Tolliver and
                    Republican Michael W. Fox, ran uncontested in their wards. Classie Gillis
                    Hoyle, who defeated 20-year Alderman Samuel Gilmer in the Ward 3
                    Democratic primary, also was unopposed in the general election.

                    There were 312 absentee ballots issued citywide, which are not expected
                    to alter the outcome of any of the races. The ballots, which will be
                    counted today, could affect whether Moyer indeed won in Ward 2 and
                    McMillan in Ward 1.

                    The new mayor and council will take office Dec. 3.

                    Sun staff writer Laura Barnhardt contributed to this article.

                    Copyright © 2001, The Baltimore Sun