Archives of Maryland
(Biographical Series)

Brian E. Frosh
MSA SC 3520-12167

Born in Washington, DC, October 8, 1946. Attended Montgomery County public schools; Walter Johnson High School; University of Stockholm, 1966-67; Wesleyan University, B.A., 1968; Columbia University School of Law, J.D., 1971. Admitted to Maryland Bar, 1972; District of Columbia Bar, 1972. Married; two children.

General Assembly:
House of Delegates, District 16 (Montgomery County), 1987-1995; Democrat. Member, Environmental Matters Committee, 1987-1994; Tort and Insurance Reform Oversight Committee, 1988-1993; Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics, 1991-1994. Chair, Montgomery County Delegation, 1991-1993. State Senate, District 16 (Montgomery County, 1995-present; Democrat. Chair, Judicial Proceedings Committee, 2003-present. Member, Executive Nominations Committee, 2003-present; Legislative Policy Committee, 2003-present (management subcommittee, 2003-2015); Special Committee on State Employee Rights and Protections, 2005-present; Joint Oversight Committee on the Department of Juvenile Services, 2006-present. Vice-Chair, Rules Committee, 2007-2015 (member, 2003-2015). Senate Chair, Joint Committee to Study Mandates on Local Government, 1995-1997. Member, Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee, 1995-2003 (ad hoc subcommittee on ethics & election law, 1997-2001; ad hoc subcommittee on procurement, 1999-2001; chair, environment subcommittee, 1995-2003); Joint Committee on Chesapeake Bay Critical Areas, 1995-2003. Co-Chair, Article 66B (planning & zoning) Study Commission, 1999-2000. Co-Chair, Special Committee on Gaming, 2001. Member, Senate Committee on Redistricting, 2001-2002. Deputy Majority Leader, 2001-2003. Member, Special Commission on Legislative Prayer, 2003; Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer, 2003, 2007. Chair, Senate Special Commission on Medical Malpractice Liability Insurance, 2004. Member, Maryland Green Caucus, 1996-2015; Maryland Bicycle and Pedestrian Caucus, 2003-2015.

Private Career and Other Public Service:
Attorney in private practice, 1976-present. State legislative liaison, Maryland Department of Employment and Social Services, 1971-1972. Legislative assistant, U.S. Senator Harrison A. Williams, Jr., of New Jersey, 1972-1976. Member, National Advisory Council, U.S. Small Business Administration, 1981-1982. Member, Charter Review Commission, Montgomery County, 1983-1986. Member, Governor's Work Group on Acid Deposition, 1988-1989; Governor's Energy Task Force, 1991-1993. Member, Task Force to Review the State's Election Law, 1995. Board of Trustees, Maryland Environmental Trust, 1995-1997. Member, Maryland Recycling Advisory Group, 1995-1997; State Economic Growth, Resource Protection, and Planning Commission, 1995-2003; U.S. Clean Air Act Advisory Committee, 1996-2002; Blue Ribbon Citizens Pfiesteria Commission, 1997; Task Force to Study Retail Electric Competition and the Restructuring of the Electric Utility Industry, 1997-1998; Nutrient Management Advisory Committee, 1998-2003; Study Commission on Lobbyist Ethics, 1999-2000; Smart Codes Strategy Group, 1999-2000 (steering committee, 1999-2000); Oil Spill Prevention Advisory Committee, 2000; Task Force on the Environmental Effects of Methyl Tertiary-Butyl Ether (MTBE), 2000-2001; Task Force on Energy Conservation and Efficiency, 2001. Chair, Chesapeake Bay Commission, 2001 (member, 1995-present; vice-chair, 1999). Member, Chesapeake Executive Council, 2001; Environmental Restoration and Development Task Force, 2003; State Advisory Council on Water Security and Sewerage, 2004; Climate Change Commission, 2007-present. Member, National Conference of State Legislatures (environment & natural resources committee, 2005-2007; agriculture, environment & energy committee, 2007-2008; law & criminal justice committee, 2007-present; agriculture & energy committee, 2008-present; environment committee, 2008-present); Southern Legislative Conference (energy & environment committee, 2008-present). Member, Maryland State and Montgomery County Bar Associations. Board of Directors, State National Bank of Maryland, 1976-85. Board of Directors, Jewish Community Center of Greater Washington, 1983-89. Executive Committee, Wesleyan University Alumni Association, 1986-89. Board of Directors, Hebrew Home of Greater Washington, 1986-94. Director, Clean Air Trust, 1995-. Delegate, Democratic Party National Convention, 2000. Board of Directors, Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology. Conservationist of the Year, Sierra Club of Maryland, Delaware and District of Columbia, 1989. Lawmaker of the Year, American Lung Association of Maryland, 1991. Public Official of the Year, Audubon Naturalist Society, 1999. Leadership and Outstanding Service Award, Maryland State Bar Association, 2001. John V. Kabler Memorial Award, Maryland League of Conservation Voters, 2003. John R. Hargreaves Legislative Fellow, Salisbury University, 2007. Champion for Children, Department of Human Resources and Maryland State Bar Association, 2010. Recipient, First Citizen Award, 2011. Attorney General of Maryland, 2015-present.

Return to Brian E. Frosh's Introductory Page

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright December 04, 2014 Maryland State Archives