The Honorable Robert C. Murphy

Judge Robert C. Murphy portrait painting by Cedric Egeli.  Photo by Joannette Egeli. In Memoriam...

The Hall of Records Commission and the Staff of the Maryland State Archives mourn the loss of the former long-time Chairman of the Commission, the Honorable Robert C. Murphy.  During his tenure as chairman, the present Hall of Records building was constructed and the archival program achieved a nationally recognized standard of public service.  His support and friendship will be missed. 

thin black line
Photo Gallery
Judge Murphy (second from left) helps to break ground for the new Hall of Records Building.
Judge Murphy (second from left) helps Governor Harry Hughes, Comptroller Louis Goldstein, and others break ground for the new Hall of Records building, completed in 1984. 
The Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building, Annapolis, Maryland.
The Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building Annapolis, Maryland
Plinth dedicating the Court of Appeals building to Judge Murphy. A close-up of the plinth dedicating the Court of Appeals building to Judge Murphy.
Plinth dedicating the Courts of Appeal building to Chief Judge Robert C. Murphy.
Judge Murphy with Roots author Alex Haley at the retirement of senior archivist Phebe Jacobsen.
Judge Murphy with senior archivist Phebe Jacobsen and Roots author Alex Haley at Mrs. Jacobsen's retirement celebration, 1990. 
The unveiling of Judge Murphy's official portrait.

Official portrait of Judge Robert C. Murphy unveiled by Chief Judge Robert M. Bell, at the unveiling ceremony, October 9, 1997.
Portrait of Judge Murphy by Cedric Egeli.

In memory of our friend
Chief Judge Robert C. Murphy
Portrait by Cedric Egeli 
MSA SC 1545-2949

Maryland State Archives
Edward C. Papenfuse, Ph.D., State Archivist and Commissioner of Land Patents,
Christopher N. Allan, Deputy State Archivist

Hall of Records Commission:
Hon. Robert M. Bell, Chief Judge, Maryland Court of Appeals Chairman
Hon. Richard N. Dixon, Treasurer of Maryland
Hon. William Donald Schaefer, Comptroller of the Treasury
Hon. Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate
Hon. Mary A. Conroy, House of Delegates
Hon. Peta N. Richkus, Secretary, Department of General Services
Stanard T. Klinefelter, Esq., President, Maryland Historical Society
William R. Brody, M.D., Ph.D., President, The Johns Hopkins University
Donald N. Langenberg, Ph.D., Chancellor, University of Maryland System
Christopher B. Nelson, J.D., President, St. John's College
Earl S. Richardson, Ed.D., President, Morgan State University

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

© Copyright June 09, 2005 Maryland State Archives