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(1) A nonrefundable investigation fee [of $100] SET BY THE
COMMISSIONER: and

(2) A license fee [of either:

(1) $1,000 1f the applicant applies for a license to be 1ssued on or
after January 1 and on or before December 31 of an even—-numbered year;

(11) Effective January 1, 1999, $500 if the applicant applies for a
license to be 1ssued on or after January 1 and on or before December 31 of an
odd—numbered year; or .

(111) Notwithstanding subparagraph (1) or (11) of this paragraph,
$1,000 i1f the applicant applies for a license to be 1ssued on or after October 1, 1997 and
on or before December 31, 1997] SET BY THE COMMISSIONER.

11-508.

-(a) An applicant for a new license or for the renewal of a license shall file a
surety bond with each original application and any renewal application for the license.

(b)  The surety bond shall:

(1) Run to the Commissioner and be for the benefit of any mortgage
loan borrower who has been damaged by a violation committed by a licensee of any
law or regulation governing the activities of mortgage lenders;

(2) Be 1ssued by a surety company authorized to do business in the
State;

(3)  Be conditioned that the applicant shall comply with all Maryland
laws regulating the activities of mortgage lenders and mortgage loan lending; and

(4) Be approved by the Commaissioner.

(c) If an applicant has not conducted a mortgage lending business any time
during the 36 months prior to the filing of an original application for a license, the
applicant. shall provide a sworn statement setting forth that fact|, and shall file with
the original application a surety bond in the amount of $15,000]}.

(d) (1) If an applicant has conducted a mortgage lending business any
time during the 36 months prior to the filing of an original or renewal application, the
applicant shall provide a sworn statement setting forth the aggregate principal
amount of mortgage loans secured or to be secured by property located in Maryland
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