SB. 184 VETOES

with a penalty of $150 for each vehicle without the required security for a period of 1
to 30 days. If a fine is assessed, beginning on the 31st day the fine shall increase by
a rate of $7 for each day.

(i) Each period during which the required security for a vehicle
terminates or otherwise lapses shall constitute a separate violation.

(iii) The penalty imposed under this subsection may not exceed
$2,500 for each violation in a 12~month period.

(2) (i} A penalty assessed under this subsection shall be paid as
follows:

1. 70% to be allocated to the Vehicle Theft Prevention Fund,
the Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund, THE MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION
ENFORCEMENT FUND, and the General Fund as provided in subparagraph (ii) of this
paragraph; and

2. 30% to the Administration.

(ii) The percentage of the penalties specified under subparagraph
(i) of this paragraph shall be distributed as follows:

1. $2,000,000 to the Vehicle Theft Prevention Fund
established under Article 88B, § 74 of the Code;

2. The amount distributed to the Maryland Automobile
Insurance Fund in the prior fiscal year under the provisions of this subparagraph
adjusted by the change for the calendar year preceding the fiscal year in the
Consumer Price index - All Urban Consumers ~ Medical Care as published by the
United States Bureau of Labor Statistics to the Maryland Automobile Insurance
Fund; [and]

3. $3006;606 $400,000 TO THE MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION
ENFORCEMENT FUND EACH FISCAL YEAR, STARTING IN FISCAL YEAR 1999 AND
CONTINUING THROUGH FISCAL YEAR 2003; AND

4.  The balance to the General Fund.

(3) If the Administration assesses a vehicle owner or co—owner with a
penalty under this subsection, the Administration may not take any of the following
actions until the penalty is paid:

(i} Reinstate a registration suspended under this subsection;

(ii) Issue a new registration for any vehicle that is owned or
co—owned by that perszon and is titled after the violation date; or

(iii) Renew a registration for a vehicle that is owned or co—owned by
that person and is titled after the violation date.
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