Ch.2 1992 LAWS OF MARYLAND

[(3)1(2) A fiduciary may not use the standard deduction.
10-804.

(e) Each person required under this subtitle to file an income tax return or
estimated income tax declaration or return shall:

(3) attach to an income tax return or otherwise file with the Comptroller any
records or statements that the Comptroller requires, including:

(1) for an individual who has income tax withheld from salary, wages,
or other compensation for personal services, or other payments, a copy of the statement
from the person who withholds the tax that states:

1. the amount of salary, wages, or other compensation for
personal services paid and the income tax withheld; or

2. the amount of payments made and the income tax withheld;
AND

(i) a copy of the federal income tax return:
1. for a corporation; and
2. if the Comptroller requests, for an individual [; and

(iii) for a married couple who files a joint federal income tax return and
elects to file separate income tax returns under this title, a schedule that reconciles the
separate income and deductions of each spouse to the joint federal adjusted gross income
and deductions shown on the federal return].

10-807.

A husband and wife {may] WHO FILE A JOINT FEDERAL INCOME TAX
RETURN SHALL file a joint MARYLAND income tax return.

SECTION 3. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That the Laws of Maryland
read as follows:

Article - Tax — General
10-10s.
(a) The State income tax rate for an individual is:
(1) 2% of Maryland taxable income of $1 through $1,000;
(2) 3% of Maryland taxable income of $1,001 through $2,000;
(3) 4% of Maryland taxable income of $2,001 through $3,000; [and]

(4) 5% of Maryland taxable income [in excess of $3,000] OF $3,001
THROUGH THE APPLICABLE DOLLAR AMOUNT DETERMINED UNDER
SUBSECTION (D) OF THIS SECTION; AND
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