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(2) Has not been convicted of a felony or of a misdemeanor for which a
sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been imposed or, if convicted of
such a crime, has been pardoned or has been granted relief pursuant to Title 18, § 925(c)
of the United States Code; and

(3) Has not been commiited to any detention, training, or correctional
institution for juveniles for longer than one year after an adjudication of delinquency by
a juvenile court; provided, however, that a person shall not be disqualified by virtue of
this paragraph (3) if, at the time of the application, more than ten years has elapsed since
his release from such institution; and

(4) Has not been convicted of any offense involving the possession, use, or
distribution of controlled dangerous substances; and is not presently an addict, an
habitual user of any controlled dangerous substance not under legitimate medical
direction, or an alcoholic; and

(5) Has, based on the results of investigation, not exhibited a propensity for
violence or instability which may reasonably render his possession of a handgun a danger
to himself or other law—-abiding persons; and

(6) Has, based on the results of investigation, good and substantial reason to
wear, carry, or transport a handgun, provided however, that the phrase “good and
substantial reason” as used herein shall be deemed to include a finding that such permit
is necessary as a reasonable precaution against apprehended danger.

(b) Fhe (1) EXCEPT AS PROVIDED IN PARAGRAPH (2) OF THIS
SUBSECTION, THE Superintendent may charge a nonrefundable fee not to exceed
[$25] $235 $75 FOR AN INITIAL APPLICATION, $166 $50 FOR A RENEWAL OR
SUBSEQUENT APPLICATION, AND $10 FOR A DUPLICATE OR MODIFIED
PERMIT payable at the time an application [for a permit or renewal of a permit]} is
filed. The fee may be paid with a personal check, business check, certified check, or
money order. [All fees collected by the Superintendent shall be credited to a special fund
for the account of the Maryland State Police. The expenses of administering the
provisions of this section, except for the per diem compensation and expenses of the
Handgun Permit Review Board, shall be paid from the special fund, but nothing shall
preclude the Governor from including General Fund appropriations in the executive
budget for such purposes if the special fund is inadequate therefor.] Notwithstanding the
above fees, costs paid by the Maryland State Police in securing records from any other
source shall be charged to the applicant; however, the charges assessed against the
applicant may not exceed the fee charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation to the
Maryland State Police for a fingerprint card record check.

(2) THE SUPERINTENDENT MAY NOT CHARGE ANY STATE,
COUNTY, OR MUNICIPAL PUBLIC SAFETY EMPLOYEE, WHO 1S REQUIRED
TO WEAR OR CARRY A HANDGUN AS A CONDITION OF GOVERNMENT
EMPLOYMENT, A FEE FOR AN INITIAL APPLICATION, FOR A RENEWAL OR
SUBSEQUENT APPLICATION, OR FOR A DUPLICATE OR MODIFIED PERMIT
FOR THAT HANDGUN,
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