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Retirement System of the State of Maryland or the Employees’ Pension System of the
State of Maryland under Title 22 or Title 23 of this article;

(vi) a State Police officer while a member of the State Police
Retirement System under Title 24 of this article;

(vii) a law enforcement officer while a member of the Law
Enforcement Officers’ Pension System under Title 26 of this article; or

(viii) an employee while a member of the Maryland Transit
Administration Plan under § 7-206 of the Transportation Article.

(b) (1) A retiree may enroll and participate in the health insurance benefit
options established under the Program if the retiree:

(i) ended State service with at least 10 years of creditable service
and within 5 years before the age at which a vested retirement allowance normally
would begin; :

(ii) ended State service with at least 16 years of creditable service;
(iii) ended State service on or before June 30, 1984;

(iv) retired directly from State service with a State retirement
allowance on or after July 1, 1984, and had at least 5 years of creditable service; or

(v) retired directly from State service with a State disability
retirement allowance on or after July 1, 1984.

(2) (1) The surviving spouse or dependent child of a deceased retiree
who was eligible to enroll may enroll and participate in the health insurance benefit
options established under the Program as long as the spouse or child is receiving [an]
A PERIODIC allowance under Division II of this article OR THE MARYLAND TRANSIT
ADMINISTRATION RETIREMENT PLAN UNDER § 7—206 OF THE TRANSPORTATION
ARTICLE.

(ii) Subparagraph (i) of this paragraph does not apply to a deceased
retiree’s spouse or dependent child who receives an Option 1, Option 4, or Option 7
benefit under Division II of this article OR A LUMP-SUM PAYMENT OF BENEFITS
UNDER THE MARYLAND TRANSIT ADMINISTRATION RETIREMENT PLAN UNDER §
7-206 OF THE TRANSPORTATION ARTICLE.

() (1) If aretiree receives a State disability retirement allowance or has 16
or more years of creditable service, the retiree or the retiree’s surviving spouse or
dependent child is entitled to the same State subsidy allowed a State employee.

(2) In all other cases, if a retiree has at least 5 years of creditable service,
the retiree or the retiree’s surviving spouse or dependent child is entitled to 1/16 of
the State subsidy allowed a State employee for each year of the retiree’s creditable
service up to 16 years.

(3) Notwithstanding paragraph (2) of this subsection and subsection
(a)(4)(@) of this section, if a retiree is an additional employee or agent of the State
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