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delivered it to the other person indicated on or about the date stated is prima facie
evidence that the person had custody and made the delivery as stated, without the
necessity of a personal appearance in court by the person signing the statement.

12-302.
(¢} In a criminal case, the State may appeal as provided in this subsection.

(3) () In acase involving a crime of violence as defined in [§ 643B of
Article 271 § 14-101 OF THE CRIMINAL LAW ARTICLE, and in cases under [§§ 286 and
286A of Article 271 §§ 5-602 THROUGH 5-609 AND §§ 5612 THROUGH 5-614 OF THE
CRIMINAL LAW ARTICLE, the State may appeal from a decision of a trial court that
excludes evidence offered by the State or requires the return of property alleged to
have been seized in violation of the Constitution of the United States, the
Constitution of Maryland, or the Maryland Declaration of Rights.

12-401.

(d (1 A defendant who has been found guilty of a municipal infraction, as
defined in Article 23A, § 3(b)1) of the Code or a Code violation under [Article 27, §
403] ARTICEE-2B—§-239-107-efthe-Code § 10-119 OF THE CRIMINAL LAW ARTICLE, may
appeal from the final judgment entered in the District Court.

(2Y The costs and procedures for taking the appeal shall be as provided
for appeals from criminal cases in the District Court,

(3) Except, however, as provided in subsection {f} of this section, the
appellate court shall docket and hear the appeal as a civil appeal from the District
Court.

Article - Criminal Law
1-401.

In a trial for counterfeiting, issuing, disposing of, passing, altering, stealing,
embezzling, or destroying any kind of instrument, or THEFT BY THE obtaining OF
property by false pretenses, it is sufficient to prove that the defendant did the act
charged with an intent to defraud without proving an intent by the defendant to
defraud a particular person.

3-702.

(by  If the value of the property is [greater than] $500 OR MORE, a person who
violates this section:

(1) is guilty of the felony of extortion and on conviction is subject to
imprisonment not exceeding 10 years or a fine not exceeding $5,000 or both; and

(2) notwithstanding any pardon, shall be barred permanently from
employment by the State or by a county, municipal corporation, bicounty agency, or
multicounty agency.
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