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by wrongful use of actual or threatened force, or violence or by wrongful threat of
economic injury. This section does not apply to legitimate efforts by employees or their
representatives to obtain certain wages, hours or working conditions. A prosecution
for the felony offense under this section shall be instituted within 5 years after the
offense was committed.

562C.

Every officer or employee of the State of Maryland, a county, Baltimore City, a
municipality, or bicounty or multicounty agency, who obtains or attempts to obtain, by
extortion, from any person a sum of money, real or personal property, or any thing of
value that exceeds [$300] $500, is guilty of a felony and shall be fined not more than
$5,000 or imprisoned not more than ten years or both and, notwithstanding any
pardon, shall be permanently barred from employment by the State of Maryland, any
county, municipality, or bicounty or multicounty agency. If the property extorted does
not exceed [$300] $500, it is a misdemeanor and the punishment shall be limited to a
fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment for six months or both. For the purpose of
this section, “extortion” means the wrongful obtaining of the property from another
with his consent, which consent was obtained under color or pretense of office or
under color of official right, or by wrongful use of actual or threatened force, or
violence, A prosecution for the felony offense under this section shall be instituted
within 5 years after the offense was committed.

643B.

(a) As used in this section, the term “crime of violence” means abduction;
arson in the first degree; kidnapping; manslaughter, except involuntary
manslaughter; mayhem and maiming, as previously proscribed under §§ 384, 385,
and 386 of this article; murder; rape; robbery UNDER § 436-4-487%-0R-§488 OR § 487 OF
THIS ARTICLE; [robbery with a deadly weapon;] carjacking or armed carjacking;
sexual offense in the first depgree; sexual offense in the second degree; use of a
handgun in the commission of a felony or other crime of violence; an attempt to
commit any of the aforesaid offenses; assault in the first degree; and assault with
intent to murder, assault with intent to rape, assault with intent to rob, assault with
intent to commit a sexual offense in the first degree, and assault with intent to
commit a sexual offense in the second degree, as these crimes were previously
proscribed under former § 12 of this article.

The term “correctional institution” includes Patuxent Institution and a local or
regional jail or detention center.

Article 88B - Department of State Police
12A.

(a) (8) “Qualifying crime of violence” means:

(1) A violation of Article 27, § 35C of the Code that involves sexual
abuse;

(ii) Rape in any degree;
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