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SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That Section(s) 8-807 and
8-808, respectively, of Article — Correctional Services of the Annotated Code of
Maryland (as enacted by Chapter {H.B. 11} of the Acts of the General Assembly
of 1999) be renumbered to be Section(s) 8-801 and 8-802, respectively.

SECTION 3. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That the Laws of Maryland
read as follows:

Article 27 — Crimes anﬂ Punishments
[139.

(a) (1) If any individual who is legally detained in the State penitentiary or
a jail, house of correction, reformatory, station house, or other place of confinement in
this State or who is committed to the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration for
examination or inpatient treatment escapes, the individual is guilty of a felony and on
conviction by the circuit court for the county in which the escape takes place, is
subject to confinement in the State penitentiary or a jail or house of correction for an
additional period not exceeding 10 years. The sentence imposed under this subsection
shall be consecutive to any sentence which was being served at the time of the escape,
or any sentence which had been imposed but was not yet being served at the time of
sentencing. on the escape. A sentence imposed under this subsection may not be
suspended

" (2) () The folloWing are places of confinement for the purposes of this

section:

v

. 1.  Detention centers and youth centers ,operated by the
Department of Juvemle Justice;

2. The programs for committed delinquent or detained youth
at the Chartes H. Hickey, Jr. School, the Thomas O’Farrell Youth Center, the
Doncaster Famhty, and the Victor Cullen Center and

3. The programs for commltted delinquent youth operated by
the Department of Juvenile Justice at the Cheltenham Youth F acility.

. (11) The sentence for escape from a facility dealgnated in this
parag'raph that does not involve an assault may not exceed confinement for 3 years.

(3) If any individual escapes from a facility of the Department of Health
and Mental Hygiene after commitment as incompetent to stand trial or not criminally
responsible,. the individual is guilty of a felony and on conviction is subject to
confinement in the State penitentiary or a jail or house of correction for a period not
exceedmg 10 years.

(b) An escapee who is convicted under subsectmn (a)(l) of this section is liable
for all expenses incurred in the return of the escapee to the jurisdiction of the Division
of Correction, State penitentiary, or a jail, house of correction, reformatory, station
house, other place of confinement in this State, or the Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Admmlstratlon The Commissioner, sheriff, or dlrector of the appropriate fac1]1ty
shall notify the returned escapee of any charges. A hearing shall be granted to any
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