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SECTION 10. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That Section(s) 552(a), (b),
and (c) of Article 48A - Insurance Code of the Annotated Code of Maryland be repealed
and reenacted, with amendments, and transferred to the Session Laws, to read as follows:

MEDICAL MUTUAL LIABILITY INSURANCE SOCIETY OF MARYLAND
[552.]1 1

(a) Prior to the expiration of 15 days from June 1, 1975, the State Board of
Physician Quality Assurance shall certify to the State Treasurer a list of all licensed
physicians as shown in the records of the State Board of Physician Quality Assurance as
of June 1, 1975.

(b) A special one—time tax for the privilege of practicing medicine in Maryland is
levied on licensed physicians listed by the State Treasurer in accordance with subsection
{(a) in the amount of $300 per licensed physician, to be levied, assessed, and collected by
the State Treasurer. The tax does not apply to any licensed physician who submits a
statement, sworn to under penalties of perjury, stating that he has permanently
terminated the active practice of medicine in the State of Maryland or that he is a
physician serving in the employment of the federal government or any agency thereof and
does not otherwise practice medicine in the State of Maryland or to any licensed
physician who submits a statement, sworn to under penalties of perjury, stating that he is
practicing medicine as a volunteer for no remuneration at a clinic not operated for profit
and stating that he is not otherwise engaged in the private practice of medicine in the
State of Maryland or to any resident student physician whose services are not billed
separately. The statement shall be in form established by the State Treasurer.

(c) The legislature appropriates and dedicates the proceeds of the tax provided by
[this subtitle] TITLE 24, SUBTITLE 2 OF THE INSURANCE ARTICLE as the initial
policyholders’ surplus of the [Society] MEDICAL MUTUAL LIABILITY INSURANCE
SOCIETY OF MARYLAND. After retaining an amount to pay the cost of collection the
Treasurer and Comptroller shall promptly pay over the proceeds of the tax to the Society.

REVISQOR’S NOTE: This section formerly was Art. 484, 552(a), (b}, and (c).

Former Art. 48A, § 552(a), (b), and (c) required the State Board of Physician -
Quality Assurance to certify a list of all licensed physicians as of June 1, 1975,
levied a special one-time tax of $300 for the privilege of practicing medicine in
the State, established exceptions to the payment of the tax, dedicated the
proceeds of the tax, and required the Treasurer and Comptroller to pay over
the proceeds of the tax to the Society. These provisions are transferred to the
Session Laws because of their limited and diminishing applicability. The
provisions are not obsolete at this time becanse a physician may be entitled to
credit against liability for a membership fee paid under these provisions. See §
24-208(b) of the Insurance Article.

The only changes are in style,
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