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(i) - Reinstate a registration suspended under this subsection;

(ii) Issue a new registration for any vehicle that is owned or co~owned -
by that person and is titled after the violation date; or ~ :

(iii) Renew a registration for a vehicle that is owned or co-owned by
that person and is titled after the violation date.

(4) (i) In this paragraph, “family member” means any individual whose
relationship to the vehicle owner is one of those listed under § 13-810(b)(1) of this article
as bemg exempt from paying the excise tax imposed on the transfer of a vehicle.

(ii) The monetary penalties prowded 1n this subsection may not be
avoided by transferring title to the vehicle.

‘(iii) Regardless of whether money or other valuable consideration is
involved in the transfer, if title to a vehicle is transferred by an ‘individual who has
violated this subtitle to a family member, any suspension of the vehicle’s registration that
occurred before the transfer shall continue as if no transfer had occurred and a new
registration may not be issued until the penalty fee is paid.

(5) An amount equal to the monetary penalties paid to the Administration
under paragraph (2) of this subsection may be used by the. Administration only for the
enforcement of this subtitle.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That-the Laws of M‘aryland
read as follows:

Article — Transportation
17-106.

(e) (1) () In addition to any other penalty provided for in the Maryland
Vehicle Law, if the required security for a vehicle terminates or otherwise lapses during
its registration year, the Administration may assess the owner of the vehicle with a
penalty of $150 for each vehicle without the required security for a.period of 1 to 30 days.
If a fine is assessed, beginning on the 31st day the fine shall increase by a rate of $7 for
each day.

(ii) Each period during which the required security for a vehicle
terminates or otherwise lapses shall constitute a separate violation. .

(iii) The penalty imposed under this subsection may not exceed $2 500
for each vxolauon in a 12-month period.

(2) () A penalty assessed under this subsection shall be paid 'as follows:
1.  [Of the initial $150 collected: -

A. 90%] 70% to be allocated to the Maryland Automobile
Insurance Fund and the General Fund as prov1ded in subparagraph (ii) of this paragraph
and

[B.] 22 [10%] 30% to the Administration{; and
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