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(b) [After July 1, 1983, each] EACH insurer or other provider of required security
immediately shall notify the Administration of [only] those terminations or other lapses
that are final [and oceur within the first 6 months of any required security issued to or
provided for a resident of this State].

(c) On receipt of a notice under subsection (b) of this section, the Administration
shall make a reasonable effort to notify the owner of the vehicle that his registration has
been suspended.

(d) (1) Within 48 hours after an owner is notified by the Administration of the
suspension of registration, the owner shall surrender all evidences of that registration to
the Administration.

(2) If the owner fails to surrender the evidences of registration within the
48-hour period, the Administration:

(i)  Shall attémpt' to recover from the owner the evidencés of
registration; and

(ii) May suspend his license to drive until he returns to the Motor
Vehicle Administration the evidences of registration.

{(¢) (1) (i) In addition to any other penalty provided for in the Maryland
Vehicle Law, if the required security for a vehicle terminates or otherwise lapses during
its registration year, the Administration may assess the owner of the vehicle with a
penalty of $150 for each vehicle without the required security for a period of 1 to 30 days.,
If a fine is assessed, beginning on the 31st day the fine shall increase by a rate of §7 for
each day.

(i) Each period during which the required security for a vehicle
terminates or otherwise lapses shall constitute a separate violation.

(iif) The penalty imposed under this subsection may _hot exceed $2,500
for each violation in a 12-month period.

(2) A penalty assessed under this subsection shall be paid to the Maryland
Automobile Insurance Fund and the Administration as follows:

(i)  Of the initial $150 collected:

l. 90% to the Uninsured Division of the Maryland Automobile
Insurance Fund; and A

2. 10% to the Administration; and
(if)y Of any amount collected that is over $150:

1. 50% to the Uninsured Division of the Maryland Automobile
Insurance Fund; and

2. 50% to the Administration. -
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