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Ch. 66 1993 LAWS OF MARYLAND

Section 18-601
Annotated Code of Maryland
(1992 Replacement Volume)

SECTION 1. BE' IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF
MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

Article — Education
18-601.
(a) (1) In this section the following words have the meanings indicated.

(2) [“Child” means a person who is at least 16 years old and under the age
of 24 years.

(3)] “Disabled public safety employee” means a State or local public safety
employee who sustains an injury in the line of duty that:

(i) Precludes the individual from continuing to serve or be employed
~as a State or local public safety employee; and

(ii) In the case of a volunteer member of a fire department or
ambulance or rescue company or squad, precludes the member from continuing to be
employed in the nonpublic safety occupation in which the member is engaged at the time
of the injury.

[(4)1(3) “Surviving spouse” means a person who has not remarried.
[(5)1(4) ““State or local public safety employee”” means a person who is:
(i) A career or volunteer member of a:
1.  Fire department;
2. Ambulance company or squad; or
3. Rescue company or squad;
(ii) A law enforcement officer;
(iii) A correctional officer; or

(fv) A member of the Maryland National Guard who was a resident of
this State at the time of death.

(b) There is a program of scholarships that are awarded under this section.
(c) The program is the Edward T. Conroy Memorial Scholarship Programi.

(d) A person may apply to the Administration for a scholarship under this section
if the person:

(1) Is [the child] AT LEAST 16 YEARS OLD AND A SON OR DAUGHTER of
a member of the armed forces who was a resident of this State at the time the parent:

- 1080 -




