Ch. 155 LAWS OF MARYLAND

CHAPTER 155
(House Bill 10)
AN ACT concerning
Vehicle Laws - Driving While Intoxicated - Penalty
FOR the purpose of altering the amount of a fine that may be

imposed for a second conviction for driving while
intoxicated.

BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,

Article - Transportation

Section 27-101(k)

Annotated Code of Maryland

(1987 Replacement Volume and 1988 Supplement)

SECTION 1. BE 1IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF
MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

Article - Transportation
27-101.

{k) Any person who 1is convicted of a violation of any of
the provisions of § 21-902(a) of this article ("Driving while
intoxicated"):

(1) For a first offense, shall be subject to a fine
of not more than $1,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1
year, or both;

(2) For a second offense, shall be subject to a fine
of not more than [$1,000] $2,000, or imprisonment £for not more
than 2 years, or both; and

(3) For a third or subsequent offense, shall be

subject to a fine of not more than $3,000, or imprisonment for
not more than 3 years, or both.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT rURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall
take effect July 1, 1989.

Approved May 5, 1989.




