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(ii) Any employee of any law enforcement agency
of the State of Maryland, or any county, incorporated city or
town, or other municipal corporation; or

(iii) A correctional officer of the Baltimore
County Detention Center, the Baltimore City Jail or of the
Charles County Detention Center.

(b) An employer may not demand or require any applicant for
employment or prospective employment or any employee to submit to
or take a polygraph, lie detector or similar test or examination
as a condition of employment or continued employment. The
prohibition of this section does not apply to the federal
government or any agency thereof.

(c) All applications for employment shall contain the
following notice:

“Under Maryland law an employer may not require or demand
any applicant for employment or prospective employment or any
employee to submit to or take a polygraph, lie detector or
similar test or examination as a condition of employment or
continued employment. Any employer who violates this provision
is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a fine not to exceed
$100."

This notice shall be set ocut in bold faced upper case type
and be separately acknowledged by the signature of the applicant.

(d) Upon written -complaint by an applicant for employment
OR AN EMPLOYEE of an alleged violation of this subtitle, the
Commissioner of Labor and Industry may cause an investigation to
be made as to the existence of the alleged violation.

(e) If the Commissioner determines that a violation exists,
he 1is authorized to endeavor to resolve any issue involved under
said violation by informal methods of mediation and conciliation,
or he may institute, on behalf of any aggrieved applicant for
employment OR AN EMPLOYEE, action in any court of competent
jurisdiction in the subdivision in which the violation occurred
seeking injunctive relief or other relief including money
damages, resulting from the vioclation under this subtitle.

(£) The Attorney General is authorized to prosecute all
civil cases arising hereunder which are referred to him by the
Commissioner for that purpose.

(g) Any employer whe violates the provisions of this
subtitle is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a fine not to
exceed $100.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall
take effect July 1, 1986.




