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compensation, the [Director] COMMISSION shall levy against the
award an assessment to supplement the Fund. The assessment shall
be equal to 10 percent of the amount of compensation awarded or
likely to be awarded and unpaid, but 1in no case shall the
assessment exceed $4,500.

(2) If an employee dies as a result of an accidental
injury or occupational disease that arises out of and in the
course of his employment and without any surviving dependent, the
[Director] COMMISSION on expiration of the time period within
which a claim may be filed under this article, shall assess the
insurer or self-insured [employee] EMPLOYER $4,500.

(3) This subsection does not apply to any award
against the Subsequent Injury Fund.
SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall
take effect July 1, 1985.

Approved April 9, 1985.

CHAPTER 40
(House Bill 117)

AN ACT concerning
Personal Property Tax - Exemption - Leased Farming Implements

FOR the purpose of exempting the leased farming implements of a
farmer from State, county, and certain municipal corporation
personal property valuation and taxation; providing for the
retroactive application and effect of this Act; providing
for the effective date of this Act; and generally relating
tco the personal property taxation of farming implements.

BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments,

Article 81 - Revenue and Taxes

Section 9A(a)

Annotated Code of Maryland

(1980 Replacement Volume and 1984 Supplement)

BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,

Article 81 - Revenue and Taxes

Section 9A(1i)

Annotated Code of Maryland

(1980 Replacement Volume and 1984 Supplement)




