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[(a)] (B) "Animal shelter" means any facility owned by,
operated by, or under contract to Washington County for the
purpose of caring for animals.

[(b)] (C) "At large" means off the premises of the owner
and not under the control of the owner or a responsible person.

(D) "SHERIFF" INCLUDES DEPUTY SHERIFFS.

1A-2.

(a) The owner of a horse may not allow his horse to be at
large in Washington County.

(b) If the owner of a horse violates [§ 1A-2] SUBSECTION
(a) OF THIS SECTION, the owner shall be assessed a civil penalty
of $25 for the first offense, $100 for the second offense, and
$500 for each offense after the second offense, to be paid within
1 month of the violation.

(c) The Sheriff [and deputy sheriffs] shall enforce the
provisions of this section by serving a violation notice on a
person who violates [§ 1A-2] SUBSECTION (a) OF THIS SECTION. The
notice shall state:

(1) The time, location, and nature of the violation;

(2) The amount of the civil penalty imposed and the
amount to be imposed if subsequent violations occur; and

(3) The name of the court [(of competent jurisdictionl]
that will provide a hearing upon request.

(d) (1) The Sheriff [and deputy sheriffs] may also enforce
[§ 1a-2]) THIS SECTION by impounding a horse at large and by
taking the horse to any animal shelter.

(2) The Sheriff [or deputy sheriff] who impounds a
horse shall use reasonable effort to locate and notify the owner
of the horse.

(3) The animal shelter shall keep the horse for not
less than 10 weekdays unless the owner claims and redeems the
horse prior to the 10 weekdays or unless the horse 1is sick or
injured.

(4) The owner of an impounded horse may redeem the
animal by establishing ownership and paying impoundment expenses
at the animal shelter. (1982, ch. 72.)
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All repealed by Ch. 150, Acts of 1972.
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