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(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of this subsection, no tax is paid on
issuance of any certificate of title if the owner of the vessel for which a certificate of
title is sought was the owner of the vessel prior to June 1, 1965, or paid Maryland
sales and use tax on the vessel as required by law at the time of acquisition. The
Department may require the applicant for titling to submit satisfactory proof that the
applicant owned the vessel prior to June 1, 1965.

(d) Ifthe tax is not collected by a licensed dealer pursuant to § 8-716.1 of this
subtitle, the owner, whether or not applving for the issuance of a title, shall remit the
tax directly to the Department within 30 days of the date of sale or, in the case of a
vessel purchased outside the State, within 30 days of the date upon which the
possession within the State became subject to the tax.

(e) A person is not required to pay the tax provided for in subsection (c) of this
section resulting from:

(1) A transfer between members of the immediate family as determined
by Department regulations;

(2) Atransfer to a licensed dealer of a vessel for resale, rental, or leasing
purposes;

(38) The holding of a vessel that is titled or numbered in another state or
is federally documented, provided:

(1) The vessel is held for resale or listed for resale by a licensed

dealer; and

(ii) The vessel owner signs an affidavit that there will be no use of
the vessel on the waters of the State other than for a sea trial;

(4) Purchase of a vessel by the State or any political subdivision;

(5) Purchase of a vessel by an eleemosynary organization which the
Secretary has approved;

(6) The purchase within the State of a vessel if the owner paid or
incurred a liability for the Maryland sales and use tax on the vessel prior to July 1,
1986;

(7) The possession within the State of a vessel which was purchased
outside the State if the owner paid or incurred a liability for the Maryland use tax on
the vessel prior to July 1, 1986;

(8) The possession of a vessel in the State that is not used or to be used
principally on the waters of the State and for which the issuance of a title is not
sought or required under this subtitle, except that:

(i) A vessel is not deemed used on the waters of the State if the
vessel is used for 90 days or less of a calendar year; and
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