HARRY HUGHES, Governot 1153

FOR the purpose of permitting gifts to be made under the
Maryland Uniform Gifts to Minors Act to persons who
have attained the age of 18 years but who have not
attained the age of 21 years at the time of the gift;
clarifying the duties of a custodian of a gift to a
donee where the donor has directed that delivery be
made upon the donee's attaining the age of 21 years;
clarifying the effect of the death of the custodian in
cases where the minor has a guardian; and specifying a
particular effective date for this Act.

BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,

Article - Estates and Trusts

Section 13-301(m), 13-304(d), and 13-307(d)
Annotated Code of Maryland

(1674 Volume and 1979 Supplement)

SECTION 1. BE 1IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF
MARYLAND, That section(s) of the Annotated Code of Maryland
be repealed, amended, or enacted to read as follows:

Article - Estates and Trusts
13-301.

in this subtitle, unless the context otherwise
requires:

(m) A "minor" is a perscn who has not attained the age
of 18 years. 1IF A DONOR MAKES A GIFT IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE
PROVISIONS OF § 13-302(B-1) OF THIS SUBTITLE, THE TERM
YMINOR" ALSO SHALL INCLUDE A PERSON WHO HAS NOT ATTAINED THE
AGE OF 21 YEARS.

13-304.

(d) To the extent that the custodial property is not
expended, [and except for gifts made in accordance with the
provisions of § 13-302(b-1) of this subtitle,] the custodian
shall deliver, convey, or pay it over to the minor on his
attaining the age of 18 years OR 21 YEARS IN THE CASE OF
GIFTS MADE IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PROVISIONS OF §
13-302(B-1) OF THIS SUBTITLE[, or, if]. 1IF the minor dies
before attaining the age of 18 years OR 21 YEARS IN THE CASE
OF GIFTS MADE 1IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PROVISIONS OF §
13-302(B-1) OF THIS SUBTITLE, [he] THE CUSTODIAN shall
thereupon deliver or pay it over to the estate of the minor.

13-307.

(d) If THE MINOR HAS A GUARDIAN, AND IF a person
designated as custodian or as successor custodian or by the
custodian as provided in subsection (a) is nct eligible,
dies or becomes legally incapacitated [before the minor
attains the age of 18 years, and if the minor has a




