MARVIN MANDEL, Governor 1769

"I (hereby] consent to take a cherical test oR-—MY¥
BLOOB—OR-BREATH of my blood [,] OR kreathf, or urine] to
determine the alcoholic content of ny blood[y—breathy or
urine}, as provided in the laws of the State of Maryland,
should I Le detained on suspicion of driving or
attempting to drive a motor vehicle while intoxicated or
while my driving ability is impaired by consumption of
alcohol. I understand that I cannot ke compelled to take
a chemical test for alcohol [but]. HOWEVER, I consent TO
TAKE SUCH A TEST, in return for the privilege of driving
a motor vehicle on highways in Maryland[,]. I ALSO
UNDERSTAND that the Motor Vehicle Administration may
suspend my license or privilege to drive a motor vehicle
for a period of not more than 60 days {[on receipt of}
AFTER A HEARING BASED ON a swvorn statement from the
detaining officer[,] THAT I WAS SO CHARGED AND REFUSED TO
TAKE A CHEMICAL TEST FOR ALCOHOL [and, after a hearing on
the statement, that I was so charged and refused to take
a chemical test for alcohol]"v.

{2) The Administration may not issue or
renew any driver's license if the applicant refuses to
sign amn application containing the express consent to
take a chemical test for alcohol.

(b) Implied consent of nonresidents and unlicensed
persons to chemical tests.

(1) In return for the privilege given to a
nonresident to drive a motor vehicle c¢n highways in
this State, each nonresident who drives or attempts to
drive a motor vehicle on a highway in this State |is
deemed to have consented to take a chemical test for
alcohol.

(2) Each unlicensed individual who drives or
attempts to drive a motor vehicle on a highway in this
State is deemed to have ccnsented to take a chemical
test - for alcohol.

(3) The nonresident cr unlicensed driver may
not ke compelled to take a chemical test for alcohol.
However, the detaining police officer shall advise hinm
that his refusal is an abuse of the privilege granted by
this State to drive on the highways and that the
Administration may suspend that privilege for not more
than 60 days on receipt of a sworn statement from the
officer that the driver was so charged and refused to
submit to take a chemical test for alcohol.

(c) Duty of police officer on stopping or detaining
suspected person.

If a police officer stops or detains any individual
who the police officer has reasonakle grounds to believe
is or has been driving or attempting to drive a motor
vehicle while intoxicated or while his driving ability
is impaired by the consumption of alcohol, the police



