2648 LAWS OF MARYLAND Ch. 896
hArticl2 81 — Revenue and Taxes
425,

(a) Nothing in the subtitle shall apply to any
commercial vehicle or vehicles operated by the State or
any subdivision thereof, the United States or any agency
of two or more states or of states and the United States
in which this State participates, or to any schcol bus as
d2fined by the laws of this State operated ky, for or on
behalf of a state, any subdivision thereof, or any
private or privately operated school or schocls.

(b) Nothing in this subtitle shall apply to any
comnercial vehicle or vehicles being road testad for sale
by a dealer registered in Maryland provided the vehicle
displays nmotor vehicle dealer's registration plates
issued by the department of motor vehicles.

(C) THIS SUBTITLE DOES NOT APPLY TO ANY PRIVATELY
OWNED BUS OR BUSES USED EXCLUSIVELY FOR THE EFURPOSE OF
OPERATING THE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEM OF ANY MUNICIPALITY
OR POLITICAL SUBDIVISION IN THIS STATE. HOWEVER, THESE
BUSES MUST BE USED FOR_THE TRANSPORTATION OF THE PUBLIC
IN REGULAR_ROUTE BETWEEN FIXED POINTS.

SECTION 3. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That Section
184 of Article 56 — Licenses, of the Annotated Code of
Maryland (1972 Replacement Volume and 1975 Supplement) be
and it is hereby repealed and reenacted, with amendments,
to read as follows:

Article 56 — Licenses
184,

(a) For each passenger motor vehicle registered
upon application as provided by the preceding sections of
this subtitle an annual fee shall be paid to the
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles for certificates of
registration issued by him, of $70 a registration year
for each vehicle where the designed capacity thereof does
not exceed 20 passengers, $135.00 a registraticn year for
each vehicle where the designed capacity thereof does not
exceed thirty—one (31) passengers, $180.00 a registration
year for each other two—axle motor vehicle and $280.00 a
registration year for each three-axle motor vehicle, such
fees to be paid in full for certificates of registration
issued on or between the first day of May and the last
day of October 1in each and every registration year and
such fees to be paid at one half the said rates
hereinbefore provided for certificates of registration
issued on or between the first day of November and the
last day of April in each and every registration year;
and provided further that certificates of registration
issued pursuant to this section shall be transferakle by
the same owner of the mctor vehicle to any other motor
vehicle within the same classification. No other



