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duly registered school of cosmetology or completes the cosmetology teacher
program offered by the University of Maryland, or any similar institution of
higher learning approved by this Board. In addition, a licensed senior manager
who can show certification of employment of at least a two (2) year period prior to
date of application, who is a high school graduate or equivalent, is 18 years of age,
and has completed the cosmetology teacher courses offered by the University of
Maryland or any like teacher program approved by this Board, shall be eligible for
examination.

(F) NO PERSON MAY BE PERMITTED BY THE BOARD TO TAKE AN
EXAMINATION TO RECEIVE A CERTIFICATE AS A COSMETICIAN
UNLESS THE PERSON IS AT LEAST SEVENTEEN YEARS OF AGE, HAS
AN EIGHTH GRADE EDUCATION OR ITS EQUIVALENT, AND HAS
COMPLETED A NUMBER OF HOURS OF INSTRUCTION DESIGNATED
BY THE BOARD IN THAT PRACTICE IN A BEAUTY SCHOOL DULY
REGISTERED BY THE BOARD. THE HOLDER OF A SPECIAL
CERTIFICATE SHALL ENGAGE ONLY IN THE LIMITED PRACTICE OF
THE ART OF COSMETOLOGY AUTHORIZED BY THE SPECIAL
CERTIFICATE.

1[536.

(C) NO SCHOOL OF BEAUTY CULTURE MAY BE GRANTED A
CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION UNLESS IT FIRST DEPOSITS WITH
THE STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGISTS A BOND IN THE PENAL
SUM OF $15,000 FOR EACH SCHOOL TO BE OPERATED IN THIS
STATE SIGNED BY THE APPLICANT FOR THE CERTIFICATE AS
PRINCIPAL AND BY A SURETY, PAYABLE TO THE STATE OF
MARYLAND AS OBLIGEE AND CONDITIONED ON THE COMPLIANCE
OF THE APPLICANT WITH THE PROVISIONS OF THIS SUBTITLE,
AND THE PAYMENT BY THE APPLICANT OF ALL DAMAGES
OCCASIONED BY ANY PERSON BY REASON OF ANY
MISSTATEMENT, MISREPRESENTATION, FRAUD, OR DECEIT OR
ANY OTHER VIOLATION OF SAID SUBTITLE OF THE APPLICANT OR
HIS AGENTS OR EMPLOYEES.1]

537.

(a) It shall be unlawful for any school of beauty culture to permit its students to
practice beauty culture upon the public, under any circumstances, except by way of
clinical work upon persons willing to submit themselves to such practice after
having first been properly informed that the operator is a student and after the
student has completed [500] 350 hours of fundamental training. No school of
beauty culture shall, directly or indirectly, charge any money whatsoever for
treatment by its students and may charge only for the actual cost of materials used
in such treatments but no charge shall be made for service supplies.

542.

Each member of said Board shall receive twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for each
day employed in the actual discharge of his or her official duties, not to exceed in
any one year the sum of three thousand seven hundred fifty dollars ($3,750.00) for
any member of the Board, and his or her necessary expenses so incurred. There
shall at all times be available for consultation at least one member of the Board.
The compensation and expenses of the members and officers of said Board, and all
expenses, including office help and professional advice, and services which, in the
opinion of said Board, are proper and necessary to discharge its duties and to
enforce the law, shall be paid out of such fund upon the approval of the chairman



