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or by any person designated by the county superintendent of schools.
THE SUPERINTENDENT SHALL PROVIDE THE NECESSARY
CLERICAL ASSISTANCE TO CARRY OUT THE PROVISIONS
OF THIS ACT. Employment certificates for minors 14 and 15 years
of age shall be issued only upon application of the parent, guardian
or legal custodian of the minor or if the minor has no parent, guar-
dian or legal custodian then by next friend. Where an employment
certificate has been issued to a minor and a duplicate is requested
for any reason from the Department of Labor and Industry, the
Commissioner shall collect a fee of $1.00 for the duplicate. All
moneys recewed by the Commassioner for the issuance of duplicate
employment certificates shall be deposited in the general revenue
fund of the State treasury.

24.

(a) Papers to be approved before issuance.—The peren PERSON
authorized to [[issue general, vacation, special and coordination cer-
tificates] process applications for employment certificates shall not
Lissue such certificates] process an application or issue an employ-
ment certificate to the applicant until he has received, examined, and
approved [and made a record of] the following papers, duly exe-
cuted, viz.:

SEC. 2. And be it further enacted, That subsections (e), (f), (h),
(i) and (j) of Section 24 of Article 100 of the Annotated Code of
Maryland (1957 Edition, 1964 Replacement Volume and 1969 Supple-
ment), title “Work, Labor and Employment,” subtitle “Employment
of Minors,” be and they are hereby repealed, and that subsection (k)
of Section 24 of the same Article, title and subtitle be and it is hereby
renumbered as subsection (e) thereof, to read as follows:

24.

L (k)3 (e) Same—Penalties.——Any minor who with intent to de-
ceive, uses as if it were issued to him a certificate of age card issued
to another minor and any minor, or parent, guardian or custodian
of any minor, or any other person, who with intent to deceive,
changes or alters, or aids in changing or altering any birth or other
record submitted as proof of age to obtain a certificate of age card
or an employment certificate shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and
upon conviction shall be punished for each offense by a fine of not
more than twenty-five dollars.

SEC. 3. And be it further enacted, That this Act is hereby de-
clared to be an emergency measure and necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public health and safety and having been passed
by a yea and nay vote supported by three-fifths of all the members
elected to each of the two Houses of the General Assembly, the same
shall take effect from the date of its passage.

Approved May 5, 1970

CHAPTER 565
(Senate Bill 653)

AN A.CT to repeal and re-enact, with amendments, Section 162 of
Article 11 of the Annotated Code of Maryland (1957 Edition)




