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diameter of visual field subtends an angular distance no greater
than twenty degrees in the better eye.

(b) Any wmotor vehicle and trailer, known as the “40-8 box
car,” and owned and operated excluswely for social or charitable
purposes by any voiture of the Forty and Eight of the American
Legion, Department of Maryland, is exempted from the provisions
of this "subtitle requiring the payment of registration fees, but every
such motor vehicle and trailer shall display an identification marker
bearing the number of the organization and the number of the local
voiture (reading 40-8—1local number).

(¢) Any vehicle owned and used by any chapter in Maryland of
the American Red Cross and by any bona fide unit of a mational
veterans’ organization is exempt from the provisions of this subtitle
requiring the payment of registration fees.

(d) The department may issue registration plates or cards with-
out charge or fee, to law enforcement agencies of the United States
and any State or the District of Columbia, if the state or District
of Columbia reciprocates.

§ 3-830. Fee forissuance of certificate of title.

The Department shall collect for each certificate of title the sum of
two dollars ($2.00), one dollar ($1.00) of which may be used for the
purpose of administering, the provisitons of Subtitle 5 of this Article,
for vehicles required to be inspected as provided for in Subtitle 13 of
this Article, the Department shall collect for each certificate of title
the sum of four dollars ($4.00), two dollars ($2.00) of which may be
used for the purpose of enforcmg the provisions of Subtitle 18, and
one dollar ($1.00) of which may be used for the purpose of administer-
tng the provisions of Subtitle 5.

§ 3-831. Euxcise tax on issuance of original and subsequent certifi-
cate of title.

(a) In addition to the charges prescribed by this article there is
levied and tmposed an excise tax for the issuance of every original
certificate of title for motor vehicles and commercial motor vehicles,
in this State and for the issuance of every subsequent certificate of
title for the motor vehicles and commercial motor vehicles in this
State, excluding house and office trailers over thirty (30 feet in
length; motor wvehicles transferred to members of the immediate
family, when there is mo money or other wvaluable consideration
involved in the transfer; motor vehicles repossessed under a lien
contract except where the sale of the motor vehicle is required
under the contract; motor wvehicles being transferred to a legal
heir, legatee, or distributee; and transfers of any motor wvehicles
exempled from the payment of the excise tax under this section
and other applicable sections of the Amnotated Code of Mary-
land, and the Department of Motor Vehicles shall collect the tax
upon the issuance of every certificate of title of a motor vehicle at
the rate of four per centum of the fair market value of the motor
vehicle or commercial motor vehicle, excluding those transfers pre-
viously exempied in this section for which a certificate of title is
applied for and issued. The excise tax is likewise levied and imposed,
and shall be collected by the department on each such vehicle which




