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847B.

No person shall operate a pawn shop without obtaining a license
from the clerk of the circuit court. This license shall be issued
annually and the annual fee shall be two hundred dollars ($200.00).
The license shall expire on July 1 of each year. One license is re-
quired for each place of business and the license must be displayed
in a conspicuous place at the place of business.

347C.

Any applicant for a pawn shop license must present to the clerk
a certificate from the Maryland State Police indicating whether
the records of this organization show that the applicant has been
convicted of any crimes, and if so, specifying the particular crimes.
If the applicant has been convicted of a felony or the crime of re-
cetving stolen goods, the clerk shall mot issue the license. Any
l'icen}ge‘ez convicted of a felony or such crime shall have his license
revoked.

347D.

Every person operating a pawn shop shall maintain records on
each item accepted and these records must be kept for a three-year
period. These records must contain a full description of the article
pawned, and the pawn ticket number and the date pawned. A copy of
the records for each article pawned must be submitted to the Mary-
land Stc(;te Police within twenty-four hours after the article has been
accepted.

347E.

No article shall be accepted by a pawn shop without a numbered
pawn ticket being prepared for the article. Part of the ticket shall
be given the pledgor of the article and part shall be retained by
the pawn shop. The part retained shall contain the signature and
address of the pledgor. Each article shall be marked with the num-
ber of its pawn ticket. No pawn shop shall accept any article from
any pledgor under the age of twenty-one. No pawn shop shall sell
any item accepted as security within fifteen days after taking posses-
sion of the article.

347F.

Any person wviolating the provisions of this subtitle is guilty
of a misdemeanor and subject to a fine of not more than one thou-
sand dollars ($1,000.00) and such violation is grounds for revoca-
tion of their license.

SEC. 2. And be it further enacted, That this Act shall take effect
July 1, 1968.

Approved March 22, 1968.

CHAPTER 66
(House Bill 911)
AN ACT to repeal Section 461D of the Code of Public Local Laws of

Harford County (1965 Edition, being Article 13 of the Code of
Public Local Laws of Maryland), title, “Harford County” subtitle




