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476.

As used in the Compact, with reference to this State, the term
“administrator” shall mean the Comptroller of the Treasury.

477,

The provisions of Article 81 and Article 6614 shall, to the extent
that they are inconsistent with the Compact, be inapplicable to the
taxation of buses as that term is defined in the Compact.

SEC. 4. And be it further enacted, That Section 278 (a) of the
said Article 81 of the Code (1963 Supplement), sub-title ‘“Tax for
Use and Maintenance of Roads”, be and it is hereby repealed and
re-enacted, with amendments, to read as follows:

273,

(a) It shall be the duty of each owner of a motor vehicle to be
used in the interstate transportation of passengers for hire operating
over State, State-aid, improved county roads, and streets and roads
of incorporated towns and cities in the State of Maryland:

(1) To secure a permit from the Public Service Commission of
Maryland to operate over said roads and streets; (2) to present
same to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles annually, at the time
and according to the method and provisions prescribed by law for
the making of applications for registration tags in the case of all
other motor vehicles; (3) to make an application in writing for
registration with the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, and to state
in said application besides the other matters by law provided such
matters as are required by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles for
the enforcement of this tax; (4) for each such motor vehicle a fee
shall be paid to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles for certificates
of registration issued by him, of $135.00 a registration year for
each two-axle motor vehicle and $210.00 a registration year for
each three-axle motor vehicle, such fees to be paid in full for
certificates of registration issued on or between the first day of
May and the last day of October in each and every registration
year and such fees to be paid at one half the said rates hereinbefore
provided for certificates of registration issued on or between the
first day of November and the last day of April in each and every
registration year; and provided further that certificates of regis-
tration issued pursuant to this section shall be transferable by the
same owner of the motor vehicle to any other motor vehicle within
the same classification. No other additional fees, licenses or tax, shall
be charged by the State or any county or municipal subdivision of
the State except the excise tax for the issuance of every original
certificate of title, the property tax and gasoline tax on gasoline
purchased in Maryland in respect to motor vehicles taxed under this
section or their operation. For each such motor vehicle the Com-
missioner of Motor Vehicles shall furnish a distinctive marker or
tag, which tag or marker shall be carried and displayed in such
manner as directed by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles.

SEC. 5. And be it further enacted, That this Act is hereby de-
clared to be an emergency measure and necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public health and safety, and having been passed



