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. Edition), being Article 16 of the Code of Public Local Laws of Mary-
land, title “Montgomery County,” subtitle “Administration” as said
section was amended by Chapter 505 of the Acts of 1961, be and it
i!suhereby repealed and re-enacted, with amendments, to read as

ollows :

2-121.

(a) Every person over the age of 65 years who has been a bona
fide resident of Montgomery County for the preceding five years
and whose total gross income is three thousand six hundred dollars
($3,600.00) or less per year from all sources, and who has legal
title or beneficial title to real property located in Montgomery County
and who has resided thereon for the preceding five years and makes
such real property his or her permanent home, shall be entitled to
have the sum of [three thousand six hundred dollars ($3,600.00)7]
five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) dedueted from CREDITED
AGAINST the assessed valuation of said property for the purpose of
County real estate taxes levied against said property by the said
Montgomery County ; every person meeting the requirements for such
exemption CREDIT who is required to change his residence because
his property is taken under eminent domain proceedings, or threat
of such proceedings, shall not lose his eligibility because he has not
resided at his next residence for a period of five years; provided, that
if said taxable real estate is owned by tenants by the entirety, by
joint tenants or by tenants in common, only one such exemption
CREDIT shall be allowed ; provided, further, such exemption CREDIT
shall be allowed only if the combined gross income of said tenants by
the entirety, said joint tenants or said tenants in common does not
exceed three thousand six hundred dollars ($3,600.00) for any one
year; provided further, that such exemption CREDIT shall be al-
lowed if any one of said tenants is sixty-five (65) years of age or
more, and, if, said tenant shall have resided on such property for
the preceding five years; provided, further, however, that only one
such exemption CREDIT shall be allowed on any real estate taxable
hereunder; provided, further, that no such exemption CREDIT shall
be allowed to any married person where the combined gross income
of husband and wife exceeds three thousand six hundred dollars
($3,600.00) per year.

SEC. 2. And be it further enacted, That this Act shall take effect
June 1, 1963.

Approved April 30, 1968.

CHAPTER 1708
(House Bill 708)

AN ACT to repeal and re-enact, with amendments, Section 158 of
Article 81 of the Annotated Code of Maryland (1957 Edition), title
“Revenue and Taxes,” subtitle “Inheritance Tax” and to repeal
and re-enact, with amendments, Section 1 of Article 93 of the
Annotated Code of Maryland (1957 Edition), title “Testamentary
Law.,” subtitle “Account,” to provide that within fifteen months



