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sand ($20,000.00) dollars; provided further that any person becom-
ing a dealer, as heretofore defined, subsequent to June 1, 1933, or
any dealer who has not paid motor fuel taxes now imposed by law
for the twelve months next preceding the adoption of this Act, shall
file a bond in the minimum penalty of one thousand ($1,000.00) dol-
lars]. Such bond shall be in such form as may be approved.by the
Comptroller, shall be executed by some surety company duly licensed
to do business under the laws of the State of Maryland, and be con-
ditioned upon the prompt filing of true reports and the payment [of
such dealer] by the licensee to the Comptroller of any and all motor
fuel taxes which are now or which hereafter may be levied or
imposed by the State of Maryland, together with any and all penal-
ties and interest thereon, and generally upon faithful compliance
with the provisions of this sub-title.

(b) In the event that liability upon the bond thus filed by the
[dealer] licensee with the Comptroller shall be discharged or re-
duced, whether by judgment rendered, payment made or otherwise,
or if in the opinion of the Comptroller any surety on the bond there-
tofore given shall have become unsatisfactory or unacceptable, then
the Comptroller may require the [dealer] licensee to file a new bond
with satisfactory sureties in the same amount, failing which, the
Comptroller shall forthwith cancel the license certificate of said
[dealer] licensee. If such new bond shall be furnished by said
[dealer] licensee as above provided, the Comptroller shall cancel and
surrender the bond of said [dealer] licensee for which such new
bond shall be substituted.

(¢) In the event that upon hearing, of which the [dealer] licensee
shall be given five (5) days’ notice in writing the Comptroller shall
decide that the amount of the existing bond is insufficient to insure
payment to the State of Maryland of the amount of the motor fuel
tax and any penalties and interest for which said [dealer] licensee
is or may at any time become liable, then the [dealer] licensee shall
forthwith, upon the written demand of the Comptroller file an addi-
tional bond in the same manner and form with a surety company
thereon, as hereinbefore provided, [provided, however, that the total
amount of any such additional bond as well as the bond required
under the provisions of the first paragraph of this section, shall not
exceed the maximum of twenty thousand '($20,000.00) dollars,] and
the Comptroller shall forthwith cancel the license certificate of any
[dealer] licensee failing to file an additional bond as herein provided.

(d) Any surety on any bond furnished by any [dealer] licensee
as above provided shall be released and discharged from any and all
liability to the State of Maryland accruing on such bond after the
expiration of sixty (60) days from the date upon which such surety
shall have lodged with the Comptroller a written request to be
released and discharged. Provided, however, that such request shall
not operate to relieve, release or discharge such surety from any
liability already served, or which shall accrue, before the expiration
of said sixty-day period. The Comptroller shall promptly on receipt
of notice of such request notify the [dealer] licensee who furnished
such bond, and unless such [dealer] licensee shall on or before the
expiration of such sixty-day period file with the Comptroller, a new
bond with a surety company duly licensed to do business under the
laws of this State, in the amount and form hereinbefore in this sec-
tion provided, the Comptroller shall forthwith cancel the license of
said [dealer] licensee.



