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sub-titles ‘“Administration-Registration-Titling”, and “Offenses and
Prosecutions”, be and they are hereby repealed and re-enacted, with
amendments, to read as follows:

90. (a) Any person desiring to receive a chauffeur’s or a motor
vehicle operator’s license, either for the operation of a motorcycle,
motor scooter or bicycle with a motor attachment, or for the general
operation of any other type of motor vehicle, shall first obtain an
instruction and examination permit by applying to the Department
in Baltimore City upon a form furnished by the Department and
every said application shall be accompanied by a fee of [one ($1.00)
dollar] five ($5.00) dollars. Four dollars ($4.00) of said fee shall
go into a special fund as specified in sub-section (e) hereinbelow.

(e) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (a) to (d), in-
clusive, of this section, any student fifteen years of age or older
enrolled in a high school or junior hikh school course in driver edu-
cation and training, may operate a dual control motor vehicle without
obtaining an instruction and examination permit, when such student
is under instruction and accompanied by a qualified driver training

- instructor of said course. Any person who presents to the Com-
‘missioner of Motor Vehicles a certificate of satisfactory completion
of a high school or junior high school course in driver education and
training within one year after the date of completion of the course,
and who pays a fee of [one dollar ($1.00)7 five dollars ($5.00), may
take the final examination for an operator’s or chauffeur’s license
without first obtaining an instruction and examination permit.

The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles may accept such certificate
as proof of such applicant’s knowledge of the traffic laws of the State
without further examination as to such knowledge. Four dollars
(34.00) of said fee shall go into a special fund in the State Treasury
known as the Driver Education Fund., WHICH MONIES SHALL
BE ACCUMULATED UNTIL EXPENDED AS PROVIDED IN
THIS SECTION. Out of such funds from and after July 1, +96%
1962, the Department of Education shall provide for driver education
for public high school students in the various counties and Baltimore
City. The Department of Education shall apportion the revenues in
the Fund to the various subdivisions on the basis of the number of
students enrolled in the driver training program in the respective
subdivisions. The balance of said funds shall not revert to the
general treasury, but shall be dedicated and held for driver edu-
cation.

341. (d) Subject to the provisions of Sections 29, 71, 81 and 128
-of this article, all monies received by the Department pursuant to
the provisions of this article shall be accounted for and remitted by
the Department to the State Treasurer who, after first paying, or
retaining a sufficient amount thereof to pay, all refunds of motor
vehicle registration fees in this article provided, all the salaries and
expenses of the Department, the traffic court of Baltimore City, the
Maryland Traffic Safety Commission, the salaries and other expenses
of the State Roads Commission in enforcing the provisions of this
article limiting weight, height, width and length of motor vehicles,
the Department of Maryland State Police and of the State Police
Retirement System of the State of Maryland, the Department of Edu-
cation in administering driver education in the public high schools
pursuent to Section 90 (e) of this article, costs in dismissed cases



