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operating in the State of Maryland, shall obtain a license on an
annual basis from the State Veterinarian appointed by the Maryland
State Board of Agriculture. Such license shall be issued annually
upon application and payment of a fee of five dollars ($5.00) and
shall remain in effect for ome year from the date of issue unless
otherwise revoked. The license fees shall constitute a fund to be
administered by the State Board of Agriculture in partially defraying
the expenses under this sub-title. The license shall be displayed at
the Auction Market, at the Sales Agency office, or at the headquarters
of the Dealer. Identification cards may be issued to licensees.

430D. (Exemptions.)
The provisions of Sections 430B and 430C do not apply to:

(1) Any person, copartnership, association or corporation who or
which, by dispersal sale is permanently discontinuing the business
of dairying, breeding, raising, or feeding animals.

(2) That part of the business of a farmer which consists of buying
and receiving animals for grazing and feeding purposes and the sale
or disposal of such animals after the grazing and feeding period.

(3) The sale by a farmer of any surplus or unprofitable animals.

(4) THE SALE, EXCHANGE OR TRANSPORTATION OF
ANY HORSE, PONY OR MULE.

480E. (Penalties.)

(a) Any person convicted of violating any of the provisions of this
sub-title or the rules and regulations issued thereunder or who shall
impede, obstruct, hinder, or otherwise prevent or attempt to prevent
said State Veterinarian or his duly authorized agent in performance
of his duty in connection with the provisions of this sub-title, shall
be adjudged gwilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not more
than $100 for the first violation, and not less than $100 or more
than $500 for a subsequent violation.

(b) It shall be the duty of the State’s Attorney to whom any
violation is reported to cause appropriate proceedings to be instituted
and prosecuted in a court of competent jurisdiction without delay.
Before the State Veterinarian reports a violation for such prosecu-
tion, an opportunity shall be given the person, auction market, sales
agency, dealer or trucker or hauler to present his view.

(¢) The State Veterinarian is hereby authorized to apply for and
the Court to grant a temporary or permanent injunction restraining
any person from violating or continuing to violate any of the pro-
visions of this Act or any rules or regulations promulgated under the
sub-title motwithstanding the existence of other remedies at law.
Such injunction shall be issued without bond. '

SEC. 2. And be it further enacted, That this Act shall take effect
on June 1, 1957.

Approved April 10, 1957.



