360 LAWS OF MARYLAND [CH. 192

SECTION 1. Beit enacted by the General Assembly of Maryland,
That Sections 18 (j-1) and 57 (g-1) be and they are
hereby added to Article 2B of the Annotated Code of
Maryland (1951 Edition), title “Alcoholic Beverages”, sub-
titles “Beer, Wine and Liquor Licenses” and ‘“Procedure
for Issue of Licenses”, said new sections to follow respec-
tively after Sections 18 (j) and 57 (g); that Section 18
(m) of said Article, sub-title “Beer, Wine and Liquor
Licenses”, be and it is hereby repealed and re-enacted, with
amendments, and all to read as follows:

18.

(7-1) (Queen Anne’s County.) In Queen Anne’s County
the annual license fee for such a license shall be Two Thou-
sand Dollars ($2,000.00).

57.

(9-1) (Queen Anne’s County.) In Queen Anne’s County
no Class A license for the sale of beer, wine and liquor
shall be issued to any person, firm or corporation which
previously has been convicted of a violation of any of the
provisions of this Article. No such license shall be issued
for any location or premises unless at least 75% of the
buildings or premises within a radius of 250 feet thereof
i any direction shall be devoted partly or solely to com-
mercial purposes. Any location that once qualifies under
the provisions of this sub-section shall not subsequently
be disqualified by the erection of a private residence within
the said 250 feet radius of the location for which a license
has been issued.

18.

(m) (Exceptions.) This section shall not apply to
Caroline, Charles, Dorchester, Garrett, Harford, Kent,
Montgomery, [Queen Anne’s,] St. Mary’s, Somerset,
Wicomico and Worcester Counties, in all of which juris-
dictions such licenses shall not be issued.

SEC. 2. And be it further enacted, That this Act shali
take effect June 1, 1953.

Approved March 31, 1953.



