1014 Laws or MARYLAND. [CH. 708

103. Taxine Fism ror ProracaTION PUrPOsES. It shall be
lawful for the Game and Inland Fish Commission to catch or
take any game or fresh water fish from any of the waters of
this State including ponds, lakes, canals, publicly or privately
owned, for the purpose of propagating in captivity and dis-
tributing into public waters broodstock, fry, or fingerlings
for the purpose of increasing the supply at any season of the
year.

104. AxnceLer’s License. For the purpose of providing a
fund for the payment of the expense of protecting and propa-
" gating game fish and fresh water fish and preventing unau-
thorized persons from fishing for or taking or attempting to
fish for or take any game fish or fresh water fish without first
having procured an angler’s license so to fish, fish for, or take,
or attempt to fish, fish for, or take and then only during the
respective periods of the year when it shall be lawful to fish
for or take said game fish or fresh water fishes.

Any person over the age of 14 years desiring to fish in the
waters of the State of Maryland above a point where the tide
ebbs and flows, by means of rod, hook, and line shall first
secure a license for same as hereinafter provided. Such license
shall entitle the holder to fish with rod, hook, and line in said
waters only during the open season. Said license shall be-
procured from the Clerk of the Circuit Court of any county or
from the Clerk of the Court of Common Pleas of Baltimore
Qity and in addition thereto may be issued by such person or
persons as the State Gamé Warden may designate on forms
prepared and supplied by the State Game Warden in the fol-
lowing manner to wit:

The applicant shall fill out and sign and forward to the
Clerk of the Court or other persons authorized to sell same a
blank application to be furnished by the State Game Warden
to said Clerks of Courts or others, stating the name, age, color,
height, and occupation, and place of residence of the appli-
cant. Application for any such license may be made through
the mails. The applicant, if a resident of the State of Mary-
land, shall pay to the Clerk of the Court or other persons
authorized to sell such license with whom he files his or her
application the sum of One Dollar and Fifty Cents ($1.50)
as a license fee; if a non-resident shall pay Five Dollars
and Fifty Cents ($5.50)), and the applicant, if a non-resident
of the State of Maryland shall pay to the Clerk of the Court
or other person ‘with whom he files his application the sum of
One Dollar and Seventy-five Cents ($1.75) as a license fee for
a short-term non-resident license valid for three (3) consecu-
tive days after date of issuance which will entitle him to fish,
fish for, or take game or fresh water fishes from non-tidal
waters during any open season and in compliance with the



