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(f) If Virginia takes action shortening its season for catch-
ing shad and herring by 10 days from the end of such season,
or takes such action contingent upon action by the State of
Maryland, shortening its season for the catching of shad and
herring in its tidal waters, as provided in this section by 5
days or less from the end of such season, then the season for
catching shad and herring in each of the tidal waters of this
State, as provided in this section, shall be shortened in each
case by 5 days from the end of such season.

60. Any person who establishes to the satisfaction of the
Commission that he actually used a pound net, haul seine, gill
net, or fyke or hoop net more than 40 yards in length for the
taking of fin fish for commercial purposes, at any time during
the calendar years 1940 or 1941, shall be entitled to file appli-
cation with the Conservation Commission prior to December
1st, 1941, and the Commission shall grant his application for
a license to operate such, but only such nets as he actually
operated at any time during such years.

61. Applications for license shall be filed on forms sup-
plied by the Conservation Commission, and accompanied by
the fee fixed by law for the nets sought to be licensed. The
applicant shall furnish such information as the Conservation
Commission may require, to determine whether the applicant
is eligible under Section 27 and Section 60 of this Article to
receive the license, and shall state that the applicant has been
a bona fide resident of this State for at least twelve months
preceding his application, or if he is a non-resident that he is
the lawful owner of land bordering on waters in the county
where he desires to fish. The application shall also state the
exact location where such net or nets will be set, in the case
of pound nets. Failure to furnish such information or a false
statement as to any material fact, shall constitute sufficient
grounds for denial of the application.

62. Prior to December 1st, 1941, and prior to December 1st
in each succeeding year, the Conservation Commission shall
make an estimate of the quantity of marketable fin fish of every
species (except eels) that may be available during the succeed-
ing license year and of the number and types of nets that may
be profitably employed without injury to the fishery. If the
Commission shall determine that additional nets for the taking
of fin fish (except eels) should be licensed, over and above the
number actually applied for prior to December 1st, then it
shall give public notice, by advertisement once a week for two
successive weeks in at least two daily newspapers of general
circulation throughout the State, of the number of additional
nets that may be licensed and of the areas where the same may



