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570. Any person causing, encouraging or contributing to-
wards the delinquency or dependency of any minor as here-
inbefore defined, or any person charged by law with the care
and support or maintenance of any such minor and who wil-
fully fails, neglects or refuses to care for, support or maintain
said minor, or who abandons said minor, or any person who
shall advise or encourage any child to leave the person, home,
school or institution to which such child shall have been com-
mitted by said magistrate, shall be deemed guilty of a mis-
demeanor, and on conviction or pleading guilty thereof,
shall be fined not more than Five Hundred ($500) Dollars
or imprisonment in the Maryland House of Correction for a
term not exceeding two (2) years, or be both fined and
imprisoned in the discretion of the magistrate or Court trying
the offense; and each day of such failure, neglect or refusal
shall constitute a separate offense; provided, however, that
the accused may demand a jury trial and be committed on
bail pending the same. Any person pleading guilty or tried,
convicted and sentenced under this Act for the abandonment
of, or for the neglect of, or failure to maintain or support a
minor, may be sentenced as hereinbefore stated, or as the
Circuit Court for said County (if the case be before said
Court) may deem proper, the performance of said terms to be
secured by the detention of the offender or by recognizance
entered into by or on his or her behalf, as said magistrate or
said Court may adjudge.

575. The said Justice to be appointed under this Act shall
have the right to preserve order and decorum when sitting in
the discharge of his duties, and shall have the right to punish
any breach of order or decorum committed in his presence,
by a fine not exceeding twenty-five ($25) dollars, to be collected
as other fines are collected, and in default of the payment of
said fine imposed by said Justice, the said Justice shall have
the power to commit the person on whom said fine is imposed
to the Washington County jail for a period of not exceeding
one day for each one dollar of fine so imposed. Provided,
that in all cases where a fine is imposed under this section,
the party on whom said fine is imposed, if he feels aggrieved
thereby, may within three days, appeal to the Circuit Court
for Washington County, from the action of said Justice; and
pending the hearing of said appeal, shall give surety for his
appearance in the Circuit Court for Washington County, in
a sum to be fixed by said Justice, which sum shall not be in
excess of twice the amount of said fine imposed; and the
person on which said fine is imposed under this section, shall
at his option. instead of furnishing surety for his appearance,



