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CHapTER 17.
Hgh Schools.

125. The county board of education of any county shall
have authority to establish high schools, subject to the approval
of the state supenntendent of schools, in their respective coun-
ties, when, in their judgment, it is advisable to do so. All
high schools so established and those now in operation shall be
under the direct control of the several county boards of educa-
tion, subject to the provisions of this article; provided that
when instruction below that of the high school grades is given
in the same building, or on the same premises, such grade
work may also be under the direct control of the county board
.of education, and the principal of the high school shall also be
principal-of the elementary school.

. 126. . For the encouragement of secondary education in
Maryland, the State shall extend aid to such groups of high
schools in such amounts and in such manner as hereinafter
designated and described. All high schools of the counties of
the State of Maryland receiving state aid shall be arranged by
the state superintendent of schools in two groups, to be desig-
nated first group and second group, according to the number
of pupils enrolled, teachers employed, and years of instruction
given. High Schools of the first group shall fulfill the follow-
ing minimum requirements: (a) They shall have an enroll-
ment of not less than eighty pupils, and an average daily at-
tendance of not less than seventy pupils; (b) they shall employ
exclusive of instructors of special subjects named under (e);
(c) they shall provide a four years’ course of instruction of
not less than one hundred and eighty actual school days in each
year, the same to conform to the standard required by the state
board of education; (d) the annual salary of the principal
gshall be not less than twelve hundred dollars ($1 200) for a
person, holding a first class certificate, of less than three years’
experience as principal of an approved high school; not less
than thirteen hundred. dollars ($1, 300) for a person, holchng a
first class certificate, of three years’ experience as principal of
an approved high school not less than fourteen hundred dol-
lars ($1,400) for a person, holding a first class certificate, of
five years’ experience as. principal of an approved high school;
and not less than fifteen hundred dollars ($1,500) for a per-
son, holding a first class certificate, of eight years’ experience
as principal of an approved high school. The annual salary of
each assistant teacher regularly employed shall be not less than



