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(a) (1) In this section the following words have the meanings indicated.

(2) “Child” means any child who is at least 15 years old and under the age
of 24 of any State or local public safety employee killed in the line of duty.

(3) “Spouse” means a person who:

(i) Is legally married to any State or local public safety employee at
the time that the public safety employee is killed in the line of duty; and

(i) Has not remarried.
(4) “‘State or local public safety employee’” means:

(i) A career or volunteer member of a:
1.  Fire department;
2. Ambulance company or squad; or
3. Rescue company or squad;

(ii) A law enforcement officer;

(iii) A correctional officer; and

(iv) A member of the Maryland National Guard who was a resident of
the State at the time of death.

(b) There is a program of scholarships that are awarded under this section.

(¢) A child or spouse who can demonstrate a financial need to the
Administration may apply to the Administration for a scholarship under this section.

(d) (1) The Administration shall determine the amount of each scholarship
under this section based on the financial need of the applicant.

(2) Each scholarship pays the tuition and fees at any eligible institution for
a maximum of 5 years.

(3) The annual amount of a scholarship may not exceed the equivalent
annual tuition and mandatory fees of the undergraduate in-state student at the
University of Maryland College Park.]
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