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the contrary notwithstanding; and any and all other pro-
visions of this section or any other section of this Article,
inconsistent with the salaries as determined by this scale
are herewith repealed to the extent of their inconsistency
during the fiscal years as herein set forth:

Salaries under $1200 shall be reduced by 10%
Salaries from $1200 to $1799 shall be reduced by 11%
Salaries from $1800 to $2399 shall be reduced by 12%
Salaries from $2400 to $2999 shall be reduced by 13%
Salaries from $3000 to $3599 shall be reduced by 14%
Salaries of $3600 and over shall be reduced by 15%

The reductions in salaries provided by the above scale
shall be computed upon the salary schedule of the school
year beginning as of September, 1932, and ending as of
June, 1933. All provisions of the above section creating
any salary increase because of length of teaching experi-
ence, service, employment, or for any other reason, are sus-
pended and non-operative for the fiscal year beginning
October 1st, 1933, and ending September 30th, 1934, and
for the fiscal year beginning October 1st, 1934, and ending
September 30th, 1935, and all salary increases provided in
the above sections are suspended, and shall not be effective
for such periods, any and all other provisions of this sec-
tion to the contrary notwithstanding, and any and all other
provisions of this section or any other section of this Arti-
cle, inconsistent with such suspension of salary increases
are herewith repealed to the extent of their inconsistency
during the fiscal years aforesaid.

SEC. 2. And be it further enacted, That Section 195 of
Article 77 of the Code of Public General Laws of Mary-
land, 1929 Edition, title ‘“Public Education,” sub-title
“High Schools,” be and the same is hereby repealed and re-
enacted, with amendments, to read as follows:

195. No white high school teacher regularly employed
in the public high schools of the State of Maryland shall
receive a salary of less than eleven hundred and fifty dol-
lars ($1,150) per school year, provided that if such teacher
holds a high school teacher’s certificate of the first class,
and has taught in an approved high school of the State of
Maryland for a period of one year, such teacher shall re-
ceive a salary of not less than twelve hundred dollars
($1,200) per school year; provided, further, if such
teacher holds a high school teacher’s certificate of the first
class, and has taught in an approved high school of the
State of Maryland for a period of three years, such teacher




