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the purpose of public entertainment or gain within the State
of Maryland, unless a State-wide license has been previously
obtained either from the Clerk of the Circuit Court of any
County or from the Clerk of the Court of Common Pleas of
Baltimore City. Any person, partnership or corporation ob-
taining such license, shall pay therefor to the State of Mary-
land, the sum of thirty-five dollars ($35.00) for each game or
machine; provided, however, that if such machine or game is
played for the sum of one cent, then the license fee shall be
$10.00 for each machine or game. Each game or machine
licensed shall have affixed to it a metal tag issued by the
Clerk of the Circuit Court of any County or the Clerk of the
Court of Common Pleas for Baltimore City, as the case may
be, showing that the fee for the current year has been paid.
All licenses shall expire on the thirtieth day of April of each
year, shall be transferable, and shall be pro-rated monthly.
No license for the operation of any machine or game under
this section shall be issued after April 30th, 1939, and all
provisions of this section shall be inoperative, null and void,
after April 20th, 1939. Any person, partnership or corpora-
tion keeping, maintaining or operating any of the aforesaid
games or machines without such license, shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor, and upon conviction thereof shall be fined
$100.00. AIl license fees collected under the provisions of this
section shall be paid to the Comptroller for deposit in the
“State Fund for Aid to the Needy”, and be disbursed there-
from in the manner and for the purposes prescribed by law.
The maintenance, operation or possession of any of the ma-
chines or devices herein described, and the offering and paying
of a premium, trophy or prize, in merchandise only, for high
score or skill in the operation thereof, are hereby declared
to be lawful, when such machines or devices are duly licensed,
any other provision of law to the contrary notwithstanding.
Nothing herein shall be deemed to make lawful the main-
tenance, operation or possession of any machine or device,
the successful operation of which depends solely upon chance.
It shall be unlawful for any person, firm or corporation, main-
taining, operating or possessing any machine or device,
licensed under the provisions of this section, to permit the
use or operation thereof by any person under the age of
eighteen years. Any violation of this provision shall be deemed
a misdemeanor, and be subject to a fine of twenty-five ($25.00)
dollars.

Sec. 7. And be it further enacted, That a new section be,
and the same is herelry added to Article 56 of the Annotated
Code of Maryland (1935 Supplement), title “Licenses”, said
new section to be known as Section 23B, to follow immediately
after Section 23A of gaid Article, and to read as follows:



