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for each calendar year thereafter ; provided, however, that the total amount
to be assessed against and paid by such insurance carriers and self-insurers
shall not exceed one hundred and ten thousand dollars for any one year.

Payment of said taxes may be enforced by civil action in the name of
the State of Maryland, and the amounts so assessed and collected by the
Commission shall be paid into the State Treasury to reimburse the State
for this portion of the expense of administering the Workmen’s Compen-
sation Law. And the Commission shall be and is hereby clothed with such
power and authority to examine payrolls and require reports from em-
ployers and insurance carriers as may be reasonable and necessary to carry
out the provisions of this section and to adopt rules and regulations in
regard thereto.

An. Code, 1924, sec. 28. 1912, sec. 28. 1914, ch. 800, sec. 28.

28. If this Article shall be hereafter repealed, all moneys which are in
the State Accident Fund at the time of the repeal shall be subject to such
disposition as may be provided by the Legislature, and in default of such
legislative provision, distribution thereof shall be in accordance with the
justice of the matter, due regard being had to obligations of compensation
incurred and existing.

1931, ch. 341.

29. In the administration of the State Accident Fund, the Commis-
sion shall have full power and authority to make any and all rules and
regulations not inconsistent with law, for the conduct of the business of the
State Accident Fund.

Corporate Insurance.

An. Code, 1924, sec. 29. 1912, sec. 29. 1914, ch. 800, sec. 29. 1920, ch. 456, sec. 29.

30. Every policy for the insurance of the compensation herein provided
for, or against liability therefor, shall be deemed to be made subject to the
provisions of this Article. No company or association shall enter into any
such policy of insurance until such company or association shall first obtain
from the Insurance Commissioner of Maryland a license of authority for
the purpose which said Commissioner of Insurance shall have full power
and authority from time to time to determine the adequacy of its or their
premium rates for carrying compensation insurance as provided in this
law, and until the form of such policy shall have been approved by the
State Industrial Accident Commission ; and said Insurance Commissioner
shall have full power and authority to require said insurance companies to
establish and maintain adequate rates to cover respective risks to which
their policies are applicable under the provisions of this Article. Any insur-
ance company or employer carrying his own insurance, desiring to do
compensation insurance in this State, shall be required to keep and main-
tain a local office in charge of a competent person who shall handle all the
compensation work for said insurance company or self-insurer. Any per-
son, firm, corporation, insurance company, association and self-insurer
violating the provisions of this Section shall be subject to a fine of not less
than $500 nor more than $1,000, for each offense, and upon conviction
thereof the Insurance Commissioner may revoke the license of authority
for doing business in this State of such person, corporation, firm, insurance



