InspecTIONS 2053

lars ($25.00) for such license. All fees received from licenses shall be paid
by said Commissioner to the State Comptroller for the general funds of the
State; provided, however, that no license shall be required for the sale
of tobacco by the grower thereof or the owner of the land on which grown,
and provided further, that the provisions of Sections 51 and 52 shall not
apply to buying or selling agencies in Baltimore City.

Any person, firm or corporation selling or buying leaf tobacco con-
trary to the provisions of Sections 51 and 52 or the rules and regulations
made by the said Commissioner of Tobacco Marketing is guilty of a mis-
demeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not more than five hundred
dollars ($500.00) for each and every such violation.

An. Code, 1924, sec. 51. 1920, ch. 262.

53. In every case where leaf tobacco shall be bought from a grower,
country or transfer buyer, in the State of Maryland and the same shall
thereafter be resold, transferred or disposed of otherwise than by sale
upon or through the Baltimore market it shall be the duty of said buyer
of said tobacco within thirty days after any such resale, transfer or dis-
position of such tobacco, to report to the Maryland State Board of Agri-
culture, upon a form prescribed by said Board, the quantity (expressed
in pounds and number of hogsheads) of each lot of said tobacco so pur-
chased and so resold, transferred or disposed of as aforesaid. Any person,
firm or corporation who shall fail to make said report as herein provided
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be subject to a
fine of not less than $25.00 or more than $100.00.

An. Code, 1924, sec. 52. 1920, ch. 435, sec. 1. 1933, ch. 325, sec. 52.

54. It shall be the duty of every person, firm or corporation engaged
in the business of selling leaf tobacco on or through the Baltimore market,
to include with every check and/or account of every sale of tobacco for
or on the account of the grower or person for whom sale was made, a
statement showing the grade, weight, price per pound and number of hogs-
head for each and every hogshead so sold. Any person, firm or corporation
failing to include such statement shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor
and, upon conviction, shall be subject to the penalty prescribed by Section
56 of this Article. Every person, firm or corporation, engaged regularly in
the business of selling leaf tobacco on or through the Baltimore market,
either for the account of the grower, owner or other prineipal, or for his,
its or their own account, shall keep a correct account, upon a form to be
prescribed by the Maryland State Board of Agriculture, of the number
of hogsheads and total pounds of leaf tobacco sold daily by such person,
firm or corporation, and that said account verified by oath shall on or be-
fore the fifth day of each succeeding month be returned or delivered to the
Executive Officer of the Maryland State Board of Agriculture. The form
of said account to be prepared by the said the Maryland State Board of
Agriculture as aforesaid, shall be so arranged and classified as to show
under three separate classifications or headings, entitled “Southern Mary-
land Tobacco,” “Up Country Tobacco” and “Tobacco Produced Outside
of Maryland”; first, the number of pounds of tobacco sold for the pro-
ducers of tobacco first hand; second, the number of pounds sold for deal-
ers, and third, the number of pounds bought for the account of said per-
son, firm or corporation making said report, or for the account of some



