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as that originally registered; or upon payment of a fee of one dollar
($1.00) and the difference between the fee originally paid and that due, in
case the new motor vehicle be properly registered in a higher class.

See notes to sec. 173.

Liability—When Operator and /or Owner Required to Give Security For.

1931, ch. 498, sec. 187.

187. This sub-title shall in no respect be considered as a repeal of any
of the provisions of the State Motor Vehicle Code or Laws, but shall be
construed as supplemental thereto.

Secs. 187-187A referred to but not construed in Newman v. Stocker, 161 Md.
567.

1931, ch. 498, sec. 187A.

187A. The motor- vehicle operator’s and/or chauffeur’s license and all
of the registration certificates of any person who shall by a final order or
judgment have been convicted of or shall have pleaded guilty to or shall
have forfeited any bond or collateral deposited to secure the appearance
for trial of the defendant (where such forfeiture shall not have been
vacated) for any of the following offenses hereafter committed, to wit:

(a) Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating
liquor or narcotic drugs in violation of Section 197 of Article 56 of the
Annotated Code of Maryland (1924 Edition), title “Licenses,” sub-title
“Racing and Intexication.”

(b) Operating a motor vehicle in violation of any of the Motor Vehicle
laws of this State resulting in the death of one or more persons.

(¢) Leaving the scene of an automobile accident without making iden-
tity known, in violation of Section 196 of Article 56 of the Annotated
Code of Maryland (1924 Edition), title “Licenses,” sub-title “Accidents.”
shall be suspended by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles and shall remain
so suspended and shall not at any time thereafter be renewed, or shall any
such license be thereafter issued to him or any motor vehicle be thereafter
registered in his name until he shall have given proof of his ability to
respond in damages for any liability thereafter incurred, resulting from the
ownership, maintenance, use or operation thereafter of a motor vehicle for
personal injury to or death of any one person in the amount of at least
$5,000, and, subject to the aforesaid limit for any one person injured or
killed, of at least $10,000 for personal injury to or the death of two or
more persons in any one accident, and for damage to property in the
amount of at least $1,000 resulting from any one accident. Such proof
in said amounts shall be furnished for each motor vehicle registered by
such person. If such person shall not be a resident of this State, the
privilege of operating any motor vehicle in this State and the privilege of
operation within the State of any motor vehicle owned by him shall be
withdrawn, and shall remain so withdrawn, and no operator’s or chauffeur’s
license shall be issued to him and no motor vehicle shall be registered in his



