HOWARD COUNTY. 3101

1927, ch. 691, sec. 98K.

223A. 1If any person, persons, house, company, association, or body
corporate shall violate any of the provisions of Sections 221, 222 and 223
aforesaid, within the limits of Howard County, he, she, it or they shall on
each and every conviction thereof forfeit and pay a fine of not less than
$100 nor more than $500 and costs of prosecution and be confined in the
Maryland House of Correction for not less than three months nor more
than 12 months, or in the discretion of the Court, forfeit and pay a fine
of not less than $50.00 nor more than $500.00 and costs of prosecution,
and failing to pay such fine or fines and costs forthwith, shall be sent
to be confined in the Maryland House of Correction for a term of not
less than three months nor more than 12 months or until such fine or fines
and costs are paid.

1927, ch. 691, sec. 98L.

224. Whenever any person shall charge on oath or affirmation before
any Justice of the Peace, or any grand jury shall present that any person
or persons, house, company, association or body corporate has or have .
violated in Howard County, any of the provisions of Sections 222 or
223, of this Article, and shall request said Justice of the Peace so to do,
or in case of presentment by the grand jury, the said grand jury shall
request the Court to direct the Clerk of the Court issuing the warrant,
the said Justice of the Peace or Clerk of the Court, upon the direction of
the Court as aforesaid shall issue his warrant, in which the house, build-
ing or other place in which the violation is alleged to have occurred shall
be specifically described, directed to the Sheriff of said County, com-
manding him thoroughly to search the described house, building or other
place, and the appurtenances thereof, and if any such shall there be
found, to take into his possession and safely keep, to be provided as evi-
dence when required, all intoxicating liquors, if the same shall be found
in quantities and under conditions to indicate that it is kept for any
barter, or any sale, or gift to a minor or minors, as aforesaid, and all the
means, materials and instrumentalities for manufacturing, dispensing,
otherwise disposing of the same, and all the paraphernalia or part of the
paraphernalia of a bar room or drinking saloon, and forthwith report in
writing the facts to the State’s Attorney for Howard County, and any
such intoxicating liquors or the means, materials and instrumentalities
for manufacturing, dispensing, or otherwise disposing of the same or the
paraphernalia or part of the paraphernalia of a bar room or drinking
saloon shall constitute prima facie evidence of the violation of the provi-
sions of Section 222 or 223 of this Article, as charged or presented.

1927, ch. 691, sec. 98M.

225. 1If the person accused of violating any of the above sections of
this Act shall be found guilty, any intoxicating liquors seized of him, her,
them or it, shall after the trial and time for appeal or writ of error, if no
appeal or writ of error is taken, be destroyed by the Sheriff of Howard



