1758 ARTICLE 7.

dences when not used as or made a place of public resort, to persons abover
the age of 21 years, who are not habitual drunkards or persons of known
intemperate habits.

If any person shall be convicted of violating any provision of this Act
and shall subsequently violate any provision of this Act he shall upon con- -
viction thereof be fined not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) and
be imprisoned in the jail or House of Correction for not more than two
years.

And in like manner if he shall subsequently violate any provisions of
this section, for such third and each subsequent violations he shall upou
conviction thereof be fined not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000)
and confined in the Maryland House of Correction for not more than
five (5) years. ‘

State’s Attorneys and Justices of the Peace having knowledge of any
previous conviction of any persons accused of violating the provisions of
this section; in preparing warrants, presentments and indictments, shall
allege such previous conviction therein; and it shall be the duty of the
Clerk of the Circuit Court of Carroll County to furnish information con-
cerning such prior conviction to the State’s Attorney and grand jury.

A certified transcript from the docket of any justice of the peace, or a
certified copy of the record under the seal of the clerk of any court shall be
sufficient evidence of a previous conviction or convictions under any section
of this Act. It shall be sufficient, in such presentment or indictment to.
allege briefly that such person has been convieted of a violation or violations.
of the provisions of this section.

1914, ch. 492, sec. 14. 1916, ch. 340, sec. 14.

127. The giving away, delivery or handling of any intoxicating liquor
by any storekeeper or at any place of business, or at any private residence
or other place used or made a place of public resort or the taking or
soliciting of orders, either in person or by letter or printed cireulars through
the mails or otherwise, or the making of agreements within the limits of
Carroll County while the same is Anti-Saloon Territory, for the sale or
delivery or future giving away of any intoxicating liquor, or any other shift
or device to evade any provision of this Act, shall be held to be unlawfui.
selling.

1914, ch. 492, sec. 15.

128. All places where intoxicating liquor is sold in violation of any-
provisions of this Act, shall be taken and held and arc declared to be com-
mon nuisances and may be abated as such; and it shall be part of the-
judgment, upon the conviction of the keeper, that the place where liquor is.
found to have been sold contrary to this Act be shut up and abated until
the keeper shall give bond, with sufficient security to be approved by the-
court, in the penal sum of one thousand dollars ($1,000), payable to the-
State of Maryland, conditioned that he will not sell intoxicating liquor
contrary to law, and will pay all fines, costs and damages assessed against
him for any violation thereof; and in the case of a violation of the condi--



