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or proceeding, or any other proceeding provided by law, no written assign-
ment, as prescribed by Section 202 of this Article, shall be required, but
the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles shall issue a new certificate of title
for said motor vehicle upon satisfactory proof of said chamge of title,
ownership or right of possession as aforesaid.

1927, ch. 620, sec. 203A. 1929, ch. 334

203A." 1t shall be unlawful and a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine
of not less than five dollars ($5.00) nor more than one thousand dollars
($1,000.00), or by imprisonment for not more than ten (10) years, or
both, for any one, other than a registcred dealer to purchase or for anyone
to sell within the limits of the State of Maryland any used or second-hand
motor vehicle for which no certificate of title has been issued by the Com-
missioner of Motor Vehicles unless the following provisions of this section
shall be first complied with.

Any one desiring so to sell such motor vehicle shall first make application
to the said Commissioner for a permit so to do, appropriately describing
therein the vehicle so to be sold, giving the State, district, county, or City
in which the same is registered and the number of the current registration:
marker or tag; the name and address of the registered owner; and the
name and address of the applicant for said permit. Such application must.
be subscribed and sworn to and when filed with the said Commissioner-
must be accompanied by the payment of two dollars ($2.00) to cover the:
estimated average costs incident to the inquiry hereinafter provided for,
such sum to be accounted for by the said Commissioner as are other moneys
received by him under this Article.

Upon receipt of an application in proper form accompanied by such
payment 1t shall be the duty of the said Commissioner to immediately
communicate with the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles or other proper
officer of the State, district, county, or city named in such application in-
quiring as to the facts in said application set forth, which inquiry, when
practical, may be made by telephone or telegraph. Where the request for
such permit is made through a bona fide registered dealer of this State;
as that term is defined in this Article, the applicant may amticipate the
result of such inquiry by furnishing to the said Commissioner a satisfac-
tory indemnity bond running to the State of Maryland in the penalty of
a sum equal to the fair value of the said motor vehicle as estimated by
the said Commissioner and guaranteeing to the purchaser of said motor
vehicle the right of the applicant to sell the said motor vehicle and to pass
a good and marketable title thereto. Upon receipt of satisfactory infor-
mation or upon the filing of a satisfactory bond as aforesaid, the said
Commissioner shall issue the said permit over his signature and the seal of
his office, appropriately deseribing therein the vehicle so to be sold, which
said permit must be delivered by the vendor to the vendee at the tino such
sale is made; and such permit shall be surrendered by the vendee to tho

1The title of ch. 334 of acts of 1929 refers to sec. “302A" instead of “203A,” but
enacting clause shows that 203A was intended,



