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sell or dispose of or furnish to any person for the purpose of taking the
same out of or from Frederick or Washington Counties at any time, any
live bass bait known as scale bait, stonyv cats or mad toms; the carrying,
sending or shipping from or out of said Frederick or Washington Coun-
ties shall constitute prima facte evidence of the violation of this Article, and
the burden of proof shall be upon the person so taking, carrying, sending
or shipping any live bass bait known as scale bait, stony cats or mad toms,
that the same arve not sold or intended for sale, unless said bait were taken
from the owners of enclosed ponds. Any person violating any of the pro-
visions of this section shall upon conviction thereof before any justice of
the peace in said Frederick or Washington Counties, be fined not less than
$10 nor more than $50, and in default of the payment of the fine imposed
and costs shall be sentenced to the county jail for not less than 10 days nor
more than 60 days in the discretion of the justice of the peace.

1929, ch. 471, sec. 68.

75.  Protection of Fish Upon Their Natural Spawning Grounds—DPen-
alty. No person shall at any time wilfully molest or disturb, take or catch,
destroy or kill any fresh water fish while they are upon their natural
spawning beds. Nor shall any person catch or take, kill or destroy any
of the fish mentioned by shutting off or drawing off any portion of the
waters in Washington County. Any person vlolatmfr any provision of
this section shall, upon conviction before any justice of the peace of said
county, forfeit aud pay a fine of $20 for each offense; and upon failure to
pay said fine, together with the costs of prosecution, shall be committed to
the jail of said county for a period of 20 days. This section shall not
apply to the waters of the Chesapeake and Ohio or Mill Canals. Nothing
in the above shall be construed to prohibit the Conservation Commissioner
or his agents from taking such fish for propagation purposes.

1929, ch. 471, sec. 69.

76. Angler’s and Dip Net Licenses. Any person over the age of 16
years desiring to fish in the waters of the State of Maryland above a point
where the tide ebbs and flows, by means of rod, hook and line or dip net
shall first secure a license for same as hereinafter provided. Such license
shall entitle the holder to fish with rod, hook and line in said waters from
date of same to the 31st day of December next following date of issue, and
thall not be transferable but must be carried by the person to whom it ha«
been issued while fishing in said waters, and shall be exhibited to any
officer of the State of Maryland, when required. Provided nothing in thig
Article shall apply to owners fishing from shore adjacent to their property
bordering on said streams, or to the owner’s families, tenants and their
families and employees.

See secs. 53 and 81, et seq.

1929, ch. 4171, sec. 70.

T7. Clerk’s Dutres. Licenses shall be issued by the Clerk of the Cir-
cuit Court for each county and the Clerk of the Court of Common Pleas



