228 ArricLE 39.

of, may be entitled to, either by, through, under or against the compact
entered into between the States of Maryland and Virginia on March 28th,
1785.1

Black Bass.

1929, ch. 180, sec. 1.

67. Tt shall be unlawful to catch black bass in any manner in the tidal
waters of the State of Maryland during the months of April, May, June
and July in each and every year. It shall also be unlawful f01 any
person, firm or corporation to sell or offer to sell, purchase or offer to pur-
chase or to have in possession any black bass durlng said months, whether
said fish be caught in tidal or non-tidal waters within the State of Mary-
land, or the waters of any other State and brought into this State; pro-
v1ded however, that anglers catching said fish during the month of J uly
in non~t1dal waters of the State, under the provisions of Section 81% of
Article 39 of the Code of Public General Laws of Maryland, shall be
entitled to the possession of said fish so caught.

1929, ch. 180, sec. 2.

- 68. It shall be unlawful for any person to deliver to any private or
common carrier for transportation, or for any private or common carrier
to accept for transportation, or for any person to transport or carry or cause
to be transported or carried by any means whatsoever, any black bass into
or from the State of Maryland, during the months of April, May, June
and July in each and every year.

1929, ch. 180, sec. 3.

69. During the open season, it shall be unlawful for any person to
catch, take or kill in any manner, or have in possession any black bass less
than ten (10) inches in length. It shall be unlawful, during the open
season, for any person to catch by means of rod, hook and line, more than
twenty (20) black bass in any one day.

1929, ch. 180, sec. 4.

70. Any person convicted before any Justice of the Peace of this State
for.violation of any of the provisions of this sub-title shall be deemed guilty
of a misdemeanor, and shall be fined not less than $25.00 nor more than
$200.00 and costs for each and every offense in addition to the forfeitures
provided for elsewhere in Article 39. The fines and forfeitures recovered
for violation of this sub-title shall be paid over to the State Comptroller
and credited to the Conservation Fund.

1 Sec. 3 of ch. 480 of the acts of 1929 repealed all laws inconsistent therewith.
Sec. 2 of sald ch, 480 provides that the Governor shall issue proclamation declaring
sald act effective upon the taking effect in Virginia of the provisions prescribed in
this act.

2 Section 71 of this erticle.



